Corrupted G6 Lite card with pictures!

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by arcy, Aug 29, 2006.

Aug 29, 2006
  1. arcy
    OP

    Newcomer arcy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Hi all, well today something unfortunate happened. My G6 Lite became corrupted after a month of playing with it. It had firmware 4.3a on it and is the Chinese Version. Here are two screenshots of my corrupted cart:
    [​IMG]

    ^this is the actual contents of the g6 when in the NDS folder. notice all the hidden folders?

    [​IMG]

    ^This is the root of the G6 lite cart. notice when i put my mouse pointer over the NDS folder, that it claims there is over 8GB in it. Which is not possible because the G6 lite is only capable of 512MB

    When using the G6 U-Disk Manager, nothing in the NDS folder shows up. I have two backups in the GBA folder that correctly appear (not pictured)

    However when I use the G6 in my DS lite, 6 of the 12 ds backups show up. Unfortunately, I have not yet seen any NDS save back ups which means my animal crossing village is toast.

    I also have some DPG videos on the cart and all the videos have stayed intact. My options for NDS backups were " DoFAT, Reset Enabled, Trim roms"

    I am able to play the backups on my cart that are availble (only tried one so far, will try the rest later)

    I think what happened was that I did a soft reset after playing animal crossing, then *perhaps* turned it off while "data processing" popped up [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    let this be a lesson to all of you [​IMG]
     
  2. ds6220

    Member ds6220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    I used to get very odd corruption on the PSP when I owned one and it would give very large reading in terms of size. Your pictures remind me of that. Were you able to format the card (the FW should not be effected) and start over?
     
  3. arcy
    OP

    Newcomer arcy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    I'm still in the process of trying to recover my save games [​IMG] before i reformat it. I just played a different back up that survived the corruption and it played fine. I don't understand while 6 of the 12 ds backups on my cart survived the corruption. When I try to look in my NDS folder, I don't see any of them and the U-Disk Manager can't see any of the DS backups either
     
  4. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    How does it become corrupt?
     
  5. bryehn

    Member bryehn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    861
    Country:
    Canada
    well, some people pull the cart off of the burner instead of pulling out from the USB port. alot of people also fail to use the "Safely Remove Hardware" option in Windows before pulling it out from the USB port. Some people just can't take care of electronics. i'm not saying arcy did any of these things...

    ...but I've had a G6 3RD for about 8 months, and a G6Lite for a few weeks and have never had a problem with either cart that wasn't my own dumb fault.
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States

    That's called using earlier versions of devhook....but nehow, to Xeronage: read his first post, he turned off the ds when the g6 was flushing the sram and writing to the save files....hence corrupting his card.
     
  7. midigear

    Newcomer midigear Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    You are not the only one. This problem has been discovered for a long time in Asia,
    so far no answer, fix, or what so ever form the GBA Alpha officials.

    If you are lucky, you can return your G6L and get a new one;
    otherwise, even after you reformatted G6L, same thing will happen again.

    That's G6L.
     
  8. Arnold Schwarzen

    Member Arnold Schwarzen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    787
    Country:
    United States
    Same thing happens using the GBA Movie Player if you don't defragment the CF card every time you change something (like adding/moving/deleting files for example). I suggest every time you change anything when you plug your G6 Lite into your PC, defragment it and I can assure you this shouldn't happen.

    Oh and if you expect a "fix", I highly doubt it (as this happens with just about any removable media). Just be sure to defragment from now on to avoid any file corruption and you'll be fine.
     
  9. Zap

    Member Zap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    United States
    Well then, why don't we eliminate possibilities?

    Back up your save games and reformat that thing. Place the same games back on that thing. Use all safety precaution such as safely remove and wait an extra second for each actions and such. Play the games, save, soft reset, shut down system. Then boot it up and wait for the data processing screen. Then do the same, but hard shut down your DS when it says data processing and see if you can duplicate the issue.

    I'm a bit confused at the content of your NDS folder... mine shows no hidden folder (I have enabled to show hidden stuff) and have for every game a .nds, .0, .1, .2 files. Backing up the .0, .1, .2 files is how I back up my saves.
     

Share This Page