ROM Hack RELEASE Crash Bandicoot 4 It's About Time - 60fps mod

UnT7oh

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
87
Trophies
0
XP
348
Country
United States
That’s a bit fucked up..he’s trying to help you..

? Calm down ecl0674 didn't even post his mod here or ask for it to be posted, I posted half of it based on bad information from another user and I've now removed it.
 
Last edited by UnT7oh,

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,988
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,345
Country
Chile
Just compare 2 files (orig and mod) and you'll see.
I could be easier for me search for the strings in the original main directly, I already tried comparing both mains but they don't match, I think I need uncompress them, but not sure how to do that :c
 
Last edited by cucholix,

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,838
Trophies
1
XP
11,704
Country
United Kingdom
I could be easier for me search for the strings in the original main directly, I already tried comparing both mains but they don't match, I think I need uncompress them, but not sure how to do that :c
Besides the above, hactool can also decompress the main.

Code:
hactool -x -t nso0 --uncompressed=main.uncompressed main
 
Last edited by hippy dave,
  • Like
Reactions: cucholix

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,988
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,345
Country
Chile
Is this also 60 fps? or need to use in conjunction with OP post?
You only can choose one
Or you can make your own that mixes 60fps and enhanced graphics, but in this game case you will need sacrifice effects and resolution so it’s not worth mix performance and quality.
 
Last edited by cucholix,

Chrisssj2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
2,374
Trophies
0
XP
3,319
Country
Netherlands
You only can choose one
Or you can make your own that mixes 60fps and enhanced graphics, but in this game case you will need sacrifice effects and resolution so it’s not worth mix performance and quality.
Will that be true even if full overclock 920 mhz gpu and max cpu mhz though?
Has anyone tried..
How would you mix 60 fps and enhanced graphics?
 

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,988
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,345
Country
Chile
You only can choose one
Will that be true even if full overclock 920 mhz gpu and max cpu mhz though?
Has anyone tried..
How would you mix 60 fps and enhanced graphics?
Even with full OC the game doesn’t reach 720p fixed, either you go for a pretty game or 60fps, you can’t get both.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Chrisssj2

Carsonline

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
88
Country
United States
Even with full OC the game doesn’t reach 720p fixed, either you go for a pretty game or 60fps, you can’t get both.
How far could go push the min without it dipping below 30fps? Cause having resolution a lil better than 720p on docked is always great lol
 

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,988
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,345
Country
Chile
07003FD5-FAF9-4DAC-99C5-5516A80E6562.jpeg

increased the gamma in the game as it looks darker on Switch, it helps to add a bit bright.
In the right one the gamma is increased at 2.5
 
Last edited by cucholix,
  • Like
Reactions: Carsonline

Chrisssj2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
2,374
Trophies
0
XP
3,319
Country
Netherlands
So how do you enable effects for this game? lots of lightening effects missing. I care about this more then motion blur or 60 fps
 

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
10,657
Trophies
3
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
12,159
Country
United States
while I appreciate these 60FPS mods, I am also tired of seeing them be made by fans, instead of the game devs. It's just proof that the game devs don't care about smooth gameplay. 1080p @60FPS should have been the target of the PS3. We should easily be targeting 144Hz/FPS or 240Hz/FPS at 4K on these robust and powerful consoles, no excuses.
 

PokeNas

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
156
Trophies
0
Location
Best place on Earth
XP
1,370
Country
Saudi Arabia
while I appreciate these 60FPS mods, I am also tired of seeing them be made by fans, instead of the game devs. It's just proof that the game devs don't care about smooth gameplay. 1080p @60FPS should have been the target of the PS3. We should easily be targeting 144Hz/FPS or 240Hz/FPS at 4K on these robust and powerful consoles, no excuses.

If you had taken the time to read this thread, you would understand that the switch is incapable of running the game at a decent framerate AND a decent decent resolution. Even the 60 fps mod without graphical enhancement needs the Switch to be overclocked.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Mod to unlock and target 60fps in Crash Bandicoot 4 It's About Time

I've included two variants, dynamic 720p (original res) or dynamic 540p. The dynamic resolution adjustments are more aggressive for handheld.

To install: select your variant and locate the 010073401175E000 folder to atmosphere/contents/

Most of my testing was done in docked mode with a maximum overclock and the game plays very well with the dynamic 720p variant though did drop into the 40-50fps range during more demanding sections, testing those sections with the 540p mod held in the 50-60fps range. The game doesn't look too bad in docked mode at 540p thanks to the TAA solution it uses, TAA is not used in handheld mode however.

I recommend adjusting the overclock values until you find a performance you're comfortable with, Masagrator's Status-Monitor-Overlay and NX-FPS tools will help you check the exact performance.

Is it possible to enable 720p in portable mode without unlocking framerate using your mod?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy: Thanks for reminding me I should get Google Fit set back up on my phone