cios needed for dvd backups

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by snap_0714, Feb 15, 2011.

Feb 15, 2011

cios needed for dvd backups by snap_0714 at 3:22 AM (1,593 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. snap_0714
    OP

    Newcomer snap_0714 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    hi exactly what do i need to do or install to run a backup dvd. dont give me the BS just use usb loader. i am using that but some games i prefer running on dvds.
    i used modmii virgin style. all cioses updated. running at 4.3u.
    i cannot run it on the disc channel. when i used darkcorp 1.1 i was able to run it on the disc channel i rather use modmii cause it has all the updated cios. so what do i need to run it on the disc channel?
     
  2. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The only way to run it from the disk channel is with darkcorp, but I wouldn't recommend that. Instead just use neogamma
     
  3. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Newer Wii systems cannot run DVD backups. If you do not have a newer system, then using cIOS249 with the latest version of NeoGamma should suffice. If you do have a newer Wii, then USB loading is your only option.
     
  4. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    If you still favor running game backups via the official disk channel you can install DarkCorp which is the successor to CIOSCorp. As DarkCorp in essence replaces all official IOS
     
  5. scooby74029

    Member scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    oklahoma, USA
    Country:
    United States
    if you really want games running off the disc channel get priiloader and then under settings set the system menu ios to a cios and then bam disc games from the disc channel
     
  6. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, snap!
    You cant run backups from the disc channel only using Modmii.
    Only way to do that, snap, is by installing DarkCorp.
    Now, if you use Neogamma, problem solved.
    You can install Neogamma as an app from the HBC, or install as a channel from a Neogamma.wad file.
     
  7. snap_0714
    OP

    Newcomer snap_0714 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    thanks to everyone. i guess its a matter of preference. i just recently used modmii and found out that it was so easy to use. but then again darkcorp is good too. as long as it installs everything and then i can update the other cioses. i guess ill mix and match. as for the GX loader yea i know it can read backups there. but its wierd. with modmii it will not load the games. it can read it. it will let me install it but it will not play. when i install the game to a usb drive it works. but on darkcorp i can play it on both the channel and the usb loader. i used neogama before. i didnt like the design of the channel haha. i have never tried the priiloader thing though. is that even safe? i only use priiloader to stop updates and to avoid the health screen
     
  8. IceIceBird

    Member IceIceBird GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    Sweden
    You could hack your games before burning them to use a cIOS instead of the normal IOS's
     
  9. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Instead of usbloader GX, try configurable USB loader, or wiiflow.
    Also, you know there are tons of different Neogamma channels, right?
    You can find a few nice ones here, or you could look on YouTube for one. If it is outdated just use customizemii to make it a forwarder
     
  10. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, it will only show the banner. Loading the game is not possible.
     
  11. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Unless you enable the system menu hack that boots games using IOS 249
     
  12. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, it will only show you the banner.
     
  13. Donkey Plonk

    Member Donkey Plonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Personal preference and all that so fair enough but why would you prefer to run certain games via disc instead of usb?
    Once loaded the experience is identical with the exception of usb being quicker.
    Is this just for the games like MPT so you get the proper experience of selecting which game you want to play in a menu rather than loading the dol file? You could do the same with sneek, this would save you hacking your wii to pieces with darkcorp. I've never liked the whole hacking every ios idea, its just asking for trouble
     
  14. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    No, It works. I have used it. You have to load the system menu from a cios, and enable the system menu hack that boots games from IOS 249. I have done it and it works as well as rebooting through neogamma.
     

Share This Page