cIOS249rev15 and GC backup launching...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by OOPMan, Jan 4, 2010.

Jan 4, 2010
  1. OOPMan
    OP

    Newcomer OOPMan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    South Africa
    I've just noticed that GC backup launching no longer seems to work with cIOS249 r15. I'm guessing this is related to the issue that prevents NeoGamma and SoftChip from working as well.

    I was wondering, though, if I installed an older cIOS to my USB NAND and launch my Gamecube backup launcher from there via Triiforce would things work?
     
  2. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    GC backups are related to cMIOS,not cIOS if i remember correctly [​IMG]
     
  3. oneleggedjack

    Member oneleggedjack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    yes you need a custom MIOS for GC Backups
     
  4. comfaithgenesisr

    Member comfaithgenesisr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Internet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well gc backups work for me and im on rev15
    have you installed mios and tested a gamcube game (backup)?
     
  5. OOPMan
    OP

    Newcomer OOPMan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    South Africa
    Hmmmmmmm, okay so it's not cIOS 15 then. GC backups used to work for me. But sometime between now and 1 month ago they stopped work, not sure when or why.

    I guess I'll try re-installing the cmios and see if I can get it working.
     
  6. comfaithgenesisr

    Member comfaithgenesisr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Internet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah try that also after you install mios rev 3 then mios patcher 4 or 10 then if you have the extras in cioscorp 3.6 install the wiigator or the other one...
    see if that works
     
  7. OOPMan
    OP

    Newcomer OOPMan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    South Africa
    Nope, it's definitely cIOS 249 r15 that's the problem. This morning I tested again using NeoGamma and SoftChip R99 to try and load a GC backup via cIOS 249 and it doesn't work. Sits and spins for ages and can't read the game disc.

    I then re-installed cIOS 249 r14 and tested again and the GC games worked fine.
     
  8. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    Aren't those loaders incompatible with CIOS r15 ?
    In that case, there are big chances that neither Wii or GC backups (through cMIOS reloading) can be loaded with that cIOS.
     
  9. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    yar neogamma has no support for cios15
     
  10. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    true. that's why for neogamma users rev14 and below should be used.
     
  11. OOPMan
    OP

    Newcomer OOPMan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    South Africa
    Indeed. Well, given uLoader's burgeoning superiority I'm gong to use that for Wii backups and retain NeoGamma for GC backups :-)
     
  12. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    yes yes. uLoader and neogamma are exactly what i am using right now. never failed for all my games including monster hunter trii and GH5 which uLoader only can play without issues...as far as i know.
     

Share This Page