Contra 4 DSTT

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Geezuzkhrist119, Jun 13, 2008.

Jun 13, 2008

Contra 4 DSTT by Geezuzkhrist119 at 9:18 PM (1,562 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Geezuzkhrist119
    OP

    Member Geezuzkhrist119 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Canada
    how do i get this game working?

    when i load it, i get a error screen saying that the savfile is missing

    where can i get the save file at?

    Edit: I just discovered that i get the same error message from Myst DS also
     
  2. X D D X

    Member X D D X GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Try making a (rom name).sav file before you start the game, that should work.
    Or download a Contra 4 .sav from the Downloads section.
     
  3. Geezuzkhrist119
    OP

    Member Geezuzkhrist119 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks man
    i didnt think of that

    but do u know where i can get a save for myst?
     
  4. Saladman

    Newcomer Saladman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
  5. Geezuzkhrist119
    OP

    Member Geezuzkhrist119 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Canada
    i did do that

    i knew the game had problems before but i thought that if i updated the firmware the problem would be solved but it didnt do shit
     
  6. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is with games that have fewer than 8 characters in the name (not including the extension) but also have spaces. The DSTT gets confused about whether the name is a short filename or a long filename, and misnames the .sav file it creates the first time you run it. You need to rename the .sav file so that it has the exact same name as the game except for a ".sav" extension instead of a ".nds" extension. The case is important, and the ".sav" should be in all lowercase. It should then work thereafter.

    -Bri
     
  7. Geezuzkhrist119
    OP

    Member Geezuzkhrist119 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Canada
    i downloaded a sav file from this site and loaded it on the dstt

    i get the same message

    and both of the files are named the same
    so that bri says isnt the problem in this case
     
  8. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rename the rom Contra_4.nds or Contra4.nds, that will fix it.
     
  9. Geezuzkhrist119
    OP

    Member Geezuzkhrist119 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Canada
    thanx tanas

    it works
    i owe u one
     
  10. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    You may have to rename it in DSOrganize. Sometimes when you try to rename files on your PC (particularly just changing the case of the filename), the file appears to be renamed but when you look at it on the DS the uppercase/lowercase is still messed up. All of this has to do with how the FAT file system deals with long and short filenames. I think if you use DSOrganize to rename the file it will let you fix the case properly so that the DSTT will be able to see it.

    -Bri
     
  11. FreshSoul

    Member FreshSoul GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    United States
    I had this problem before when I had a dstt. Apparently, it created a .SAV file. All I did was load it up to my computer and renamed it .sav =]
     
  12. xjuniorx

    Member xjuniorx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Inside My Acekard 2
    Country:
    United States
    I have Contra 4 on my Acekard 2 and I have no problems with it..
     
  13. CorruptJon

    Member CorruptJon :)

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    781
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Well he has a DSTT so that has nothing to do with it.
     
  14. xjuniorx

    Member xjuniorx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Inside My Acekard 2
    Country:
    United States
    oh sorry about that i knew but just letting him know that with my acekard2 no problems..
    also yes be sure to name it

    ROMNAME.nds
     
  15. Geezuzkhrist119
    OP

    Member Geezuzkhrist119 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Canada
    i tried to use the rom on my dstt like 2 months ago but it didnt work but i didnt know about that i need to change the name of the rom
    so thats my bad

    and nice tech n9ne avatar jon
     
  16. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    The problem isn't really the name of the ROM, but the name of the save file that gets created. Still, renaming the ROM fixes it because it will then write out a correct save file.

    -Bri
     

Share This Page