Chiip LED never comes on

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by TheVirus, Mar 28, 2007.

Mar 28, 2007

Chiip LED never comes on by TheVirus at 6:13 AM (1,028 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. TheVirus
    OP

    Member TheVirus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Uganda
    Sorry for creating another thread, I cannot rename the title of my previous one, and this is unrelated to the programmer.

    I fixed the programmer and avrdude tells me it flashed fine. I now installed the chip and the LED doesn't come on at all and all media I've thrown at it says 'Disc cannot be read, please read Help for more info' or something along those lines. It's like I'm inserting a non-game CD/DVD into the Wii. Originals work fine but backups do not. I am using Memorex DVD+R bitset to DVD-ROM burned at 4x.
     
  2. TheVirus
    OP

    Member TheVirus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Uganda
    When creating the socket for the Wii, are you looking down at the socket (where the chip sits) or underneath (where you solder). I'm looking from above with the notch at the top. The connections on the drive are perfectly fine and intact. I don't get it.
     
  3. blueskies

    Member blueskies GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Country:
    United States
    on the circuit diagrams, you are looking at the top of all the sockets. the one that is confusing is the numbering for the 25pin connector. that picture with the numbering shows it from the backside, where you are soldering to. maybe that's backwards.

    if no light comes on, check the ground and vcc lines, or the connections on the chip itself (mine came loose a few times)
     
  4. TheVirus
    OP

    Member TheVirus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Uganda
    I checked them and redid them to the socket a few times. Here's the thing.

    AVRDude in DOS flashes it. TwinAVR gives me an LPT error. PonyProg gives me a communication error but I don't know what I'm doing in that.
     
  5. dohclude

    Member dohclude GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    The Patch Walks!
    Country:
    United States
    You probably do not have full contact from one or more of your wires. Take the system back apart and check all of your connections. make sure that you do not have any shorts (wires touching, wandering solder, etc.) Use a magnifyer and a flashlight and look at your connections up close. I'm certain that if you've made it this far, you are capable of tackling this one, probably just some small detail overlooked. Happy Soldering! [​IMG]
     
  6. TheVirus
    OP

    Member TheVirus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Uganda
    I've looked about 5 times. I really don't want to resolder them because it's a scary experience. I also don't know why I can't flash with any other program.
     
  7. TheVirus
    OP

    Member TheVirus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Uganda
    Just checked, I don't get it. Not working. It might very well be my media, I don't know, but the LED definitely doesn't light up. I'll take a picture of it tomorrow.
     
  8. dohclude

    Member dohclude GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    The Patch Walks!
    Country:
    United States
    are you sure that the LED is installed the right way? there is a + leg and - leg on those things (with the + usually being the longer one.) On some occasions I've had LED's that were DOA. have an extra lying around that you could try out? are you using a 220 OHM resistor, and a 100nF cap? It's also not uncommon for an Atmega8 chip to die on you after being heated up by soldering your whatnots to it's legs. Just trying to cover all bases here. I wish you good luck, you will be happy once you get it working.
     
  9. TheVirus
    OP

    Member TheVirus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Uganda
    So, I took your advice and checked it again. Like I said, everything looked fine. So I looked back at the diagram and I noticed something.

    ...


    ....


    ...........

    I had VCC connected to Ground. THEY ARE LIKE RIGHT NEXT TO EACHOTHER. No wonder there was no power. Well, it works fine now. Thanks for making me look again, you get a cybercookie.
     

Share This Page