Config disc worked, does it mean I have wiikey?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Hermessz, Dec 18, 2007.

Dec 18, 2007
  1. Hermessz
    OP

    Member Hermessz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    ISR
    Country:
    Israel
    Hello,
    I have a Wii 3.1E, and I have a Wiikey. I tried the update of SMG (1.9g) and it keeps telling me the connection problem, as I wanted to make sure I have a Wiikey, I download the wiikey configuration disc, and tried to turn on the region override, and it worked perfectly without saying any errors.
    Does it mean I have a Wiikey?
    and I never updated my wiikey, even not to 1.2, the config disc and the wiikey update disc were my first wiikey discs to try on my wii.
    I repeat, does it mean I have a Wiikey or not?
    If someone has any ideas how to solve the 1.9g problem, reply them here.
    I want to play Galaxy soooo much.
    Oh, the DVD I'm using is FUJIFILM High Quality, and my Wii loves it, I almost never get DRE, and I tried running the update with VERBATIM REWRITEBLE, for you to know...
    Any help will be aprriciated.
     
  2. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    connection problem after the test? then you prolly have a crappy clone
     
  3. ziddey

    Member ziddey GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if the config disc will error out if it can't write it to the wiikey or not. Unless someone else chimes in, it doesn't necessarily mean you have a wiikey.

    As for the wiikey updates, there was only the initial release, 1.9b, and 1.9g. 1.2 and 1.3 are the versions for the config disc only.

    With regards to the update failing, either you have a bunk wiikey or a nonwiikey.
     
  4. Hermessz
    OP

    Member Hermessz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    ISR
    Country:
    Israel
    I heard that even geniuine wiikey owners had problems, what does it mean?
     
  5. Hermessz
    OP

    Member Hermessz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    ISR
    Country:
    Israel
    Aw, if I try to run the OpenWii SMG fix on a Wiifree (In case I have one),
    What will happened?
    Could this work? Because I know OpenWii and Wiifree are open source chips...
     
  6. porchemasi

    Member porchemasi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    CANADA
    Country:
    Canada
    i find it funny how you can get ur wii chiped and not ask which chip is getting installed ... pure stupidty [​IMG] (dont take offence, u should do ur homework [​IMG])

    any modchip will boot the WiiKey boot disks and if it fails to install it obv tells u its not a Wiikey because it would have installed just like the other 100 000 ppl that installed it successfully [​IMG]
     
  7. Hermessz
    OP

    Member Hermessz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    ISR
    Country:
    Israel
    Woh, Woh, Woh, WoH!!!!!!!
    I bought the wii with a Wiikey! I didn't order a modded wii without knowing what I ordered, I'm not stupid!
    It just not working, so ask before you say I'm stupid, because I not, I ordered the wii with a Wiikey pre-installed.
     
  8. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    Try the other update 1.9b. See if that one works.
     
  9. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    You think it's a WiiKey, but you really don't know. Quit being cheap and just burn the 1.9g on your good media, then come back and report if it still fails.
     
  10. Hermessz
    OP

    Member Hermessz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    ISR
    Country:
    Israel
    Tried fujifilm, nope.
     
  11. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    RIP a piece of good media. [​IMG]

    Try burning 1.9b on your DVD RW
     
  12. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The config disk showing means nothing. It boots and appears to do something on all modchips.

    But it's likely you have a crap clone.
     

Share This Page