Considering buying CycloDS Evolution

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by megabug7, Mar 18, 2008.

Mar 18, 2008
  1. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    Been reading GBATemp's reviews on DS Flash cards and saw that CycloDS was rated as one of the best.
    Apparently the 'MoD' (FFCC:RoF) doesn't happen on this one and also the compatibility is excellent.

    I also read that V4 is out with black card and improved build. (feedback would be much appreciated)

    So knowing this. I would like to know judging by the size of the rom's averaging 135.00 MB?
    How big is this in DS Terms? Maximum file size is 1GigaBit.

    How many of the 135.00 MB games can fit on a 2 GB SDMicro Card.

    TIA

    - F
     
  2. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    A 2 gigabyte micro sd is 8 times the size of 2 gigabit. So if you're trying to put 135Megabyte sized games you would be able to put on about 10-12 games, I'm not exactly sure. Also remember that it's not a full two gig, but about 1.89-1.9 gigabytes because of the system files already inside the micro sd.

    On another note, Cyclo is the best! It has amazing features, best support team, SDHC support (If you want more than 2 gigabytes.), and a lot more. THe only drawback is it's price, which is the most expensive of the flashkarts.
     
  3. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for replying so quick [​IMG]

    50 UK pounds for the CycloDS with 2 GB MicroSD doesn't seem expensive to me -- I found a site (techwizard) that sells it here in the UK.

    10-12 games is more than enough LOL
    I thought it could only fit around 2 [​IMG]

    But then again I'm not sure what the average price of these things are.
    I've only focused on CycloDS
     
  4. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    The MoD has been fixed by the R4 Team. The R4 is just Drag and Drop, im not sure about the Cyclo. And the R4 is much more cheaper, considering its features its worth the deal. Sadly, you can only have a 2 GB SD Micro Card since it does not support SDHC. And it never will. But who really needs 4 GB? I mean unless you want the whole NDS games on your flash cart.
     
  5. SpectralSounds

    Newcomer SpectralSounds Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I have an R4 and it did not offer enough space for me. I see a lot of people who say you don't need more than 2 gigs... but, I disagree. That's why I ordered a CycloDS.

    I havent gotten mine yet, so its hard to compare it vs. the R4. I know I like the R4 a lot and it would be the perfect card for me if it supported sdhc.
     
  6. podunk1269

    Member podunk1269 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    West ByGod , USA
    Country:
    United States
    Cyclos is drag and drop too, also the aut DLDI is very nice
     
  7. Hyperlisk_

    Member Hyperlisk_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, the CycloDS is just drag and drop. I love my Cyclo. It's worked perfectly ever sicne I got it.
     
  8. eldaddio

    Newcomer eldaddio Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got my Cyclo for about 30GBP, plust £15 for a 4GB Micro SD card. So shop around for a better deal!
    I find 4 gigs very useful.
     
  9. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Has the slow down/lag and freezing in Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin been fixed?
    It was mentioned in GBAtemp's Review, but not mentioned in the recently added re-evaluation.

    I think my minds made up...
    I will shop around but it doesn't specify anywhere which version I'll be buying. [​IMG]

    Would it be safe to assume that the black card is V4 and the white card is V3?
     
  10. Enter260

    Newcomer Enter260 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    no. they both should be batch 4 unless you're buying from a ghetto place with old stock.
     
  11. HyoImowano

    Member HyoImowano GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    HAving had an R4 and a CycloDS Evolution, I can safely say that the Cyclo is better.
     
  12. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    I am actually considering getting one because of its active development/support team, the real time save function, PBR and native 3in1 support. However, I am not sure whether the price of 50€ at my closest retailer are worth the added features over the R4.

    And I am also a bit anti-cyclo from MaxConsoles "First REAL Modchip" stuff.
     
  13. Kaos

    Member Kaos Good show!

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Remember that most DS roms are only 64mb or 128mb, so you'll be able to fit more than 12 on.
     
  14. ExDee

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm... 4th gen? where can you buy v4 of it?

    I tried using google
     
  15. Szyslak

    Member Szyslak Nudibranch Lover

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    The freezing in PoR can only be fixed by having a microSD with fast "random access" times. The fastest around would be a 1GB Kingston Japan, or a 4GB A-Data Class 6 microSDHC. Slower memory will give you an occasional freeze on the warp points in PoR, but they are usually near a save point anyway, so the game is quite playable.

    Feel free to correct me, but I think the latest batch of CycloDS Evo is the 3rd hardware/shell revision (V3), and the 4th production batch (batch 4). Both black and white cards are the same latest batch. There is no sure way to check the batch before ordering unless you e-mail the vendor, but most vendors ran out of batch 3 in December / January.
     
  16. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The place I'm probably going to order from has a 2GB Kingston which is bundled in with CycloDS

    Not sure which type that is - but I will be ordering over the phone so they will be able to tell me.
     
  17. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure if they ship internationally, but if they do, buy the CycloEvo from Real Hot Stuff.
     
  18. Unchi-san

    Member Unchi-san Unchi on a stick! yay~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    526
    Country:
    United States
    they stopped shipping international and only do domestic orders now due to orders being lost internationally :/
     
  19. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I found a few places that ship to the UK or are based in the UK. Prices vary but they all seem to supply the Kingston MicroSD.

    I suppose if it's JUST Castlevania:PoR that's dodgy, then it's no biggie. I can always get a different MicroSD at a later date.

    Thanks bunches for your advice and suggestions [​IMG]
     
  20. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd rather just stick to a Kingston. They're just fast and nice. Always had a Kingston and always will. Plus the name sounds cool. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page