computer virus?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by tinymonkeyt, May 2, 2008.

May 2, 2008

computer virus? by tinymonkeyt at 3:06 AM (871 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. tinymonkeyt
    OP

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    so today when i tried to start up my computer
    it froze at the startup screen
    well to be more specific
    it just says ACER(the brand) and nothing happens
    could there be a virus thats causing this?
    also, if not, what could be wrong and how do i fix it?
     
  2. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Wow... If it froze right when it loaded the BIOS I guess it could be RAM or Hard Drive problems. You might want to get it diagnosed first, because there are too many possibilities.
    [​IMG] I'm also impressed how you even managed to put a question about computers in a form of a poem...
     
  3. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, was this a one time thing?

    You should know whether or not its a virus.
     
  4. tinymonkeyt
    OP

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    -.- its not in poem form
    its just how i write, silly goose

    and like ive tried powering it off
    and then starting it up again
    but it still stays stuck at that screen
    i should take it to some computer technician i guess
    i figured i would ask here first
    in case anyone knew what was wrong or had similar problems
     
  5. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Its not likely that a virus would affect BIOS operation.
     
  6. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    It's one of those problems that we have to be at your house to know. There are too many possibilities for what's wrong. I would suggest taking it to a technician.
     
  7. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    1. Blow out the case with compressed air.

    2. Make sure all the components and cables are seated correctly (aka, make sure they aren't loose).
     
  8. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    It completely locks up? Strange. Try reseting the CMOS by removing the cell battery, waiting 10 minutes, and putting it back in (The PC being off and unplugged the whole time)
     
  9. Saylient_Dreams

    Member Saylient_Dreams GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    United States
    Try disconnecting the hard drive, if you get passed the bios screen and it says no operating system found or something of the sort, then something might be up with your hard drive thats flagging the bios to halt. I beleive some bios can also list errors? Not sure on that though, lol. But I would guess faulty ram or something, since you didn't perform a bios flash.
     
  10. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Is it POSTing? (The beap when it starts)
     
  11. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    ya, silly goose

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page