Hacking Confused on where to go with CFW above 4.55

tbb043

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm on Rogero 4.55. I used to use Rebug, but they took forever to get a new CFW out and I needed to play some blurays that the Rebug I was on wouldn't run, so I switched to Rogero. My PS3 is a slim, if that matters.

Now I want to update, but it seems like there's a huge mess out there. Rebug has 4.65.1, but says it's buggy due to leaks and took it down (I still managed to find a copy, and the MD5 matches what they have, so all good) but I don't know if that's what I should use or not. I honestly don't know what's going on with Rogero, seems there are some higher than 4.55, but they're just leaks and maybe not safe? There's also Darknet 4.66, but I know nothing about Darknet at all, is that one good (and more importantly safe)?

I know nothing about Cobra, I know Rebug has it included (and it's supposedly the buggy part) but I've never used it before, don't know what I'd use it for, and don't know if I'd have a need to use it. Darknet I can find both with and without it.

Any advice/recommendation on what would be best to install? I'd planned on waiting for Rebug to fix theirs, as they said they were doing, but it's been so long, I'd really like to get something newer than 4.55 on so if I rent some blurays I don't wind up with it bitching at me about needing to update. If there's a CFW I haven't mentioned that's better than the ones I've mentioned, please, feel free to bring that up as well.

Sorry if this is a stupid topic, I'm just stumped on this and would rather risk a topic being stupid than doing something stupid to my PS3.

Reactions: Nightwish
D

Deleted User

They all work relatively well on my slim. There were very few games released so far that require 4.60 and higher - so that'd be the only reason I'd install any newer CFW (though you could just patch them down to 4.55).