1. Arm73

    Arm73 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,047
    Country:
    Italy
    I've been using the latest canary releases with the GPU acceleration and it's amazing! I can finally play Samus Returns at full speed on my now aging PC. It sucks that the game itself is capped at 30fps, but with 3x the resolution and an xbox one s controller il looks and plays like a dream. Good job Citra team, fantastic update ;)
     
  2. Edgarska

    Edgarska Conjurer of cheap tricks
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    I recommend installing autohotkey if you don't have it already. The game requires the touchscreen for changing beams but you can map those mouse clicks to the sticks or extra buttons on the controller, makes it even better than playing on the 3DS.
     
    Arm73, Kirgo and PureEvil like this.
  3. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    You have to enable it manually (unlike Canary), and it has exactly the same limitations as the standalone versions of Citra. They are full of crap.
     
  4. Keishiayy

    Keishiayy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    France
    I was able to play fine w/ a player on Citra in the past, but now we can't play together and this pops up in the log.

    https://i.imgur.com/v5MTSs1.png Any guidance?

    https://i.imgur.com/PgVIIgX.png I get this while trying to join his HUB on MhXX.

    Weird thing is he's able to play w/ other folks just fine apparently. And I can play w/ other folks just fine.
     
    Last edited by Keishiayy, Mar 15, 2018
  5. Edgarska

    Edgarska Conjurer of cheap tricks
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    They actually do exactly what they claim to do, how are they full of crap?
     
  6. B3N30

    B3N30 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Germany
    TBH Your builds are, and that is mainly because you are just incredible lazy.
    Let me give you some examples:
    • Your read delay. Instead of going the extra mile and actually measuring the delay depending on the read size(the code for that is available), you just add a fixed number.
    • Your stupid ticks stuff: So you figured out that some instructions are emulated with the wrong number of ticks. Instead of being a good developer and searching for the instruction that is, you make just each instruction to be executed on the wrong number of instructions (And if you be honest to your self, letting the users set it, is the worst decision you ever had
    • ...
    I hope I was able to show you that Selby is definitely right with his argument. You could make good contributions to citra if you would care more about implementing it properly instead of just throwing hacks on the builds
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  7. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Speedups through tick hacks? That isn't doing what they claim to do - it is breaking internal timing to get that apparent framerate counter up, even when games aren't syncing at their native frame rate.
     
    Kharan likes this.
  8. temich512

    temich512 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Russia
    Games running better, tho
     
  9. Desmondchaser

    Desmondchaser Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I agree. Currently playing this myself. I had to use a combo of Xpadder and AutoHotkey though so I could actually switch Missile and Super Missile, because I don't have any fast way to swap in battles by using the mouse.
     
    Arm73 likes this.
  10. _BW_

    _BW_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Antarctica
    For those who are still concerned about artifacts showing up in MH, a solution was given in reddit.

    "Go into the qt-config.ini file in C:/Users/your username/AppData/Roaming/citra/config and change the hw_shaders in the Renderer part to 2."

    jroweboy later explained what it does:
    "Runs vertex shaders on the gpu, but forces the fallback to CPU shaders for geometry shaders. It's slower, but for games that use geometry shaders in a certain way, it fixes issues with that. We removed the option from the UI to try to make it easy for people, but we'll probably add it back in later."
     
    EdyMaster likes this.
  11. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Did you read my comment? If you actually checked the frame pacing of the games, you would find that game ticks *breaks* games, while giving the illusion of greater framerates through artificially inflating the FPS count.
     
  12. Subötaï

    Subötaï GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    MGS3D - 50-60fps


    Runabout 3D - 60fps!
     
  13. Kirgo

    Kirgo Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Germany
    Is there a guide or a prime example for this I could use somewhere on the site?

    This would help tremendously in games like Ocarina of Time 3D.

    Edit: I found a pretty competent tutorial searching for "hitting touchscreen buttons on oot" on google. (no hyperlinking allowed in my case so I can't just link it)
    Should help anyone looking for a way to do this.
     
    Last edited by Kirgo, Mar 15, 2018
  14. valentinvanelslande

    valentinvanelslande GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Mexico
    there is no fixed read delay, but there is a fixed delay in OpenFile (fixes mario maker), there is an Accurate ticks mode, with that mode, the ticks that add official builds are added
     
  15. B3N30

    B3N30 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Germany
    Then it's OpenFile. But it's still a hack... Why don't you measure it? Then add the measured delay and it then it's a proper fix.
    And ticks: Do you even know what that is. Users for sure don't. So why make it changeable for users? Thats for sure the worst hack you ever made... So just to wrap it up: Yes your builds are full of shit!!!
     
  16. valentinvanelslande

    valentinvanelslande GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Mexico
    I don't have a 3ds
    auto mode/570 ticks fixes a Tomodachi Life bug, with auto mode/high ticks Pokémon intro plays faster, so that users can play monster hunter at 100% speed
     
  17. Slidingbass

    Slidingbass GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just take the hit dude.
     
  18. B3N30

    B3N30 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Germany
    Like I said, with ticks you figured out that some instructions need more time, but the solutions isn't to change the timing of all instructions but figure out which instruction needs the adjustment and only change the timing for that.
    But your ticks stuff is just an ugly lazy stupid hack... AND NO FIX!!!

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    There is no hit. I already said he figured out there is something wrong there. But the solution he introduced is just wrong. Nothing to discuss
     
  19. player594

    player594 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    It's at least a band aid until a true fix is implemented. Maybe not the best option, but that's why it's in the unofficial thread not the official one. If he or you or anyone else comes up with the correct solution, it can be added to the canary builds and tried there. Cut him some slack, he's doing more than the rest of us (as in normal users not developers)are capable of doing.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
     
    valentinvanelslande likes this.
  20. B3N30

    B3N30 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Germany
    True. My critic is that @valentinvanelslande says it fixes it and that his builds are the best. He showed in the past that he could contribute to citra. But he stops when he finds the band aid and says that is the fix, when it clearly isn't. With those hacks the motivation in finding a proper solution goes down, since users don't ask for it. But usually finding the right solution (no hack) also solves other games... So his way is harming the development of Citra...

    I can probably throw out a hack that fixes every game you request. But it is just a waste of time, if I don't search for the proper solution... And thats really what he does.
    Thats usually also the reason I react a bit harsh when he asks for help. Since then it's not just waist of time for hime, but for the other devs too...

    So what I'm trying to say: Stop searching for hacks! Don't waist time on releasing hacks! Start doing proper RE and development. And then I can stop calling your builds shit!!! But until the truth is they are just shit

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Then write to code to measure it, test if it works in citra, and ask a user/another dev to test it for you... Thats just another answer that proves your laziness.

    I needed 2-3 3ds to figure out the multiplayer stuff but only had one... So I asked other devs to help me. But if I would have said: I don't have 2 3ds, we wouldn't have multiplayer yet.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Unofficial, discussion, Chinese