ROM Hack RELEASE Crash Bandicoot 4 It's About Time - 60fps mod

UnT7oh

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
87
Trophies
0
XP
348
Country
United States
Mod to unlock and target 60fps in Crash Bandicoot 4 It's About Time

I've included two variants, dynamic 720p (original res) or dynamic 540p. The dynamic resolution adjustments are more aggressive for handheld.

To install: select your variant and locate the 010073401175E000 folder to atmosphere/contents/

Most of my testing was done in docked mode with a maximum overclock and the game plays very well with the dynamic 720p variant though did drop into the 40-50fps range during more demanding sections, testing those sections with the 540p mod held in the 50-60fps range. The game doesn't look too bad in docked mode at 540p thanks to the TAA solution it uses, TAA is not used in handheld mode however.

I recommend adjusting the overclock values until you find a performance you're comfortable with, Masagrator's Status-Monitor-Overlay and NX-FPS tools will help you check the exact performance.
 

Attachments

  • Crash Bandicoot 4 - 60fps mods.zip
    10.9 KB · Views: 649

Fadi5555

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2018
Messages
442
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,753
Country
United States
Mod to unlock and target 60fps in Crash Bandicoot 4 It's About Time

I've included two variants, dynamic 720p (original res) or dynamic 540p. The dynamic resolution adjustments are more aggressive for handheld.

To install: select your variant and locate the 010073401175E000 folder to atmosphere/contents/

Most of my testing was done in docked mode with a maximum overclock and the game plays very well with the dynamic 720p variant though did drop into the 40-50fps range during more demanding sections, testing those sections with the 540p mod held in the 50-60fps range. The game doesn't look too bad in docked mode at 540p thanks to the TAA solution it uses, TAA is not used in handheld mode however.

I recommend adjusting the overclock values until you find a performance you're comfortable with, Masagrator's Status-Monitor-Overlay and NX-FPS tools will help you check the exact performance.
Please can you make 720p with 30fps in handheld mode?
 
  • Like
Reactions: IEbroI

Chrisssj2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
2,376
Trophies
0
XP
3,377
Country
Netherlands
I just use reverse NX to set game to docked mode into handheld mode. then use this patch...
Was hoping it is possible to add in more details, of lightening/atmosphere.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jnl1

severhead

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
238
Country
Ireland
Feels pretty good at 1224/921mhz on the CPU/GPU, looks nice in docked mode but damn at 1224/460mhz in handheld it can get BAD
 

Carsonline

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
88
Country
United States
Mod to unlock and target 60fps in Crash Bandicoot 4 It's About Time

I've included two variants, dynamic 720p (original res) or dynamic 540p. The dynamic resolution adjustments are more aggressive for handheld.

To install: select your variant and locate the 010073401175E000 folder to atmosphere/contents/

Most of my testing was done in docked mode with a maximum overclock and the game plays very well with the dynamic 720p variant though did drop into the 40-50fps range during more demanding sections, testing those sections with the 540p mod held in the 50-60fps range. The game doesn't look too bad in docked mode at 540p thanks to the TAA solution it uses, TAA is not used in handheld mode however.

I recommend adjusting the overclock values until you find a performance you're comfortable with, Masagrator's Status-Monitor-Overlay and NX-FPS tools will help you check the exact performance.
Great work man! Is it possible with maximum gpu clock to boost docked resolution to dynamic 900p or close to it?
 

UnT7oh

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
87
Trophies
0
XP
348
Country
United States
For anyone looking for graphical improvement mods there's already an excellent 1080p mod out there by @ecl0674

The only issue is that cannot be posted here as it contains the full exefs main instead of a patch so you'll have to locate it yourself.
 

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,994
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,390
Country
Chile
sg.AntiAliasingQuality=1
crash_4_noAA.png

crash_1_noAA.png


sg.AntiAliasingQuality=2
crash_2_aa.png

crash_1_aa.png

Group quality AA set to 2 looks too blurry on TV IMO

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

For anyone looking for graphical improvement mods there's already an excellent 1080p mod out there by @ecl0674
That mod isn't really 1080p, as max dynamic resolution threshold is 66.66% so max output resolution is 720p, with min resolution threshold 44.44% so min resolution output is 480p. The game resolution is in the 720p-480p range in docked mode.
I tried increase the min resolution threshold but it causes framerate issues, even with max OC.
 
Last edited by cucholix,

snk2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
103
Trophies
0
XP
1,359
Country
Romania
For anyone looking for graphical improvement mods there's already an excellent 1080p mod out there by @ecl0674

The only issue is that cannot be posted here as it contains the full exefs main instead of a patch so you'll have to locate it yourself.
can you PM me where to look for it? Google search turns up nothing. I'm not asking for the patch, just where to look for it.
 

cucholix

00000780 00000438
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
2,994
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
4,390
Country
Chile
BTW regarding @ecl0674 mod exefs part only adds motion blur if I'm not mistaken, it's not needed to enable effects, tweak resolution and TAA. So it's legal post it here without the exefs section.
 
Last edited by cucholix,

UnT7oh

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
87
Trophies
0
XP
348
Country
United States
That mod isn't really 1080p, as max dynamic resolution threshold is 66.66% so max output resolution is 720p, with min resolution threshold 44.44% so min resolution output is 480p. The game resolution is in the 720p-480p range in docked mode.
I tried increase the min resolution threshold but it causes framerate issues, even with max OC.

Admittedly I didn't actually try it out or look at the files, just saw the Russian notes and screenshots. edited to remove as mod is incomplete as stated by ecl0674
 
Last edited by UnT7oh,
  • Like
Reactions: TeRRG

Chrisssj2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
2,376
Trophies
0
XP
3,377
Country
Netherlands
BTW regarding @ecl0674 mod exefs part only adds motion blur if I'm not mistaken, it's not needed to enable effects, tweak resolution and TAA. So it's legal post it here without the exefs section.
How would you tweak effects? Cuz the lightening missing in ps4/ps5 is what annoys me most.
 

ecl0674

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2019
Messages
164
Trophies
0
XP
1,721
Country
Russia
BTW regarding @ecl0674 mod exefs part only adds motion blur if I'm not mistaken
Nope. 1st - able to change shadows cascades, 2nd - able to set shadows distance above 2.0, and 3rd - motion blur.
Here it is without the exefs portion for anyone that wants to try it
Please, do not try it without main file. This mod is desinged to use with exefs.
 
Last edited by ecl0674,
  • Like
Reactions: UnT7oh and cucholix

Fgamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
123
Trophies
0
XP
1,364
Country
Nope. 1st - able to change shadows cascades, 2nd - able to set shadows distance above 2.0, and 3rd - motion blur.

Please, do not try it without main file. This mod is desinged to use with exefs.

It looks like a great mod, just wondering why you don't use small ips patches instead of the full main? Much more preferable in terms of size and being able to share.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: try now