Hacking .cia I installed on emunand showing up on sysnand?

Sobekk

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
51
Country
United States
Hi all.

I have an 8.1j n3ds running 9.5j emunand.

I installed mh4u via a cia file in emunand which works perfectly. However, whenever I turn on my system (before performing the OoT exploit), I see that there is a mh4u icon sitting there in my sysnand home screen.

I've kind of just been avoiding it and going about my business because I'm kind of scared of it tbh. Was wondering why this appeared there though. Should I be worried?
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,118
Country
Antarctica
Leaving it there won't hurt anything. If you try to start it on sysNAND, it'll simply say you need to redownload it from the eShop (meaning it failed signature checks, which Gateway patches).
 

codychaosx

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
589
Trophies
0
Location
Wisconsin
XP
768
Country
United States
so if your sysnand is linked with your emunand and you download oot from eshop on emunand will it show on sysnand (and work since it should pass all of the signature checks)?
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,660
Trophies
2
XP
7,998
Country
Tuvalu
i'm not sure why you are 'scared' and 'worried' like you say.
if you honestly are, you need to become more brave.
 

TheZander

1337
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
2,125
Trophies
2
Location
Level 7
XP
3,608
Country
United States
i'm not sure why you are 'scared' and 'worried' like you say.
if you honestly are, you need to become more brave.


thats easy said man...

sometimes i can't sleep at night, toss and turn. worrying about my sysnand on my ds.

try waking up in cold sweats after the most vivid nightmare about your emunand freezing.
 

kheldar

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
512
Trophies
0
XP
381
Country
Okay here's another question almost related to this : I unlinked my sysNAND from my emuNAND but whenever I set up an internet connection in emuNAND it appears on sysNAND and if I enable WiFi on emunand but disable it on sysNAND next time I boot into sysnand I see that WiFi is enabled. Is this supposed to happen?
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
Okay here's another question almost related to this : I unlinked my sysNAND from my emuNAND but whenever I set up an internet connection in emuNAND it appears on sysNAND and if I enable WiFi on emunand but disable it on sysNAND next time I boot into sysnand I see that WiFi is enabled. Is this supposed to happen?
1. Not supposed to happen. Something is not right. Maybe you have Rabbids in your 3DS trying desperately to call home.
2. Wireless/nfc communications is a global system setting because there is no physical switch. So it is working as designed.

Did you pull the mSD when your formatted sysnand to unlink? You can try again.
 

BobDoleOwndU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
1,178
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
1,988
Country
Canada
Okay here's another question almost related to this : I unlinked my sysNAND from my emuNAND but whenever I set up an internet connection in emuNAND it appears on sysNAND and if I enable WiFi on emunand but disable it on sysNAND next time I boot into sysnand I see that WiFi is enabled. Is this supposed to happen?

Do you mean the actual wifi of the 3DS or a connection you've set up? If the former, that's normal; the wifi will stay on or off between NANDs. If the latter, delete the connection from sysNAND, and if your NANDs are unlinked, you should have no issues.
 

kheldar

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
512
Trophies
0
XP
381
Country
1. Not supposed to happen. Something is not right. Maybe you have Rabbids in your 3DS trying desperately to call home.
2. Wireless/nfc communications is a global system setting because there is no physical switch. So it is working as designed.

Did you pull the mSD when your formatted sysnand to unlink? You can try again.

Yes I'm pretty sure I did. I was pretty thorough. Also if my system wasn't unlinked I'd have to unwrap CIAs everytime I boot into emuNAND wouldn't I ? Because It doesn't happen.

Do you mean the actual wifi of the 3DS or a connection you've set up? If the former, that's normal; the wifi will stay on or off between NANDs. If the latter, delete the connection from sysNAND, and if your NANDs are unlinked, you should have no issues.

The actual WiFi connection of my N3DS on sysNAND gets enabled after I turn it on on emuNAND and the first connection of my emunand gets replicated to sysnand and it connects to internet.
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
Yes I'm pretty sure I did. I was pretty thorough. Also if my system wasn't unlinked I'd have to unwrap CIAs everytime I boot into emuNAND wouldn't I ? Because It doesn't happen.

The actual WiFi connection of my N3DS on sysNAND gets enabled after I turn it on on emuNAND and the first connection of my emunand gets replicated to sysnand and it connects to internet.
The wifi enabled in both is to be expected. The copying of the Internet connection is not. I don't know if there is such a thing but it sounds like you are only partially unlinked.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kheldar

Maximilious

*whistles his distinct tune*
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Messages
2,570
Trophies
0
XP
1,834
Country
United States
Yes I'm pretty sure I did. I was pretty thorough. Also if my system wasn't unlinked I'd have to unwrap CIAs everytime I boot into emuNAND wouldn't I ? Because It doesn't happen.
The wifi enabled in both is to be expected. The copying of the Internet connection is not. I don't know if there is such a thing but it sounds like you are only partially unlinked.



This happens to me too, it's no worry. You just need to remember that any settings you change in emuNAND will get copied to your sysNAND. The more important thing to remember is if you EVER change your wifi settings in emuNAND immediatley once you get booted to sysNAND on exit, just go in and delete them. Don't disable, just delete it. It will still be present in emuNAND but sysNAND will not.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kheldar

VerseHell

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2014
Messages
3,070
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,573
Country
France
Okay here's another question almost related to this : I unlinked my sysNAND from my emuNAND but whenever I set up an internet connection in emuNAND it appears on sysNAND and if I enable WiFi on emunand but disable it on sysNAND next time I boot into sysnand I see that WiFi is enabled. Is this supposed to happen?

For your first problem, fill your sysnand with 3 dummy connections, and it won't happen again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kheldar

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol