Cool Idea

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Saphiresurf, Jan 20, 2010.

Jan 20, 2010

Cool Idea by Saphiresurf at 11:22 PM (964 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Saphiresurf
    OP

    Banned Saphiresurf Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    Hey i was wondering if anyone tried to patch an installed disc game on the HDD then run the installed game (thats patched) to run instead of the same game (with no patches). sorry it sounds confusing but ill try to find a better way of wording it later.
     
  2. sjones900

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    I get what your saying but that's not going to work. For you to edit an installed game you have to sign it and since you don't have m$'s signature the 360 will just reject it. The 360 runs a chain of trust method and I doubt this is one link that can be broken.
     
  3. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,696
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You want a NXE hard drive install to run without disc or with hacks.

    Either way it has been done, you need a homebrew capable 360 to do it.

    NXE2GOD can take care of the discless part among other apps that can also do it.

    Anything that can rebuild an image can be used for hacks.
     
  4. Saphiresurf
    OP

    Banned Saphiresurf Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    how do you enable an nxe xbox 360 to run homebrew
     
  5. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,101
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's not updated to the 8XXX kernel, then you do the jtag hack on it (plenty of guides around), if it's on the 8XXX kernel then you can't run homebrew on it.
     
  6. Saphiresurf
    OP

    Banned Saphiresurf Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    can you downgrade?
     
  7. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,101
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. Saphiresurf
    OP

    Banned Saphiresurf Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    Can you dual-boot two diffrent firmwares with homebrew or a modchip?
     
  9. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "Can you dual-boot two diffrent firmwares with homebrew or a modchip?"

    not if you;ve already updated to the latest dash update. 8xxx. Efuses are now blown, you have passed the point of no return.
     
  10. Blue Zoidberg

    Member Blue Zoidberg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    USA, that big island near Cuba
    Country:
    United States
    This might be dumb, and I'm assured already tried, but can't you just replace the fuses? (I had a graphics card that would blow about two fuses a month) Or does the new dashboard simply re-blow the replaced fuses?
     
  11. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,696
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Efuses are an odd thing as far as digital electronics go, reading documents you would get the impression they are for fault isolation and indeed they are designed to be returned but a secondary use is to provide security by way of having write once memory which coupled with other security (hashing and/or signing) can stop old code running (you need a given fuse pattern to run, changing said requirement breaks signing).
    As you might have guessed they are not fuses in the traditional sense (they have more in common with EPROM, thyristors and memristors than fuses) in that they can be reset with high energy particles (UV light or more likely ion beam) but in this case the fuses are embedded inside the CPU which is out of range of just about everyone. Only real way to do it from an end user perspective is to swap CPU and NAND image (they are paired) from a machine not updated (and probably of the same motherboard revision), BGA (method the CPU is attached by) repair/rework has been done but I doubt you will want to go in for it.

    The usual thing we suggest people watch at this stage is
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uxjpmc8ZIxM&fmt=18
     
  12. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,144
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A very interesting vid to watch, even it if is the better part of an hour long. I especially like the end point about the PS3 [​IMG]
     

Share This Page