1. Meercko

    OP Meercko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello, I have an o3ds and a n3ds both running B9S, I was wondering if it was possible to copy the content of my initial sd card to another one and have the same apps on the n3ds without having to reinstall everything
    Is this possible given that I copy my movable.sed to the n3ds (and maybe copy the tickets as well? Not sure if that's necessary) or do I need to go with the intended way and restore a nand backup to keep the content on the o3ds?
     
  2. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    The easiest way, if you don't intend to play online with both at the same time, is to backup the tickets on the old 3DS and do a NAND backup, do a normal system transfer, copy and paste the SD card content (not the NAND backup though) to a new card and put it in the new 3DS when it tells you to move the SD card, and restore the tickets on the new 3DS. Then restore the NAND backup on the old console.
     
    Mythical likes this.
  3. Meercko

    OP Meercko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Italy
    Got it, thanks
    Thankfully I don't plan to, but what would be the matter with online? does system transfer import the friend code seed? I would like to keep my current one on the n3ds
     
  4. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh ok, this will copy the identity of the old console to the new one. You won't keep the friend code. I don't think it will be possible to copy the content over and keep the friend code.

    Since they will look like the same console, playing them online at the same time could result in both being banned. If you do want to play both at the same time, then don't restore the NAND backup on the old 3DS and instead set it up as a new console.
     
  5. Meercko

    OP Meercko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Italy
    I was thinking of doing a bakup of my current n3ds friend code seed and restoring it after the trasnfer
    Would it be possible to do a system trasnfer manually instead? So that I only move the necessary files+what I wish to move on the new console
     
  6. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    If you restore the NAND backup on the N3DS then the SD card data will no longer work.

    It is possible to do a manual system transfer but it is very difficult and complicated, and I am pretty sure it will have the same outcome. I can try to find the link for you though if you want.
    Edit: https://gbatemp.net/threads/manual-system-transfer-for-saves-content.388033/
    It's quite old so you will need to change any steps that only apply to old stuff. I also think it probably won't do what you want but here is the info for you so you can work it out for yourself.
     
    Last edited by Quantumcat, Jan 14, 2020
    Meercko likes this.
  7. Meercko

    OP Meercko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Italy
    If you could lend me a link I'd really appreciate it, I tried looking for it but couldn't find it
    When I mentioned restoring I was referring to the current localfriendcode seed of my n3ds, not the entire nand, so I don't lose the second friend code seed
     
  8. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    (Very Messy Tutorial) SDTransfer: Moving or cloning a (source) system's Nintendo 3DS folder to another (target) system.

    -or-

    CFW 3DS Reset without losing CFW [post #2]
    • This is slower than the above approach, but it avoids using the ninfs (fuse-3ds) program and dumping the movable.sed.
    • GodMode9 v1.9.1 or newer for total CMAC corrections. Older versions will not work.
    • The SD card requires just as much available free space as the total size of the Nintendo 3DS folder.
    • Edit: :!: Avoid the steps involving Format System Memory.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jan 15, 2020
  9. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    Does this allow OP to keep the same friend code?
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  10. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. Unlike System Transfer, the SDTransfer method keeps the user profiles intact for both systems.

    For DSiWare games, he'll need CTRTransfer (Type D9) - DSiWare CIAs & Saves.

    ***

    @Meercko, if you go with the second approach in CFW 3DS Reset without losing CFW [post #2], before you launch any games, be sure to follow SDTransfer's step 27 in regards to resetting the Secure Value.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jan 15, 2020
  11. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    alexander1970 and TurdPooCharger like this.
  12. Meercko

    OP Meercko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Italy
    Thank you for your help :)
    By taking a quick look to the second method, what I got is that by decrypting my Nintendo 3DS folder following the guide and copying in SYSNAND SD of the target system, this will re encrypt it thus allowing the target system to use the data in the folder? If so that's precisely what I'm looking for ^^
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  13. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    Correct.

    You copy those three folders out of the [A:] SYSNAND SD from the (source) 3DS system, move them on the (target) 3DS system's SD card, copy those folders in that 3DS [A:] drive {It has to be empty at start. Make a dummy Nintendo 3DS folder}, fix the CMACs with GodMode9 v1.9.1, reset the anti-save restore "Secure Value" by manually deleting that specific nand file {be careful}, restore illegitimate titles with faketik app, and unwrap all the HOME Menu icons with Cthulhu.

    You were already warned about avoiding Format System Memory as that doesn't apply to your scenario.
    Also from the second method, don't delete the data folder in the [1:] SYSNAND CTRNAND. That folder contains the user profile setup.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jan 16, 2020
    Meercko and alexander1970 like this.
  14. Meercko

    OP Meercko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello @TurdPooCharger , I just now went on attempting the method you suggested, however the results were quite confusing

    The result that I got was a target 3DS home menu with few apps (them being FBI and the old Homebrew Launcher) which I had previously installed on an old SD card (making them the only two titles my source and target SD Cards shared) though I'm not sure if it matters, however these 2 apps didn't show a 3D banner and were just present in the home menu as an icon, any other app did not show up, both legit and non legit titles from the source 3DS

    Note: I went on booting faketik to try and see if it was just a matter of missing titles, faketik managed to install tickets for every missing app, however none of them showed a 3D Banner and if booted they give out a generic error and force me to reboot (this goes for the two already present apps as well)
    Secondary note: the home menu theme I had installed on the source 3ds was successfully ported over

    I'm gonna write off the steps I followed in details so you can quickly tell if I messed up/missed something when doing the process:

    First off I followed the guide and I backed up my Source 3DS SD folder by copying dbs, extdata and title folders out of SYSNAND SD, first
    I copied the contents on the (new) target 3DS SD Card, making sure it had double the space of the content I was going to copy
    I then proceeded to create a dummy, empty "Nintendo 3DS" folder without nothing inside it
    I booted GM9 on the target 3DS and I noticed it was missing the [A:] SYSNAND SD drive, so I wasn't able to copy the contents there, what I did was boot up the system once to let it create an ID0, making the directory reappear, I shut down the system, botted GM9 again and this time the directory was there (along with an ID0 folder inside the Nintendo 3DS folder) and started copying the 3 folders I backed up from the source system's [A:] drive, after the copy finished I fixed the CMACs with GM9 version 1.9.1 (I've been using this version for the whole duration of this operation, both on the source and target systems), and then proceeded to reset the Secure Value by navigating to SYSNAND CTRNAND>data>id0>sysdata>00010011>00000000
    After I did that I reboot my system and the result was the one mentioned above, I'm not sure about the [A:] drive missing part, so I'm guessing I missed something on that regard, if you could analyze the situation and possibly tell me what went wrong I'd gladly appreciate it, thanks in advance!
     
  15. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    1. In GodMode9 v1.9.1 for the (source) 3DS system, copy the dbs, extdata, and title folders out of the [A:] SYSNAND SD and paste these somewhere in the [0:] SDCARD ().
    2. Move the dbs, extdata, and title folders from the (source) system's SD card to the (target) system's SD card using a computer.
    3. On the (target) system's SD card, rename the current Nintendo 3DS folder to something else like Nintendo 3DS (main).
    4. Insert the SD card back into the (target) 3DS system. Turn on the 3DS, boot to HOME Menu, and allow the BGM jingle to finish. Reboot and hold the (START) button.
      • This step will create a new, empty sdmc:/Nintendo 3DS/<ID0>/<ID1> directory.
    5. In GodMode9 v1.9.1 for the (target) 3DS system, copy the dbs, extdata, and title folders that are somewhere in the [0:] SDCARD () and paste these in the [A:] SYSNAND SD.
    6. Back out with (B) button. Hold (R)-shoulder and press (A) on the [A:] SYSNAND SDFix CMACs for drive. See this.
      • Edit Update Feb-02-2020: Due to a regression bug in GM9 v1.9.1, CMACs are missed for *.cmd and *.sav files. They'll require fixing semi-manually.
        1. GodMode9 v1.9.1 → [A:] SYSNAND SD → hold (R)-shoulder and press (A) on titleSearch for files...
        2. Type in *.cmd for the search entry. Press SUBMIT.
        3. Hold (L)-shoulder and press (RIGHT) d-pad to highlight all the cmd files in yellow.
        4. Press (A) → Calculate CMACFix CMAC for all.
        5. Repeat the 1-4 process for *.sav files.
    7. Go to [1:] SYSNAND CTRNAND/data/<ID0>/sysdata/0001011/00000000 → press (X) to delete this file.
    8. Press (START) to exit GodMode9. Go to System SettingsData ManagementNintendo 3DSSoftware to look for signs of missing tickets. Restore (with fake) tickets using faketik.
    9. Mass unwrap HOME Menu gift icons with Cthuhlu.

    ***

    If you're trying to combine two (2) or more separate Nintendo 3DS folders, see this other thread.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Feb 3, 2020
    Meercko likes this.
  16. Meercko

    OP Meercko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Italy
    Ok so, I repeated this process and now legit titles work properly, I'm having a problem with non legit titles however:
    They appear on the home menu without any icon or banner (black icon, no name) this goes for most illegitimate title I have installed (bar some backuped CIAs and Anemone for some reason, stuff like FBI and Cthulhu won't show up)
    When running faketik it responds with a message saying there are no missing tickets to install so that doesn't help, do I have any way to fix this? If I try to open any of those it gives me the same error I got earlier when no titles loaded

    (Small note: on the first attempt I choe to overwrite the extdata filex already present in the id1 folder right after it was created, this time I skipped the copy process for the already present files, just to see what would change it, appears to only affect the menu custom theme though)
    Edit: better formatting
     
    Last edited by Meercko, Jan 31, 2020
  17. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    I would like for you to perform a litmus test as I'm not sure why your titles aren't appearing correctly on HOME Menu.
    1. GodMode9 → [A:] SYSNAND SD/title → hold (R)-shoulder and press (A) on 00040000Search for titles.
    2. 000400000F800100 FBI (CTR-P-CFBI) (W).tmdTMD file options...Build CIA (standard).
      • :!: Do not dump any games. Only choose a homebrew title. Reinstalling a game CIA will erase its save.
    3. Press (START) to exit GodMode9. Use Rosalina menu Homebrew Launcher to access the 3DSX version of FBI.
    4. Install the dumped CIA version of FBI found at:
      • sdmc:/gm9/out/000400000F800100 FBI (CTR-P-CFBI) (W).cia
    5. Exit Homebrew Launcher and check HOME Menu.
    Does the reinstalled CIA version of FBI now shows up correctly with icon and banner?
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jan 31, 2020
    Quantumcat and Meercko like this.
  18. Meercko

    OP Meercko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Italy
    Sorry I couldn't reply faster
    Yes, by following that method FBI shows up properly in the home menu and boots without errors.

    Edit: By taking a look for myself with GM9, I noticed the titles that weren't working didn't have their CMACs fixed, so I did it for that game specifically and it loaded correctly on the home menu, I did go through the "Fix all CMACs" with GM9 after I finished copying the files, but it appears some (most illegitimate) didn't get the fix anyway (I am running GM9 version 1.9.1)

    First I did this for a game's .cmd file (I didn't know at the time the CMAC was needed for both the .cmd and .sav files), It then loaded properly on the home menu, but I noticed it didn't import my save file, so I looked at another game that wasn't loading too and noticed .sav save files can be CMAC fixed too, so I did it for both the .cmd and .sav files this time and the game loaded properly with its save file
    I could easily do this manually for every missing title and I don't think it should be a problem, I'm just wondering if this could give me problems in the future, although I'm guessing it's just GM9 not doing what it's supposed to do in this case, but might ask as well
     
    Last edited by Meercko, Jan 31, 2020
  19. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7,292
    Country:
    United States
    NP. Same here bud. Kinda juggling between different threads.

    A cause for missing banners and black icons in HOME Menu is due to incomplete SDTransfer where the CMACs for the *.cmd files are not corrected.
    • [A:] SYSNAND SD/title/<TID_HIGH>/<TID_LOW>/content/cmd/0000000#.cmd
    Are you certain your (target) system is using GodMode9 v1.9.1 when you did the Fix CMACs for drive?


    ***

    For whatever reason GM9 is failing to automatically fix the CMACs for the *.cmd files in the Fix CMACs for drive, try this:
    1. GodMode9 v1.9.1 → [A:] SYSNAND SD → hold (R)-shoulder and press (A) on titleSearch for files...
    2. Type in *.cmd for the search entry. Press SUBMIT.
    3. Hold (L)-shoulder and press (RIGHT) d-pad to highlight all the cmd files in yellow.
    4. Press (A) → Calculate CMACFix CMAC for all.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jan 31, 2020
    Quantumcat and Meercko like this.
  20. Meercko

    OP Meercko Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Italy
    Don't worry in the slightest, thanks instead for the help, it is greatly appreciated!
    Unfortunately I got you by just a few minutes haha, happened to figure that out and yes, that was the error, I edit the post above a couple minutes ago asking if this could be a problem in the future or it was just GM9 not doing its thing properly (yes I used version 1.9.1 during the whole process)

    Also do I need to do this for save files as well? I noticed if I only fix the .cmd file, it doesn't load my old save and instead creates a new one (happened with a GBA VC inject), but if I CMAC fix the save file, it works without problems (did this with a back up CIA of a 3DS game, not sure if it changes anything since GBA VC keeps save files differently)
     
    Last edited by Meercko, Jan 31, 2020
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Copying, content, systems