1. zacchi4k

    OP zacchi4k GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    Italy
    I know that the Switch hasn't been hacked yet, but when it will, could it run a (N)3DS emulator (yes, I know the Switch hasn't got a 3D screen or two screens, but could it theoretically run)?
     
  2. StarTrekVoyager

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,092
    Country:
    France
    In short: Nope, would be too slow. You need a pretty high-end PC to get your constant 30 or 60fps on Citra, and the Switch is not as powerful.
     
  3. zacchi4k

    OP zacchi4k GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    Italy
    Isn't Citra just not optimized enough yet?
     
  4. spiderman1216

    spiderman1216 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    Probably not, unless we get Citra running on a Tegra X1
     
  5. osaka35

    osaka35 Instructional Designer
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,338
    Country:
    United States
    Very true, but that's assuming complete emulation. The switch runs on arm, just like 3ds, just a newer version. I don't know nearly enough about how many calls and the like are similar enough, but maaaaaybe partial emulation might be possible? I doubt anyone except nintendo would be able to pull it off though.
     
    Last edited by osaka35, Mar 10, 2017
  6. StarTrekVoyager

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,092
    Country:
    France
    Yeah... But very unlikely. For example, vWii and TWL_FIRM rely back on the console (3DS/Wii U) switching either on a smlaller number of cores, or on a secondary processor. The Switch hasn't anything like that, just its own CPU. Even though it's an ARM architecture, that's still quite different. And anyways, it would certainly be unpractical and useless, unless Nintendo would like to kill early a console that was quite success and still works.
     
    Subtle Demise and osaka35 like this.
  7. zacchi4k

    OP zacchi4k GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    Italy
    Aren't the ARM9 3DS CPU and TWL_FIRM only used for NDS games?
     
    osaka35 likes this.
  8. DinohScene

    DinohScene hail p1ngpong
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21,247
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Remember the N64 using MIPS?
    Remember N64 being emulated on the PSP which happens to also run on MIPS?

    Partial emulation/full emulation of some games may happen if the Switch does run on an ARM architecture.
    Less translation in code, cause basically, that's all an emulator is.
     
  9. GerbilSoft

    GerbilSoft GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,376
    Country:
    United States
    That doesn't matter. N64 emulators on PSP usually use either an interpreted CPU emulator or dynamic recompilation. They don't run the code directly. Besides that, the hardest part to emulate for N64 isn't the CPU; it's the GPU (RSP).

    For 3DS games on Switch, even if you did manage to use an actual virtualization system (which would be necessary because Switch runs in 64-bit mode, not 32-bit like 3DS), you'd still need to emulate the GPU, since IIRC 3DS games access it directly, aside from some basic setup functions.

    TWL_FIRM is used for DS(i) games. The ARM9 is also used for DS(i) games, but in 3DS mode, it's used for "security" functionality as well. (ARM11 can't access eMMC, SD, or Slot-1 directly; it has to go through ARM9.)
     
    Last edited by GerbilSoft, Mar 10, 2017 - Reason: +GPU
    Subtle Demise and Raylight like this.
  10. duffmmann

    duffmmann GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,967
    Country:
    United States
    I'd like to see Nintendo release a new player for their handheld. Something like the Super Game Boy or Game Boy Player for the Super Nintendo and the Gamecube respectively. Thing is, if any of Nintendo's systesm was ever going to have an adapter to play their latest handhelds, the Wii U was much more well equipped for that than the Switch is. The Wii U has the two screens with the screen in your hand even being a touch screen. Seemed like the perfect set up to play your 3DS (or at the very least DS) games on our home TVs. And I guess we kind of got that with the DS VC titles, but it'd be so much nicer if we could just use our physical games and plug them into an adapter so that you don't have to buy the games again (or hack the system so you don't have to pay for the titles again).

    With the Switch, while its more powerful, it lacks a true second screen, making the idea of playing many DS and 3DS games pretty unappealing. At best you could emulate both screens on the Switch which would leave a lot of empty black space on the screen due to the screen size ratios, or you'd just have to play the games that made little to no real use of one of the screens.
     
    RockRiver likes this.
  11. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
  12. Roomsaver

    Roomsaver GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    951
    Country:
    United States
    Or flip the handheld sideways...?
     
  13. TheRedfox

    TheRedfox blep
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    229
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That doesn't matter; the switch uses armv8 which can run 32bit armv7 code natively.
    The 3DS is armv6k but afaik there are no conversions needed for armv6 code on armv8. (only armv5 is really different)

    + it's not like the DS emulation on the 3DS, DS games depended on the clock speed of the CPU. The 3DS is more modern like and games don't suffer from a higher clock speed.

    Only the GPU needs to be emulated, but seeing how citra uses opengl efficiently and doesn't waste CPU cycles on graphics i'm sure that won't be a big issue.
     
  14. duffmmann

    duffmmann GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,967
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, but do the measurements, unless you stretch the screens and lose their proper aspect ratio, you're gonna have a lot of black empty space, no matter how you look at it, it would be ugly and not ideal.
     
  15. Roomsaver

    Roomsaver GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    951
    Country:
    United States
    Stretch them vertically and horizontally by a factor of like 2, have black bars at the top and bottom (perhaps space for emulator buttons).
     
  16. dubbz82

    dubbz82 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,572
    Country:
    United States
    This so much. Way too many speculative threads. How about we wait till we have some access to have a better idea of what it can/can't do?
     
  17. zacchi4k

    OP zacchi4k GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    Italy
    Yes, of course you will. But I personally wouldn't care.

    The Switch has already got all the buttons you need.
     
  18. Alkéryn

    Alkéryn Moon Dweller ~
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,664
    Country:
    France
    Switch is arm not 64 butts! But no a 3ds emulator for switch won't happen
     
  19. zacchi4k

    OP zacchi4k GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    Italy
    Uhm... Yes it it.
     
  20. Alkéryn

    Alkéryn Moon Dweller ~
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,664
    Country:
    France
    Nvidia tegra is an arm cpu ...
    And 3DS is arm not 32 bit like @GerbilSoft suggested
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulator, Switch, (N)3DS