Compress ROMs?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by FuManChuu, Nov 17, 2006.

Nov 17, 2006

Compress ROMs? by FuManChuu at 12:21 AM (1,578 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. FuManChuu
    OP

    Member FuManChuu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United States
    I must be missing something.... I have the newest Supercard software, and the compress icon is grey'd out. I have a supercard lite rumble (thug style baby). Can you only compress GBA roms or something? (thats the only time i've ever seen it referenced. Thanks
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I would think so. GBA games have to be loaded into RAM on the cart, so it wouldn't really make a difference if they were compressed in the flash memory. DS roms are played directly from the flash memory, so compressing them would cause problems.
     
  3. chillyp

    Newcomer chillyp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm curious how compression would work on the SC Rumble. Didn't they remove the RAM?
     
  4. FuManChuu
    OP

    Member FuManChuu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United States
    Hrm... all I gotta say is, trim does all the space saving i need.... 1.1 gig of games got trimmed down to 703meg.... awesome [​IMG]:D
     
  5. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    I thought SC Rumble didn't support GBA.
     
  6. dblank

    Newcomer dblank Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Just for fun, try compressing them as well, I'd bet you'll save several hundred more MB (I do with mine)

    I wish it were possible to decompress .nds right on the DS before running, but I think I'll have to write an app to do it myself.

     

Share This Page