?

User experience

Poll closed Jun 11, 2020.
  1. good

    21 vote(s)
    65.6%
  2. decent

    8 vote(s)
    25.0%
  3. terrible

    3 vote(s)
    9.4%
  4. 32 voter(s)
  1. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,231
    Country:
    France
    Some (very rare?) PS4 games also has different behavior based on where you press the touchpad button (each corner can be assigned to a different button event), while some game only has left side and right side differences.
    4 buttons touchpad (corners) : Killzone: Shadow Fall
    2 buttons touchpad (left/right) : Diablo 3, Star Ocean: Till The End Of Time,
    1 button : most games!
    of course some games also use the swipe/touch without pressing/movement effect (Dreams, Detroid, Risk of rain, etc. )

    If you implement touchscreen, I suppose the "touch sensitive" without press could be the center of the switch screen, while each corner could be the button event with "touch" corner coordinate sent to the game?

    edit:
    I found this, here : http://gimx.fr/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2741
    [​IMG]

    showing it can detect 2 fingers, at different corners at the same time.
    x- (left side), x+ (right side).
    that picture's HID config seems to only have 2 sides triggers, not 4 corners triggers.
     
    Last edited by Cyan, May 9, 2020
    H0neyBadger likes this.
  2. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,736
    Country:
    United States
    Can you do key combinations? For example, minus = touch press, hold R1 + minus = PS button?
     
  3. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,231
    Country:
    France
    holding R1 could do other things in the game you wouldn't want. event if it's holding minus first, it could be difficult to access quickly ingame.
    If you can detect touch zone on the switch, it could act as buttons (4 touchpad button event actually).
    the NDS and 3DS had lot of games using virtual buttons located on the touch screen to expand the available inputs.


    The touch also detect if there are 1 or 2 fingers on the touchpad. (I don't know any game using two fingers, probably pinch and zoom out? if someone knows one it would be nice to help debug/test)
    Assigning only one physical trigger (R1+minus) without touch info will not be working in all games.
     
    Last edited by Cyan, May 9, 2020
  4. H0neyBadger

    OP H0neyBadger Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    France
    yes it 's possible, but as Cyan says some key combination might be use by the game itself.
    I'm not a big fan of key combination. (maybe - and + can be can be use together)

    I personally never used the share button (except by accident).
    for good design. the more a function is used, the easier its access should be.
     
  5. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,096
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From a quick look at the main chiaki repository source & issues, it doesn't look like chiaki supports detailed touchpad support in terms of touch location, swipes etc, so far - it just supports it as a plain button. This will work for a lot of games but obviously there's a few games that it's not gonna be able to support until that stuff is added.

    I just sent you a pull request for touchscreen-as-touchpad-button support, works with The Last Of Us at least B-)
     
  6. H0neyBadger

    OP H0neyBadger Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    France
    I merged your changes on https://github.com/H0neyBadger/chiaki/releases/tag/v0.0.4-switch
    thank you a lot for your contribution.
     
    KuraudoSutoraifu and hippy dave like this.
  7. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,096
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're very welcome, thanks for the quick merge & release!

    Really appreciate this app, it's what I've been waiting for for ages. With overclock it seems really smooth & playable (haven't tried it for very long yet, but it's looking ready for more extensive gameplay tests). And now I can play TLOU, which is my priority, replaying to refresh myself before the sequel comes out B-)
     
  8. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,096
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BTW it would still be very feasible to use multiple zones on the Switch's touchscreen, so as well as emulating the touchpad button, you could have an area for the share button, and one to quit the app (or open the app's menu, once it has one). Not my priority, but I could look at it sometime if it was wanted.

    Speaking of quitting the app, I thought maybe if it can detect when the stream ends (PS4 goes to sleep or turns off, or connection lost maybe), the app could quit.
     
  9. TimeDevouncer

    TimeDevouncer GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Spain
    It's possible to add the wake up/turn on functions?
     
  10. H0neyBadger

    OP H0neyBadger Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    France
    any help is welcome. ultimately, I m not sure to have enough time to work on it.
    So if someone appreciate this project, feel free to take the lead on it if you want to.

    this feature exists but it's no longer working. feel free to push the issue on the upstream project. I keep an eye on it.
    Do you know if the wakup call is available on the official sony remote play (I do not have windows at home to try)
     
    TimeDevouncer likes this.
  11. TimeDevouncer

    TimeDevouncer GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Spain
    Yeah, i try the remote play with lineageos-switch and wake up works.

    Thanks
     
    H0neyBadger likes this.
  12. __djdash91__

    __djdash91__ Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    what is the minimum overclock you can do to get rid of the graphical glitches?
     
  13. H0neyBadger

    OP H0neyBadger Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    France
    I personally do not recommend oveclock.
    Your nintendo switch is not designed to handle those frequencies.
    You may damage your device !

    I m actively investigating this problem.
    I do not know yet when it will be solved.

    sorry for not responding to your question.
    Now, you have been warned, if you really want to proceed please check on page 3.
     
  14. Djakku

    Djakku Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks for this homebrew.

    I struggled a bit in the beginning and had both crash and green screen on different occasions.

    When the keyboard popped up I didn't realise that I had the put the pin code to add the device.
    Once I passed that stage and the app successfully connect to the PS4. I quit then relaunch the app.
    It crashed.
    I looked at the config and then

    removed the [PS4-XXX]
    From the config file and I just have replaced it with my ps4 name [myps4name] in the config.

    So there's was only one [PS4-xxx] config.

    Would it be possible that you had the same issue @hippy dave ?

    It works well at 720p but the is a noticable audio lag.
    I have been playing persona 5 on 540p and so far it's working great.

    I'm amazed that the hombrew works fine when launching from the album icon in switch but now that i have fixed the green screen / crash issue, i use the title redirect.
     
    Last edited by Djakku, May 9, 2020
    Ty_ and H0neyBadger like this.
  15. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,096
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I made a forwarder, just so I can have overclock set for this app every time without affecting other homebrew. Forwarders can apparently cause issues in some cases (eg I know there are potential problems with retroarch), so try at your own risk. If you have any issues while using it, see if you get them without using the forwarder before reporting.

    e: it runs /switch/chiaki/chiaki.nro
     

    Attached Files:

  16. TimeDevouncer

    TimeDevouncer GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    Spain
    Thank you, runs perfectly. I played 1 hour to FFVIIR and no problem.
     
    Rahkeesh and hippy dave like this.
  17. AD2076

    AD2076 GBAtemp Regular
    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2019
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Italy
    Last edited by AD2076, May 10, 2020
  18. H0neyBadger

    OP H0neyBadger Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    France
    Hello AD2076,
    I used a non-standard socket config
    https://github.com/H0neyBadger/chiaki/blob/switch-test/switch/src/main.cpp#L65
    Chiaki lib relies on high rate UDP / threads communication.
    so I had to customize it. (it took me a while to figure out the source of this problem)

    I m amusing that you have no logs because of this issue ?

    are you running it form Homebrew applet mode ?
     
  19. AD2076

    AD2076 GBAtemp Regular
    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2019
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Italy
    No logs
    I am not running from applet mode. In applet mode it fails on titleID 010000000000100D
    Should I update HOS?
     
    Last edited by AD2076, May 10, 2020
  20. Djakku

    Djakku Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Shouldn't you either remove the line with psn_online_id or
    psn_account_id

    Depending on you ps4 firmware?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - homebrew, Chiaki, remote