Hacking Complete Hesitating Beginner

cyborgamine

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
129
Country
Saudi Arabia
Hi Folks,

I want to softmod my Wii and I came across the guide [1] below. I will softmod it using the Smash-Stack method as described in [1] below.

My Wii is 4.3u, and so according to [1], all I have to do is delete custom stages, download the files [2] and [3] and extract them to the root of my SD card, and do the final step [4].

So After executing [4], my Wii is all softmodded? Can I run backup copies for example?

I am a bit hesitating to use guide [1] because it looks too simple e.g. compared to [5] or [6].

Can you please confirm that this cool and simple guide contains everything? Or is more stuff to be done after step [4]?

Thanks.


[1] http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/exploits/smash-stack
[2] http://wiibrew.org/w/images/4/4e/Smashstack.zip
[3] http://bootmii.org/get.php?file=hackmii_in...fbc9f71d0cfcb9f
[4] Load Super Smash Bros Brawl. In the main menu, go to the Vault, then choose Stage Builder. It should load automatically on this moment.
[5] http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-faqs-g...od-any-wii.html
[6] http://gbatemp.net/t171901-modify-any-wii-4-3-below
 

ddetkowski

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
1,145
Trophies
0
Location
United States
XP
263
Country
United States
dont use any of those links, click on modmii from my sig, thats THE easiest app to hack it.
(and you simply run it from your PC, it'll DL all files needed to PC, you just copy them to a blank 2GB SD card. It also generates a guide for your wii to follow, step by step
 

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
4,134
Trophies
0
Age
53
Location
Sitting by computer
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,061
Country
As mentioned by ddetkowski - use ModMii

I've not upgraded a v4.3 but I did try following (some of) the guides you've shown when I first tried to soft-mod my wii & I really balls it up (think it was because I was mixing different incompatible files)...
But using modmii, got it working first time with no problems (Actually I used it's predecessor NUSAD)

- as for 'Can I run backups' then basically Yes.... If you're planning to play just your Wii games that is.

One thing to note - You MAY need to use an external HDD instead of 'Backup Disks' for your Games
- newer Wii's CANNOT run Backup Disks..
.. Don't worry Modmii will help you install all the required stuff to be able to run a USB HDD


I think to play Gamecube backups need a little more 'modding' to be done & I think you'll also need some extra hardware such as a 'SD Gecko' - this guide seems to have some quite useful info about that
 

cyborgamine

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
129
Country
Saudi Arabia
Thanks, that guide is really cool :-)

I installed the HBC, performed NAND backup, and now I am at the stage [1] below.

How to I launch ""IOS236 Installer v5 MOD" or "IOS236 Installer"? When I am at HBC, I have a screen with bubbles going up, and when I hit home, I get a menu containing the buttons "about", "Launch BootMii", "Return to System", etc. but none of these (as far as I tried) take me to install any IOS?

Any help is much appreciated.


[1]
3) INSTALL A PATCHED IOS236
========================

Start the Homebrew Channel.

VERY IMPORTANT!
In the Homebrew channel, if you do not have a working internet connection already set up, you will see an icon flashing in the bottom right corner of the screen indicating its inability to initialize the network. You MUST wait for the icon to stop flashing OR let it flash for 30-60 seconds before proceeding otherwise these apps will error shortly after being launched. If you encounter this harmless error, power off the Wii and repeat this step from the beginning. To increase your chances of success, add a working internet connection to your Wii via the official Wii Settings Menu, but be sure to say "No" when asked to perform an update.


You only need to perform ONE of the below methods.


Method A: Using IOS236 Installer
--------------------------------

After waiting 30-60 seconds for the HBC to attempt to initialize the network, launch "IOS236 Installer v5 MOD".
Note: This app must be launched using HBC v1.0.7 or higher in order to work properly.

It should say "IOS236 installation is complete!" and return to The Homebrew Channel.

If you experience errors, keep trying and it should eventually work.
If you continue to experience errors you can try using Simple IOS Patcher instead.
Once either method successfully installs IOS236, you can move onto the next step.


Method B: Using Simple IOS Patcher
----------------------------------

After waiting 30-60 seconds for the HBC to attempt to initialize the network, launch "IOS236 Installer".
Note: This app must be launched using HBC v1.0.7 or higher in order to work properly.

Choose "IOS36" (already selected by default) and push A,
Select "Install IOS to slot" and choose 236,
Select "Install patched IOS36" leaving the 4 patches set to "yes" and press A,
Choose "Load IOS from SD card".

Confirm your choice with the A button,
When prompted, push A to continue the installation.
When the installation is over you'll be back at the Main Menu,
Then push B button to exit.

If you experience errors, keep trying and it should eventually work.
If you continue to experience errors you can try using IOS236 Installer instead.
Once either method successfully installs IOS236, you can move onto the next step.
 

terminal_illness

Dark Hadou Master
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
746
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Canada! Mah Fukas!
Website
Visit site
XP
228
Country
Canada
did you copy the files from modmii to the sd card? sounds like you either dont have an sd card inserted or the stuff is in the wrong location...

you didnt copy the "copy_to_sd" folder to the sd card did you? because you were supposed to copy the contents of that folder to the sd card.
 

cyborgamine

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
129
Country
Saudi Arabia
Yep, I did that and installed HBC. Then when it came to installing BootMii, I could not install it as Boot 2, so it asked me to insert an SD card to install the BootMii in it. I inserted another SD card. So at this stage I have the first SD card containing the COPY_TO_SD content, and the second SD card containing BootMii and the NAND backup.

Do I use the SD card containing COPY_TO_SD again? It does not say so in the automatically generated instructions.
 

WalkerOfTheDay

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
848
Trophies
0
XP
54
Country
Netherlands
cyborgamine said:
Yep, I did that and installed HBC. Then when it came to installing BootMii, I could not install it as Boot 2, so it asked me to insert an SD card to install the BootMii in it. I inserted another SD card. So at this stage I have the first SD card containing the COPY_TO_SD content, and the second SD card containing BootMii and the NAND backup.

Do I use the SD card containing COPY_TO_SD again? It does not say so in the automatically generated instructions.

Yep ! Use the card again. Actually it wasn't necessary to use another sd card in the first please.
You could have left it in.
 

Taleweaver

Storywriter
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
8,022
Trophies
1
Age
40
Location
Belgium
XP
6,148
Country
Belgium
cyborgamine said:
So After executing [4], my Wii is all softmodded? Can I run backup copies for example?

...

[4] Load Super Smash Bros Brawl. In the main menu, go to the Vault, then choose Stage Builder. It should load automatically on this moment.
Most of it is already answered, but I'm going to nuance this question a bit:


Points [1] through [4] you mentioned are enough to softmod your wii. But that is merely the opening...the basic groundwork you have to do to make sure you can start doing all the necessary other things. I hate to use payscamsite slang but their analogy is pretty decent: running the exploit and installing the homebrew channel (also known as HBC) 'unlocks' your wii so you can do with it what you want.


So no, it won't straight up lets you run backup copies. It just lets you meet the basic prerequisite to install and use most homebrew. Those points 5 and 6, as well as modmii, further elaborate what to do to next to get to start playing backup games.


Oh, and...thumbs up to you for doing research. While I agree with previous posters that modmii is the better choice, it's nice to see that you don't just start randomly doing whatever some internet guide tells you to.
smile.gif
 

cyborgamine

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
129
Country
Saudi Arabia
Thanks everyone :-)

I think I have just softmodded my Wii with no hassle thanks to the brilliant guide and your precious help. My Wii is NTSC, and I was able to start a PAL game on it which means the softmodding is kind of successful --- at least when it comes to playing any region.

My very last question hopefully is: Can somebody please send me a reliable guide on how to back-up my games on my drive and play them from it? I have now something called USB LOADER showing in the main (original) Wii screen. I was hoping that I will just attach a USB HDD to it and it formats it for me, etc. When I plug in my NTFS HDD, it shows the screen [1] but then returns immediately to the main Wii screen.

So is this behaviour normal? I mean the program USB LOADER does just what the name suggests i.e. load an already prepared USB DRIVE to play backups?

Cheeers.

[1] The screen has the word Wii written in big font, diagonal, and has icons of the Wii-remote buttons around it.
 

cyborgamine

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
129
Country
Saudi Arabia
Everything works great now :-)

Actually, this guide is awesome and it does a magic thing: it works first time! The only thing that got me confused was when I was asked to insert an SD card so I thought I use a second one. Otherwise, it is all self-explanatory :-)

Finally, can somebody confirm that my Wii 4.3u (bought last January) can only play my games backed up on a hard drive? Are burnt DVDs a definite NO NO?

Cheers.
 

Fishaman P

Speedrunner
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
3,284
Trophies
1
Location
Wisconsin
Website
twitch.tv
XP
1,564
Country
United States
Why follow any other guide besides Modmii's generated guide or the sticky here?

EDIT: Which January? I assume 2010.

With a Wii of that age, I think it's possible, but why would you want to use discs? Instead of using up $10-$20 for a stack of discs, spend that much on an 8GB flash drive that, depending on the games, can hold probably 20-30? Not Brawl of course.

A huge portable/external hard drive would be a much better value.
 

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
4,134
Trophies
0
Age
53
Location
Sitting by computer
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,061
Country
cyborgamine said:
Finally, can somebody confirm that my Wii 4.3u (bought last January) can only play my games backed up on a hard drive? Are burnt DVDs a definite NO NO?
As said it's most probably won't be able to play any backup Disks - there's a site that you can type in your Wii Serial code & it'll give you a fairly good idea to what type of drive chip it has installed...IIRC the newer drives are D3-2 drives and these CANNOT play any type of Backup disks or DVD's

... Ah here it is

EDIT: Actually D4 drives are the latest & they also don't play backup disk either
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Freezer6 @ Freezer6:
    Peppermon i think
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Cheddar carmal and peppermint bins
  • Freezer6 @ Freezer6:
    Cheddar :toot::wub:
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    I don't like popcorn at all; bland taste, and it got ruined for me because of high school - the school cafeteria reeked of microwave popcorn for several days...utterly revolting, couldn't even enter the place it stunk so bad.
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Nah, for movies I'd rather get a bag of lollies instead of popcorn.
  • Costello @ Costello:
    lollypops? a whole bag?
    +1
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Not lollipops; what Americans would call "candies" or just "candy" IDK. Before the pandemic, cinemas used to have buckets of different ones - sour cola, sour watermelon, and many others; I used to get a scoopful of two or three types into a paper bag to have throughout the movie.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Pft who needs teeth
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I got liquid candy once they do so in your face dentist
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Rot*
  • s1cc @ s1cc:
    B:whip:
  • RedoLane tempBOT:
    RedoLane has left the room.
  • kenenthk tempBOT:
    kenenthk rolls 1d6 and gets 6 (6).
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Aye let's go got 6
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i agree popcorn is bland but caramel popcorn is really good
  • tabzer @ tabzer:
    butter soy (sauce) popcorn is the way to go
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    yuck, popcorn
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Mmmm, popcorn.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Bring on the caramel kettle corn pls.
  • HarvHouHacker @ HarvHouHacker:
    Okay, users of Vivaldi on Android: Don't toggle "Desktop Site" on GBAtemp.net. Stuff breaks.
  • ZeroT21 tempBOT:
    ZeroT21 has left the room.
  • ZeroT21 tempBOT:
    ZeroT21 has joined the room.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The kernel of corn said you won't make me number two.
  • Flame @ Flame:
    @Psionic Roshambo what you been up to as of late?
  • Flame @ Flame:
    any new Chinese cheap stuff?
    Flame @ Flame: any new Chinese cheap stuff?