cIOSX rev21d2x: Yet Another Hot Fix!!!!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by davebaol, Feb 3, 2011.

?

Did d2x work for you?

  1. Yes, I had an issue with the official cios and d2x fixed it

    86 vote(s)
    48.0%
  2. Yes, but everything was already working for me with the official cios

    76 vote(s)
    42.5%
  3. No, and I posted what goes wrong

    8 vote(s)
    4.5%
  4. No, and I won't report what goes wrong because I am a troll

    9 vote(s)
    5.0%
Feb 3, 2011
  1. Etheboss

    Member Etheboss Official LULWUT supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,444
    Location:
    Around somewhere
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If you are really want to flame Wanin, go to his twitter,blog or IRC, don't do it here, these guys at least trying to improve on Wanins cios...this can only be encouraged...
     


  2. bulletmark

    Member bulletmark GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Australia
    The procedure given in the OP here does not work for me.

    After step 10 I see a couple of "file already exists and has been verified, skipping download" messages quickly wiz by for my cios, 249dx56 and 250dx57. Two wads are listed, cIOS[56]-v21d2x.wad (Valid) and cIOS250[57]-v21d2x.wad (Valid). I do not see the "invalid messages" mentioned in the OP and I see that the final wads produced in my COPY_TO_SD folder still have the name, date+time, and hash of the v21dx2 wads from a few days ago.
     
  3. davebaol
    OP

    Member davebaol GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    Italy
    Remove them from that folder.
    If ModMii finds the file and they are valid then it doesn't download them once again.
     
  4. bulletmark

    Member bulletmark GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Australia
    I see you updated your instructions after my post but I suggest you need to clarify that the user MUST delete all files in the COPY_TO_SD folder before doing the download. After doing this, I see the download worked and my new wad files were built.

    There will be plenty of people who have followed these instructions exactly, as I did, but have not realised that they have just reinstalled the original v21d2 wads.

    Thanks for your work.
     
  5. justmike

    Member justmike GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks again guys!!
     
  6. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    I have yet to have my Wii get bricked or messed up from anything I have used from Waninkoko. Some of that is luck, and some of that is just using common sense. For example, whenever I want to update my Wii, I would not use his updaters nor others, but rather use NUSD with MMM or his WAD Manager.

    Personal feelings aside, modifying the Wii's NAND is risky, period. You use the example of bootmii/hackmii being infallible, but don't forget that the HomeBrew Channel has yet to be updated to fix the async network init bug. I believe a few Wii were lost to that bug and Priiloader v0.5 intallation.

    That said, Waninkoko, fix your cIOS, please!!!

    Back to the OP topic..... Looks like rev21d2x v2 has hit the lag and secondary port issues out of the park. Way to go! I haven't heard nor experienced any negatives or still existent problems with the new cIOSx mod as far as these issue go. Well, except CoD:BO lag, but I'm looking squarely at Treyarch and their recent bout of patches for that issue... Thanks for all your hard work on this one team D2X. [​IMG]

    -[]D
     
  7. troy512

    Newcomer troy512 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    how much longer before we see an entirely new cIOS-d2x-v1 instead of calling it a patch?
     
  8. hong0098

    Newcomer hong0098 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    ok
     
  9. davebaol
    OP

    Member davebaol GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks for your advice.
     
  10. jesquinas

    Member jesquinas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Spain

    Can you explain the async network init bug in HBC?

    Thx.
     
  11. bobthebigbat

    Newcomer bobthebigbat Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Australia
    I was still experiencing problems with version 1 (eg: a small freeze while calibrating DJ Hero), but with v2 the problem is gone. I thought I just had bad timing but now I get 5 Stars every track. It/I may not be perfect yet, but I'm happy with the results. Thanks for the great work.
     
  12. drewmerc

    Member drewmerc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  13. hybridLearner

    Newcomer hybridLearner Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried the new rev and it works quite well for the most part. Rock Band 3 seems to work fairly well. I didn't test the guitar syncing yet, but seemed to work just fine with v1. The keyboard is where I'm running into some slight delays. This version works better than the first, but I noticed when playing some quarter notes every once in a while some delay would happen. The notes would be fine, then not register, then one or two that were delayed, then working fine again. I have only tested on a few songs, but seems to be more prevalent on songs stored on the SD card. It has been said before that this is an issue with the game itself, but I would think if it were this common there would be more information and claims pertaining to this matter. I am using a WD 1tb Passport HDD, WiiFlow 304, and 21d2x-v2 (at least I think I updated it correctly) Hopefully this documentation can be used to either realize another small issue, or at least help me figure out if I am the only one with this problem.

    All in all, thank you so much for all your hard work in getting this going, without this there were a lot of games that were very aggravating, and possibly more that may have had a blind eye on them. I wish I could buy you all a beer! [​IMG]
     
  14. DEFIANT

    Member DEFIANT GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United States
    Ok...Tried the new bug fix (fix) and all seems to be working well with wiiflow and games. I'll keep using and see if anything changes or breaks.
     
  15. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned!

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,336
    Country:
    United States
    It's nice to see that ppl are working to improve the cIOS's since wanky has dropped the ball on it. I doubt he will ever release anything for the wii anymore...which is kind of a good things since he's messed up on the last few releases one way or another.
     
  16. chop

    Member chop GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    He's to busy bricking PS3' to worry about the Wii.
     
  17. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned!

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,336
    Country:
    United States
    LOL. Amen to that
     
  18. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    no flaming here my friend, just plain and simple science facts

    ok wanky might be a little,

    but thats it
     
  19. davebaol
    OP

    Member davebaol GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    Italy
    @Everyone
    Poll added to the 1st post.
    Let me know if d2x worked for you.

    @XFlak
    I bet you have never seen a poll like that. [​IMG]
     
  20. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned!

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,336
    Country:
    United States
    I already did that. Thank you for the suggestion.
    Yeah, Wanky got quite the beating from me on twitter. He's become mysteriously silent since then. LOL

    Great job to all of you working on this.

    Too bad there isn't a way to get usb loaders working on both USB ports. Probably is possible but I'm sure those who do know how to do it won't care enough to take the time. I guess it really isn't necessary anyways.
     

Share This Page