Connecting Xbox 360 to monitor

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Edgedancer, Nov 23, 2009.

Nov 23, 2009
  1. Edgedancer
    OP

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    I would like to connect my 360 to my computer monitor. My model is Compaq WF-1907 and has both a VGA port and dvi-d port. I am having many issues with getting it to work as I wish to be able to run both in tandem but neither have the correct attachment to connect to the dvi-d port. So I am asking you, fellow members of GBAtemp to help me. I have already bought the VGA cables and am currently just swaping them around but in the future, I would prefer a better solution.
     
  2. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    I would suggest using a KVM switch with USB and audio support. Then you can just use the keyboard to switch between 360 and the PC.

    I have a setup like this, it's very convenient.
     
  3. Edgedancer
    OP

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Could you give me a link to your one as I want a simple one? Also, how do you choose to switch; do you just put in a certain keyboard command or what?

    EDIT: Would this one work?
     
  4. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm currently using D-Link's KVM-221. To switch between sources, you just press "Scroll Lock" twice (you'll hear a beep), then right arrow.
     
  5. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    vga connectors for xbox. VGA->DVI adapter for monitor
     
  6. Edgedancer
    OP

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for all the suggestions guys. I just bought a KVM. The one that I linked to before and it works fine.
     
  7. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    ROFL you wasted your money.
     
  8. Edgedancer
    OP

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Not really. I have read that it is really random as to whether an adapter will work so it would be hit and miss with buying it. Plus, the dvi-d port seems to be the most difficult to convert.

    Plus, I had gift cards and I couldn't wait of rsomething to ship. [​IMG]
     
  9. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Personally I find it easy to convert between the various forms (VGA, DVI, even HDMI) just by going to the local computer fair and snooping around. They've got an adaptor for everything!

    The solution I use for an old monitor with VGA is the VGA cable plugged into the underside of the monitor (the other monitor I have needs a VGA coupler because the wire is hard-connected). For the sound, I've got a few RCA-minijack adaptors with a minijack coupler to plug into speakers if the monitor doesn't have them built in. Fortunately all my monitors do, but my friend's does not.

    That said, my favourite method is simple - I have literally everything (except PS3 which I don't own) plugged into my LG Flatron M2294D LCD TV. Primary comp and 360 though HDMI, Laptop through DVI, Tablet Laptop through VGA, older Xboxes or Wii through composite, PS2, DC and GC through scart, PS1 through aerial............ problem solved, just need the remote to flip between them all [​IMG]
     

Share This Page