1. Tarmfot

    OP Tarmfot GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    Montserrat
    As Soldat has been released as open source and original resolution of the game was 640*480 and Vita has 960*544. Could Soldat be ported to Vita?

    Code:
    Source can be compiled with FreePascal (instead of Delphi 7)
    Fully cross-platform
    Uses well known libraries (SDL, OpenAL, GameNetworkingSockets, PhysFS)
    Old GUI has been removed and needs replacing
    Config files have been replaced with IdTech style Cvar’s
    Major refactoring
     
    Shadow#1 likes this.
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,185
    Country:
    United States
    ROTFLMAO just because source code has been released doesent mean shit can be ported
     
  3. Tarmfot

    OP Tarmfot GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    Montserrat
    Well. I think perhaps is possible.
    Ps Vita is ARM.
    PSP is MIPS.

    Are you a coder?
     
  4. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,185
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I'm a coder for a company and I'm under NDA so I can't say what company
     
  5. PewnyPL

    PewnyPL GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Country:
    Poland
    Well, clearly YOU aren't a coder. Just because the code can be compiled for a given architecture doesn't mean shit. All of those consoles have graphical chipsets that dictate what is and isn't possible, and the code would have to be overhauled GREATLY to work with them.
     
    Shadow#1 likes this.
  6. Shadow#1
    This message by Shadow#1 has been removed from public view by DinohScene, Jun 29, 2020, Reason: One worded post.
    Jun 29, 2020 Show
  7. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,412
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Can it be ported? Probably.
    Will it be ported? Not until someone starts porting it.

    You could put up a bounty for it on CBPS or Vitadb.
     
    Tarmfot likes this.
  8. Tarmfot

    OP Tarmfot GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    Montserrat
    Ok!

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I "coded" a litle decades ago. A pain in the ass.

    Vita got VitaGL, isn't it?
    Vita didn't support opengl. But now it can run Q3.

    This version of Soldat isn't the original.
    I understand your arguments but sincerely I am surprised you seem a litle angry. :)
     
  9. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,185
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I'm angry because of u little kids think it's so damn easy to port anything to anything
     
    slaphappygamer likes this.
  10. Oakmontowls

    Oakmontowls Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Idk Nintendo sure makes it look easy
     
  11. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,185
    Country:
    United States
    Oh I didn't u worked for Nintendo's development houses can u give some insight in how they make it so easy?
     
  12. Tarmfot

    OP Tarmfot GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    Montserrat
    Little kids! XD
     
  13. Oakmontowls

    Oakmontowls Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    It was a joke regarding how everything is getting ported to the switch
     
  14. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,185
    Country:
    United States
    I figured u was talking out your ass
     
  15. eighthdayregret

    eighthdayregret fnerrrrrrrrrr!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    435
    Country:
    United States
    Your boss needs to hire someone else. With enough effort, you can port anything to anything (hence versions of Windows for Mac waaaaaaaaaaaay before Apple switched to Intel chips), doesn't mean it'll run WELL.
    Also, stop reinforcing the stereotype that programmers and coders don't know how to properly interact with other human beings, you f**king tool.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Soldat, ported,