Class 6 SDHC

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by mixinluv2u, Apr 25, 2008.

Apr 25, 2008

Class 6 SDHC by mixinluv2u at 7:23 PM (3,728 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. mixinluv2u
    OP

    Member mixinluv2u GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    i know A-Data's Class 6 card is pretty much the best/fastest cards right now. but has anyone tried the other brand cards?

    i read that Sandisk Class 4 is kind of too slow, but how about other brand's Class 6? like PQI or Transcend for example.
     


  2. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Not sure about PQI at all, but I've heard that Transcend is slightly slower than the A-Data. It's hardly noticible, they said.

    Also, yes, Sandisk Class 4 cards are very slow. I have one, and it freezes too often. I still don't regret getting it, however, seeing

    I needed the space.
     
  3. jeklnoo

    Member jeklnoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United States
    doesn't "Class 6" == 6MB/sec, and "Class 4" == 4MB/sec? doesn't matter too much for DS use though, i think the maximum theoretical rate is around 3MB/sec, since the DS media adaptors all use SPI (1-bit) mode instead of the faster proprietary 4-bit SD mode.
     
  4. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have class 4s and class 2s, and have no problems ... I think it may be the 'quality' of your cards ... lot of poor quality cards, and fakes, out there ...
     
  5. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Actually, what matters is the random access speed of the microsd cards.
     
  6. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    I have tested the Patriot, Transcend, and A-Data 4GB class6 cards with cf_bench on the Cyclo Evo, AK RPG, AK 2, and SC DS One. I have added my results to this spreadsheet.
     
  7. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    I recently got a 4GB Kingston (Taiwan), when I have enough time I'll post my results.
     
  8. jeklnoo

    Member jeklnoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United States
    Here's more data for yous: http://dev-scene.com/NDS/CartSpeed -- note that it only records the random access avg times.
     
  9. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got SanDisk Class 4 8GB SDHC and I've never had problems. I even tested both Castlevania and no problems. I've got no freezing, crashing or non playable roms yet. Like thebobevil said, it depends on the quality of the card and how friendly it is with your flashcart. Mine's CycloDS and again, no problems. Much faster than R4DS and DS FireLink.
     
  10. crazyazn5

    Newcomer crazyazn5 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    NorCalifornia!!! W
    Country:
    United States
    I got a A-Data class 6 and there hasn't been a problem ever. It was cheap too! 19.99 after rebate and stuff...
     
  11. bollocks

    Member bollocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is there anywhere in the UK that sells the A-Data cards? and at a reasonable price? i just want to check before i resort to buying one from Hong Kong or something.
     
  12. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. bollocks

    Member bollocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nah, i don't mind using ebay, i was just wondering if any UK-based online stores had them in so i could get one fairly soon instead of waiting for shipping from HK. 's no big deal, anyway.

    totally agree about retail stores though, i was in maplins today and they were charging ONE HUNDRED POUNDS for a SanDisk 8gb one. i didn't check what class it was but i'm pretty bloody sure it wasn't 6 either.
     
  14. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    Could you list any HK sites that sell the adata 4gb class 6?
    I searched on google with no luck
    But this was the only one i could find.
    Click Here
     
  15. sudeki300

    Member sudeki300 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i had a sandisk class 2 4GB but had no problems with games freezing or lagging (except the movie in castlevania which i don't play). but i ordered a 4GB a-data class 6 card and it came yesterday through the door. only cost me £18 from ireland.i'll try it later and put the 4GB sandisk in my n95.........sudeki300
     
  16. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    Never had any troubles with the J Kingston 2 gig one. I recently picked up a 4 gig Class 6 Transcend (for less than I spent on the Kingston, not even a year later... wow how prices drop) and haven't had any issues with it either. Now I can't say the same with the T made version of the Kingston, it has the slowdowns with the usual culprits (Downhill Jam and Castlevania)
     
  17. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    A-Data 4gig Class 6 - $20 @ Newegg

    I just purchased this one on friday (came out to $20.XX total after a 1.99 shipping [​IMG] ) and i'll be getting it today or tomorrow (or maybe the next day), but yea, it SHOULD be good [​IMG]
     
  18. Unchi-san

    Member Unchi-san Unchi on a stick! yay~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    526
    Country:
    United States
    its the best. you will be VERY happy. it is so damn cheap too.
     
  19. JSalcedo

    Newcomer JSalcedo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I currently have a Kingston 4GB Taiwan [​IMG] , and it is doing GREAT. At first it was a bit slow, but then I used Panasonic SD Formatter on it and oh boy, did that eliminate all of my problems.
     
  20. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    What does the SD Formatter do and is it a freebie? (i'm checking google right now, but i figure an answer here would help others as well [​IMG])
     

Share This Page