cIOS249r7.wad????

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Col70, Jul 3, 2009.

Jul 3, 2009

cIOS249r7.wad???? by Col70 at 10:22 PM (1,259 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    a major noob mate of mine thinks that he may have installed or uninstalled cIOS249r7.wad using wad manager. Now his wii wont boot new games via usb, disc channel boots 'some' games via disc channel - but in black and white and when he tried to reinstall cIOScorp, it wouldnt run as it was missing cIOS4 and cIOS7???? WTF???

    Anyone know what cIOS249r7.wad install/uninstall would do.

    He's on 3.2e PAL, softmod with cIOS38r10... or was?!
     
  2. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    anyone?
     
  3. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    That would be cIOS rev7 in wad form. If he uninstalled it, whatever cIOS he had in IOS249 would probably have gotten uninstalled (meaning that rev10 he had installed).

    Also he most likely did not have cIOS38 rev10 installed as rev10 was based off of IOS36. Have him run a cIOS installer again like cIOS36 rev10 or cIOS38 rev13a or something.

    And tell him to never do anything involving uninstalling and IOS in the same sentence ever again. That's the kinda crap that will get him bricked. Especially if said IOS's are CIOSCORP wad's. Make sure you also tell him you uninstall that by installing normal IOS's OVER them not uninstalling them in case he ever wants to and thinks uninstalling may be a remotely bright idea.
     
  4. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Just get the installer for cIOS rev10 and hope that your buddy knows how to use it.
     
  5. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so reinstalling cIOS249r7 as a wad would not fix the problem? (black and white screens etc)
     
  6. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so reinstalling cIOS249r7 as a wad would not fix the problem? (black and white screens etc)
     
  7. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so reinstalling cIOS249r7 as a wad would not fix the problem? (black and white screens etc)

    Posts merged

    dont you just hate it when you get 3 replies - grrr
     
  8. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    That would install rev7 on the system which doesn't work with USB loaders. You can reinstall that using a vulnerable IOS and then run the rev10 installer because it would try to use IOS249.
     
  9. Col70
    OP

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so let me get this right... if I reinstall rev7 via wad then reinstall rev 10 by the dol installer using hbc this should get the wii back to the state it was before?
     
  10. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Presumably. Not sure what else he did on it, but if he did just get rid of IOS249 then installing that wad back would get it back on the system and then the rev10 .dol installer will use that IOS249 to install itself onto it. So at least your backup loaders/usb loaders would work after that. The only other problem would possibly be if he screwed with other IOS's reinstalling CIOSCORP or something.

    One step at a time though, just do that and your cIOS should be fine at least.
     

Share This Page