Changing JAP Wii to English

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mwaddoups, Aug 7, 2008.

Aug 7, 2008

Changing JAP Wii to English by mwaddoups at 9:49 PM (1,831 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. mwaddoups
    OP

    Newcomer mwaddoups Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been out of the scene for a while, haven't really had too much cause to be using my Wii. I found that Waninkoko had brought out a region changer, and while I know this is a ridiculously terrible thing to have ever happened and now him and the other scene people aren't friends, is it possible to use this to change the language on a Wii. I've never used any twilight hack stuff, so this would be new to me.

    I think the procedure would go something like this:

    Install homebrew channel, custom IOS (I'm sure I can work this out)
    Use waninkoko's downgrader to downgrade from 3.2J to 3.1 or earlier.
    Use the region changer to change to US region.
    Use a semi-brick fix disc to update to 3.2U.

    Can anyone confirm this?

    My wii is modded with a fairly terrible Wiikey clone as well, is there any chance of it losing functionality if I try this (and if so, I take it this procedure is easily reversible?).

    Many thanks for any help.
     
  2. Arakon

    Member Arakon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    309
    Country:
    Germany
    use downgrader 1.1, it combines region change and downgrade. go straight to 3.2U, why downgrade to 3.1 first?
    no need to use the semi brick fix.
    your wiikey will have to have the region set to US, do that BEFORE you change the region or it will not run the setup disk afterwards.
     
  3. AlexDP

    Member AlexDP GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Italy
  4. mwaddoups
    OP

    Newcomer mwaddoups Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Argh.

    It looks like since my Wiikey won't update, I have no way of setting it to the target region required. Unless this can be done via the config disc alone?
     
  5. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Does changing this let you run import Gamecube games?
     
  6. elfsander

    Member elfsander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It should (haven't tested it) since it completely changes the region of your wii [​IMG]
     
  7. lolmao

    Newcomer lolmao Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Australia
    i believe it does
     
  8. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    works with eveything
     
  9. jbloggs

    Newcomer jbloggs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So do I understand this correctly, one can buy a Japanese Wii, use the Region changer and and make it into NTSC-U or PAL Wii with all text being in English, is that correct?
     
  10. fly_us

    Member fly_us GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    United States
    it seems possible, but no one know the consequence if when a new firmware out. And use it for the non-soft config chip like D2CKey required resoldering to change the region of the chip.
     
  11. milance

    Newcomer milance Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I have Japanese wii and I change region from ntsc-j to ntsc-u just by folowing this tutorial:
    http://wiinewz.com/forums/faqs-guides-tuto...ystem-menu.html
    My wii was 3.1j now it is 3.1u my modchip is wiinja deluxe and work just fine, just one thing bothering me is double weather and news chanel I got when install SMG.
    Sorry for bad English.
     
  12. ponard

    Newcomer ponard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Philippines
    i have a really really old jap wii, didn't know what modchip it was. if try to region change to US and my disc won't work can i revert back to Jap?
     
  13. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    yes you can

    i had that problem too so i just stuck with jap firmware
     
  14. ponard

    Newcomer ponard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Philippines
    ok, thanks!
     

Share This Page