Composite Cables?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Tragedies, Aug 10, 2008.

Aug 10, 2008

Composite Cables? by Tragedies at 1:18 PM (1,728 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Tragedies
    OP

    Member Tragedies GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Australia
    I've got a pretty basic TV. Picture quality is nice and all (nothing comapred to a Plasma though), and it has the basic three-coloured composite cables. I was just wondering (apologies if this is such a newbie question), do the 360 packages include Composite Cables? Or only Component? I was told only Component, but for all I know, it may be only Composite (confusing, to me.) Is the picture quality for games like Gears and Halo 3 watchable using Composite, too? My Wii game's look good and fine, so do you reckon Halo 3 would play good, visually?
     
  2. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think it has both, there is one cable which has Composite and Component together. I wouldn't know, i use HDMI.

    Composite is ok, but Component is better. HDMI is fantastic.

    EDIT: Yeah, i'm correct. the cable has Red Yellow and White which is used for Composite, you can just leave the other inputs, they are for component


    [​IMG]
     
  3. Tragedies
    OP

    Member Tragedies GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh, that's an interesting and smart cable [​IMG]

    HDMI probably is awesome. Maybe one day I'll be able to play with that high quality. Gotta buy myself a new TV, though.
     
  4. h3l

    Newcomer h3l Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Portugal
    xbox360 does not have SCART as my wii????
     
  5. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When you get the 360 is comes with a Composite to Scart. You plug the Yellow, Red AND White cables into the little box then you plug the box to a scart input.


    Scart is really awful, so is Composite.
     
  6. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    That's just because SCART is just transmitting the Composite signal. You can't make a blurred mess into a sharp high resolution picture.
     
  7. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know, I'm just saying.
     
  8. Defiance

    Member Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Location:
    Terminus
    Country:
    United States
    What's the difference between the HDMI ports and the Component ones? They both do HD.
     
  9. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    HDMI is digital, component is analog. HDMI can do true 1600p, and has audio on the same cord.
     
  10. jedjj

    Newcomer jedjj Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    You are a little incorrect, looking at the picture one can see that the cable is split into audio and video. The Video choices you have are either use the three (RGB) component, or the one yellow composite. The red and white cables are audio and are used in both cases.
     
  11. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Who is that aimed at?
     
  12. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    If that was aimed at me, I was just going by the Wikipedia article.
     
  13. avant1277

    Member avant1277 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if your tv has a scart socket, you'd be better to buy a proper fully RGB xbox 360 scart cable or an s-video cable. This will give a sharper picture than a composite cable. Of course it's nothing to compare with component or hdmi, but with an SD tv scart or svideo will look better than composite.

    For example take a look at the reviews here:

    http://www.play.com/Games/Xbox360/4-/71975...le/Product.html
     
  14. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    technically thats still COMPOSITE as it does not FORCE THE AV frequency with composite cables [​IMG]

    what you need to use is a PROPER scart cable as linked to on the play.com site above [​IMG]
     
  15. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But still, it will work when you plug it into a scart input.
     
  16. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    A proper SCART cable will be similar in image quality to component.

    But console makers don't include or sell official SCART cables in Japan or the Americas, because virtually no TVs sold in those regions have SCART inputs.
     
  17. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just a thought but a fair few TVs have VGA ports these days. You can either make a VGA cable:
    http://www.engadget.com/2006/11/14/how-to-...a-vga-cable-fo/
    or spring for one (one of your favourite shops should do the deed).

    Failing that your monitor can probably beat every "HD" tv on the market for resolution ( http://home.cfl.rr.com/eaa/DisplayAdapter.htm yes that is 1987 and 1988 that "HD" resolution was "defined") so VGA wins again (although the VGA option is perhaps not quite as nice as it could be but I will leave the conspiracy theories for another day).
     

Share This Page