Chronic Bricking?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zant, Jun 12, 2009.

Jun 12, 2009

Chronic Bricking? by zant at 5:21 PM (2,116 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. zant
    OP

    Member zant GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys. This issue has been going on for a while now, i turn on my wii and it freezes on the health and warning screen, so im thinking its banner bricking itself? the time before it bricked itself, i was just flipping channels in the system menu. I was on super smash bros injected, it loads fine, next was sin and punishment, which was fine, i went back to ssb, then backwards to the homebrew channel, voila "The system files are corrupted"! Weird. So i turn on my wii again, everything is fine. Shut it off, went to bed, next day find that i can't boot it up with my wiimote, and when i press my power button, health warning screen freeze. Now i can only access my system menu by switching to ios 36 in preloader, then back to ios 60. Here is a list of what i have installed:
    Cioscorp v1
    CIOS rev 10
    CIOS60BF.wad
    custom injected channels as well as regular vc games (although this issue occured also when there were no vc games installed, only HBC)

    So is homebrew channel causing me bricks? WTF? Also, i don't know if this is related to the disc read failure of Metroid Prime 1, and occasionally metroid prime 2 (both wii de asoubu)

    Any ideas on whats going on?
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Send your Wii to Brickaholics Anonymous.
     
  3. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The cant power on sounds like a bluetooth modue fault.
     
  4. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    good freaking lord, lol. sounds like it could be a mess of things.


    sounds like

    a-either you installed bad wad(s) or your system menu is corrupt
    b-your bluetooth module may be dying/dead
     
  5. zant
    OP

    Member zant GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    United States
    no its not the remote, cuz my other 2 do the same things as well. I have no idea what could have corrupted it. Cioscorp maybe? Never had a problem with it in 3.2u but this random bricking things started when i updated to 4.0u

    Is there a wad validator to check if the packages are not corrupt? its a good thing i have preloader and bootmii installed.
     
  6. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The bluetooth module is in the wii.
     
  7. zant
    OP

    Member zant GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    United States
    ok, but when i was on 3.2 yesterday, the thing booted just fine with the remote. im sure its a software thing (IOS related). the thing never fails to boot on 3.2 or 3.3 or 3.4, just 4.0
     
  8. zant
    OP

    Member zant GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    United States
    WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i just turned on my wii manually, and guess what? Boots up fine. And it plays Metroid prime 1? WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON? LOL


    but seriously, what is going on? its selectively working?!?! Why? What is the cause?
     
  9. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just spat coffee and some came out my nose. Yes, I am simple
     
  10. zant
    OP

    Member zant GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    United States
    think i should send it to bushing or waninkoko lol?
     
  11. zant
    OP

    Member zant GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    United States
    and now its not working again............
     
  12. funnystory

    Banned funnystory Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,472
    Country:
    United States
    i think your blue tooth module is broken or dying as others have said.Sometimes people like to hear things more than once.Like me when im bieng stuburn
     
  13. zant
    OP

    Member zant GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    United States
    why would it be broken or dying? it just updated to vanilla 4.0, and it works perfectly now, but no backup support.
     
  14. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    It was perhaps your IOS files. In theory the update might have 'fixed' it by installing proper versions of IOS.
     
  15. Helsionium

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Well, if you couldn't power your Wii on with your Wiimote, this surely must have been a hardware issue, right? When the Wii is off, no software is running, therefore it can't malfunction, but hardware can fail at all times.

    EDIT: I just realized that this only applies if standby mode is disabled, of course. IOS continues to run when the Wii is in standby mode.
     
  16. funnystory

    Banned funnystory Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,472
    Country:
    United States
    wait i cant power on my wii with my wiimote.Does it have to be in standby mode for me to be able to do that?
     
  17. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    I wish I had a chronic brick ;D
     
  18. Helsionium

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Powering on the Wii with your Wiimote is possible regardless of whether standby mode is enabled. If it doesn't work at all, the bluetooth module might be dead or dying. If it works when the Wii is completely off, but doesn't work in standby mode, the IOS (I guess System Menu's IOS) might be damaged.
     
  19. supagusti

    Member supagusti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Austria
    Hear the wise words of the prophet - he is speaking the truth [​IMG]
     

Share This Page