Hacking cIOSX rev21d2x: Yet Another Hot Fix!!!!

Did d2x work for you?

  • Yes, I had an issue with the official cios and d2x fixed it

    Votes: 93 48.2%
  • Yes, but everything was already working for me with the official cios

    Votes: 82 42.5%
  • No, and I posted what goes wrong

    Votes: 9 4.7%
  • No, and I won't report what goes wrong because I am a troll

    Votes: 9 4.7%

  • Total voters
    193

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,980
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
10,113
Country
Cyprus
the base IOS is hardcoded, to modify ModMii to use a different base for cIOS249[56]-d2x (for example), you need to modify lines 26933 - 26950. It's pretty straight forward and shouldn't take more than a minute, but if you need help let me know :D

edit:
if the new base IOSs tik and tmd is different than the old base IOSs (or if the old cIOSs tik\tmd is different from the new cIOSs), then new diff files to patch the tik\tmd may also be needed
 

Supercool330

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
752
Trophies
1
XP
1,130
Country
United States
Basically I've modified v8 final to support vWii bases 56, 57 and 58.
Everything will be publically available in the next days.

the only uncommited source I have on my pc is just an attempt to support games through NFS.
WOOT. Way to go Davebaol, you are so awesome. Also, NFS (or FTP) support would be bloody awesome.
 

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,005
Trophies
1
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,339
Country
United States
the base IOS is hardcoded, to modify ModMii to use a different base for cIOS249[56]-d2x (for example), you need to modify lines 26933 - 26950. It's pretty straight forward and shouldn't take more than a minute, but if you need help let me know :D

edit:
if the new base IOSs tik and tmd is different than the old base IOSs (or if the old cIOSs tik\tmd is different from the new cIOSs), then new diff files to patch the tik\tmd may also be needed
I don't see how this could work with ModMii, since you can't download the base from NUS like you could with the Wii IOS.
 

mike333

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
718
Trophies
0
XP
258
Country
Poland
Hey XFlak how long :)
It was just an attempt. Games start loading but there are random read errors due to some problems with NFS implementation on ARM and I gave up months ago. TBH I think I won't try to fix it.
My best friend davebaol lets think about NFS for a while.
When someday this feature see daylight it might get lots of pain for regular users.

All You need is simple service/daemon/whatever which provide:
- list of all isoes in current directory (+subdirs), list of: filename, size and something like handle_id for every file
- one request type called read_sector(handle_id, sector_number)

That is all I believe.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,980
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
10,113
Country
Cyprus
that's fine, u know some of the first rev's of modmii used cios installers instead of installing cios WADs? Over time I just replaced a lot of things with the "Install WADs" step. Besides, I never once said I would or would not be adding support for the WiiU to ModMii.... unless you count one of my very old changelog jokes, lol
 
  • Like
Reactions: mike333

davebaol

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
912
Trophies
0
XP
192
Country
Italy
@XFlak
If I release a new d2x vWii edition as a featured download on google code it will appear as a d2x beta in ModMii.:unsure:
But ModMii can't build it properly and people will try in vain any kind of shit to make it work. :shit:
Man, I don't want to be falsely tagged as the one who bricked a lot of vWii around the world. :glare:
So I won't release new d2x before this is fixed somehow. Hope you understand. :)
I think there are 3 options:
1. Fix ModMii code to make it build d2x vWii edition properly
2. Prevent ModMii from listing d2x vWii edition featured downloads
3. Show a warning to clarify that ModMii can't build d2x vWii edition properly.

Let me know what you think. You can find me on wiiflow irc channel too.:discuss:
 

Rapper_skull

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
208
Country
Italy
@XFlak
If I release a new d2x vWii edition as a featured download on google code it will appear as a d2x beta in ModMii.:unsure:
But ModMii can't build it properly and people will try in vain any kind of shit to make it work. :shit:
Man, I don't want to be falsely tagged as the one who bricked a lot of vWii around the world. :glare:
So I won't release new d2x before this is fixed somehow. Hope you understand. :)
I think there are 3 options:
1. Fix ModMii code to make it build d2x vWii edition properly
2. Prevent ModMii from listing d2x vWii edition featured downloads
3. Show a warning to clarify that ModMii can't build d2x vWii edition properly.

Let me know what you think. You can find me on wiiflow irc channel too.:discuss:

Actually it is a problem of ModMii. XFlak could update ModMii to skip downloads on 2dx Google Code that has vWii in name.
 

nitrate

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
25
Trophies
1
Age
54
XP
69
Country
United States
Hmmm... maybe that's the better idea. Since it may be possible that some people anyway do some fail handling with the d2x vWii release - i.e.: installing it anyway on a standard Wii and wondering then why it bricked the console.
 

davebaol

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
912
Trophies
0
XP
192
Country
Italy
Nah I don't want to mantain 2 different projects having identical source code.
It's just a matter of bases used at install time.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: 128GB SanDisk was like $150 at that time also