couple of quick and easy EZ-Flash IV questions

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by regnad, Jun 14, 2011.

Jun 14, 2011
  1. regnad
    OP

    Member regnad Button Masher

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    Japan
    I just ordered myself an EZ-Flash IV for my GBA Micro -- seemed like the consensus way to go here.

    I have a couple of quick questions:

    1) What's the largest mini SD that it can use?

    2) Will it boot up and run GB and GBC ROMs as is, or do they need to be all packed together into a single GBA file with Goomba Color?
     
  2. ShawnTRods

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,282
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1) 2 Giga bytes
    2) You have to emulate GB and GBC, AFAIK it doesnt run natively.
     
  3. hunter291

    Member hunter291 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    780
    Country:
    Germany
    1) no mini sdhc`s. don`t know exactly what the biggest non sdhc one is. 2GB or 4GB
    2) You need to put the ones you want into a gba file with goomba color. no build in emulator.

    edit: too slow -.-
     
  4. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Pretty sure the maximum is 2GB, since SDHC didn't exist back then (Confirmation?)
    For GB/C roms, you would have to use Goomba Color.
     
  5. regnad
    OP

    Member regnad Button Masher

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    Japan
    One more question -- it's a Mini SD and not a Micro SD, right?

    I popped down to Bic Camera, the big chain electronics store here in Japan.

    The guy there told me Mini SDs are no longer being manufactured, and aren't being sold anymore.

    What the !@#$?
     
  6. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
  7. regnad
    OP

    Member regnad Button Masher

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    Japan
    Oh, I've got a couple of micro->mini SD adapters.

    That would work, huh? I suppose that's the way to go, then.

    Anything special I need to do other than make sure it's no bigger than 2GB?
     
  8. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    In preparation, just give it a full format with the panasonic sd formatter (don't have a link handy, sorry. I think it is on filetrip though).

    But yeah if you've got a micro -> mini adapter you're golden. Not ever having an EZ IV, I would still assume there is firmware to download, so after you format the card put that on there and you should be good (oh, card will need to be in FAT32 of course)
     
  9. regnad
    OP

    Member regnad Button Masher

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    Japan
    Is this something I can do with the panasonic formatter?
     
  10. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    It is recommended to use an actual miniSD, since microSD-to-miniSD adapters are known to not work as great as real miniSD.

    Of course, you could get lucky and have it work well even if it isn't a miniSD.
    You should be able to easily find miniSD cards if you look on the internet.
    Be prepared to pay big bucks, though. My 2GB was about $20 where I bought it.
    You could be able to find places that sell them for less, though.
     
  11. jamesaa

    Member jamesaa The Prince of Insufficient Light

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This. I've had problems in the past using microSD cards with my EZ-Flash IV (save files corrupting/games hanging/filesystem corruption etc.)

    As soon as I switched back to my miniSD card everything worked fine again.
     
  12. regnad
    OP

    Member regnad Button Masher

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    Japan
    Spent forever scouring the back streets of Akihabara! I figured if anyplace had a mini SD, that would be the place.

    Everyone there insisted I wouldn't find one -- but I did! It was surely the only 2GB mini SD in Akihabara, but I got it!

    It was used, and I got it at a tiny used camera store run by some Indian guy. He had a fishing tackle box full of memory cards, but that was the only 2GB one. I had to ask for a bag! Did he expect me to carry it in my hand all the way home?

    Seems to be fine. Formatted okay.
     

Share This Page