1. ron555

    OP ron555 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Hi all,

    I've flashed my ds (insulated foil toothpick) and I did my research before I even attempted it.

    However, I'm still a little confused about a particular aspect of NoFlashMe.nds.

    If I use NoFlashMe, will it restore MY original US NDS Lite firmware or the one embedded within the NoFlashMe code?

    Thanks
     
  2. XxMxVxPxX

    XxMxVxPxX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    kind of. with the ds it does. but i herd that your ds lite gets all screwed up if you unflash it. i dont do it. i think you cant use pictochat. just search because thats all i can think of

    edit:
    but yeah thats what its supposed to do
     
  3. ron555

    OP ron555 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    What's it supposed to do?

    "If I use NoFlashMe, will it restore MY original US NDS Lite firmware or the one embedded within the NoFlashMe code?"

    Which one of these?
     
  4. Jeomite

    Jeomite GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have the answer to your question, but I'm just curious... why would you want to "un-flash" your DS?
     
  5. blizeH

    blizeH GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    To sell it I guess.
     
  6. yuwing

    yuwing GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    Canada
    if u flash it with stealth version, no one will know it was flashed.
     
  7. illumina

    illumina GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    since it doesn't work on DS lites, i'm going to say that it restores the firmware that's embedded into the flashme file. If it restored your original firmware, then it would work on DS lites. I could be wrong though.
     
  8. Pado

    Pado GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    shouldn't you be able to a sell a DS which is flashed already easier then a non-flashed one [​IMG] ?? .... I mean ... it's brick-safe [​IMG] ... Nintendo only gives 1 year warranty anyway ....
     
  9. Deaddy

    Deaddy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Canada
    I would consider flashing just to get rid of that annoying startup warning screen!
     
  10. litesaber

    litesaber GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    Canada
    flashme_stealth is the best! [​IMG]
     
  11. adgloride

    adgloride Its A Wii Wario
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    I used to use the norma flashme to skip the welcome screen. Since the supercard goes straight to the menu I installed the stealth. No one can tell your DS is flashed with the stealth unless they insert a supercard [​IMG] The only reason to unflash the DS would be to send it back to nintendo.

    Its probably cheaper from Nintendo to throw the DS in the bin and send you a new one, I doubt they check to see if flashme is installed anyway. On the new DS lite theirs no sticker like the normal DS covering the SL1, nintendo would have to do more than give the DS a quick look to tell that someones used flashme.
     
  12. Jeomite

    Jeomite GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    United States
    Yep. Flashme_Stealth is the best alternative to Flashme.... "noflashme" is quite useless... [​IMG]

    we're going off-topic though since nobody answered the question of whether noflashme == original DS firmware ???
     
  13. ron555

    OP ron555 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Yea, nobody has answered. [​IMG]
     
  14. tRiBaLmUnKy

    tRiBaLmUnKy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    United States
    It's kinda tricky since no one has dumped the DS Lite firmware, so using noflashme on it maybe a bit risky.
     
  15. ron555

    OP ron555 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    I did flash my old NDS Lite then noflashme'ed because I realized it was the wrong firmware (the beta one). Then I went to the real V7 Final and all worked well.
     
  16. Jeomite

    Jeomite GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    United States
    Couldn't you just use the "real V7 Final" right after accidently using the beta firmware?
    I was under the impression that you didn't have to un-install FlashMe to upgrade to a newer one... [​IMG]
     
  17. ron555

    OP ron555 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Yea, you probably can, but I didn't know that at the time. lol
     
  18. teH XeRO

    teH XeRO GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    the first time i flashed my lite..i accidentally used the wrong verision (v7 for regular DS's)..and when i used the no flashme.nds file to try and uninstall it...it didnt work with flash carts nemore (so sorta worked) but it only had 2 brightness settings..off and on lol...idk if this helps any. when i flashed it using v7 for the lites it regained the 4 brightness settings.
     
  19. ron555

    OP ron555 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Exactly what happened to me. Here's the order.

    ORIGINAL FIRMWARE >> Flash me beta >>> Noflashme >> flash me v7 (final) [Works good now]
     
  20. Dirtie

    Dirtie :'D
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Until Flashme is updated to recognize the new DS Lite firmware properly, noflashme will probably give you bugs or have issues. On older DS's however, it works just dandy.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - concerning, Confused, FlashMe