Changing Shop Channel Region

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by NiCK_TM, Jul 25, 2009.

Jul 25, 2009

Changing Shop Channel Region by NiCK_TM at 10:45 AM (1,900 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. NiCK_TM
    OP

    Newcomer NiCK_TM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm currently on 3.2E with latest shop channel and IOS51/61 installed.

    I've heard it's quite easy to change shop channel using AnyRegion Changer.

    So I followed a guide, deleted my shop account, then went to download AnyRegion Changer from Wiibrew. However I noticed a big, bold warning

    "The latest update to the shop channel BREAKS SHOP COUNTRY REGION CHANGING! Be warned that your Wii may be stuck in a certain region for the shop for the time being."

    So I was wondering what my options were in regards to changing shop channel region now. Will any other tools do this or should I have changed region before I updated?

    Thanks
    ~Nick.
     
  2. Kopa

    Newcomer Kopa Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    You can change the region of the Wii Shop Channel if you are in 3.2E with AnyRegion Changer. It works : I did it yesterday.
     
  3. NiCK_TM
    OP

    Newcomer NiCK_TM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for your reply.

    Were you also running the latest shop channel update? Sorry to question you I just like to be 100% sure before I make modifications to something so expensive.
     
  4. Frozen_Fish

    Member Frozen_Fish GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Australia
    Well I've been able to change my shop channels region on both 4.0 and 4.1 with the latest version so I don't think that warning is relevant anymore.
     
  5. lettuce

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah i noticed that warning too, and didnt use it because of that, but you say its fine to use it on 4.1E?, were you able to change it back to its original region again though?
     
  6. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    So..they aren't locking the shop region on the server any more? Used to be it was dead easy to change things, but then they did that and it stopped working (or at least it became a pain to change it)....but it works again now? :wtf:

    All that happens to me is that I get an error (it looked like it was going to work, but when it came time to actually connect to the shop it didn't work). That's what it's been doing...I switched back from Japanese to USA once again and the channel worked as usual.
     
  7. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    When you change the shop region you have to agree again to the TOS (Terms of Service) .. for online usage with 24CONNECT and INTERNET CONNECTION otherwise it will not connect!

    There's a setting in ANYREGION CHANGER to agree but it did not work for me ....Still had to manually agree for both!
     
  8. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    I get the same error still when I manually agree rather than just changing the setting in AnyRegion. I don't think that's the problem. It's too bad...if it worked, I'd buy Pole's Big Adventure. [​IMG]
     
  9. lettuce

    Member lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you wiped your user account from the Wii shop before changing regions??
     
  10. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    No, but he said it worked for him so I decided to try it (maybe I shouldn't have assumed he meant that it worked without any sort of trickery). I really don't want to lose my download rights.
     
  11. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry to bump an old topic, but I've a question (something that someone here might be able to answer). If I back up my NAND with BootMii, then I delete the shop channel account, get some stuff, then restore the NAND, will my account be normal, as though nothing happened? I know I'd lose what I had just bought (there are ways around that) but I was only wondering if this would restore the original US account in totality, as if the shop channel would be as it always was and let me redownload titles I've bought, etc. My worry is that something is stored on the server, and therefore it won't quite go back to normal when I restore it with BootMii.
     

Share This Page