Cheapest solution to go online with the DS?

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by Extreme Coder, Apr 5, 2008.

1. Extreme Coder
    OP

Member Extreme Coder GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Egypt
    So I decided to get my DS online, after waiting so long. I'm a noob in W-Fi, so please bear with me..
    So far from what I've gathered, you either need a Wi-Fi router, or a USB dongle. I'm trying to go with cheaper, so I think router is out of the question.
    What I want to know though, is, would any normal USB Wi-Fi dongle work? Or do I need special ones made for this purpose, like the Nintendo one, or like the ones on DealExtreme?
    My credit card company has stopped my credit card for 3 months, so I want something to buy locally(such as a normal USB dongle)..

Thanks!

2. TheWingless

Member TheWingless Wafuu~

United States
    I don't think Nintendo sells the USB dongle anymore, but you could try out the WiFi MAX from Datel. I saw a few of those being sold at a few stores.

3. Extreme Coder
    OP

Egypt
    Yeah, but you're in the USA, you can get practically anything locally :/

4. Mars

Member Mars Radioactive Propaganda Minister

United States
    You don't have to purchase the official dongle. A third-party one might work, but it would be harder to set up. It is not guaranteed to work, though most likely it will.
    Considering your situation though, just go ahead and buy a third-party adapter.

5. Bob Evil

Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

United Kingdom
    Yes, any dongle will do.

6. Extreme Coder
    OP

Egypt
    And by any, you mean ANY? Or just the ones that work with WifiMe? (the ones with the RT2500 chipset)?

Also, would PCI Wi-Fi cards work?

7. mastermanna123

Member mastermanna123 GBAtemp Regular

United States
    The USB things dont work for me.