chiip issues

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by rrburkha, Mar 21, 2007.

Mar 21, 2007

chiip issues by rrburkha at 12:08 AM (949 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. rrburkha
    OP

    Newcomer rrburkha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    ok, i just installed a chiip on my wii (DMS chip set, ATmega8) and it is not working. it still runs originals but the two backups that i have tried do not work. i checked all of the connections and they appear to be all right. also, when the system is on the led that i hooked up to the ic socket does not appear to light up but it may just be that i cant see it.

    i used avrdude to program it, but for some reason avrdude is not working for me right now. when i run the command that i used last time, i get an error that says "'avrdude' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file"

    one more thing, it may just be my imagination, but it seems like it is taking longer to read my originals leading me to believe that maybe the dvd drive is running at 2x as a result of the chiip.

    i used memorex dvd+r with dvd-rom booktype and burned at 4x

    any info would be appreciated
     
  2. Fatal

    Newcomer Fatal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, if your LED is not lighting then something is probably wrong with your connections. Did you solder to the right points on the chip? The Chiip schematics are done looking at the part from the top. If you thought it was looking from the bottom you may have your connections reversed. That would explain why the LED doesn't light up. If they are all right then check and see if they are connected well.

    As for avrdude, did you ever successfully program the Chiip? If the only thing you've gotten is that error, then of course your Chiip isn't going to work.
    Try this:
    Goto the downloads section of http://chiip.descrambler.de
    Download AVRDude Batch files & Chiip Beta 4
    Download Chiip-v1_0_beta5-atmega8.zip
    Extract AVRDude Batch files & Chiip Beta 4
    Extract Chiip-v1_0_beta5-atmega8.hex to the same folder as the AVRdude batch files
    Right click on program.bat, then click edit
    Change the first line from
    avrdude -p m8 -c sp12 -U flash:w:chiip_firmware_v1_0_beta_4.hex -U lfuse:w:0xE3:m
    to
    avrdude -p m8 -c sp12 -U flash:w:chiip-v1_0_beta5-atmega8.hex -U lfuse:w:0xE3:m
    Save program.bat
    Run giveio.bat
    Run program.bat
    It should program fine then.
     
  3. rrburkha
    OP

    Newcomer rrburkha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    ok, so it turns out that im just an idiot. i put the chip in the socket backwards and i didnt notice until just now. it works like a charm now so im off to play tiger woods. thanks for the help
     
  4. RobertsD

    Member RobertsD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Haha, I did that when I went to program it for the first time. I took the programmer apart, checked everything, then tried again. I still got the communication error, then I looked and realized I had it in backwards [​IMG]
     

Share This Page