Changing IP name address.

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Harsky, Aug 16, 2007.

Aug 16, 2007

Changing IP name address. by Harsky at 9:21 PM (1,306 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was in in IPchicken.com and I noticed the "name address" part. Is it actually possible to change that? Yes. It's because I got IP banned and I don't want to use proxies...
     
  2. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    Not that I know of. It's a hostname determined by your ISP's DNS.

    You can make an alias if you want to mask it, but if you do a lookup of your ip, it will always resolve to the real hostname unless your ISP changes it.
     
  3. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I was wondering why the home address on my laptop (where I'm banned) is different to my PC (which isn't). I guess the obvious answer is "JUST USE THE PC". But I wanted to know the answer because I'm curious.
     
  4. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    Are the laptop and PC on the same internet connection?
    I've never heard of the public IPs being different for computers on the same internet connection. Unless you've got 2 static IPs with each being forwarded to specific computers in your network.
     
  5. Rapid Dr3am

    Newcomer Rapid Dr3am Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Aledgedly I'm up my own arse
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Who's your ISP?
     
  6. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Since my dad is the payer of the internets, he chose AOL.
     
  7. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can't hurt to bump this. I know I could just go to the family PC and just browse from there but it helps to gain a bit of knowledge so I know what to do if something like this happens again (apart from learning NOT to get banned).
     
  8. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Type this into a text document and save it as a .bat file:
    Then run it.

    This will only change dynamic IPs, but is worth a shot either way.
     
  9. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    Not if you're in an internal network where a device (such as a router or broadband modem) acts as a DHCP server. /release will release your current DHCP lease, and /renew makes it request a new one from the DHCP server, however it could end up giving you the same one you had before.

    /flushdns has nothing to do with your IP, internal or external.


    Just wondering, do both computers show an aol address, even though the IPs are different? Something like 172-64.ipt.aol.com?

    I remember back when I ran a decently popular irc channel, aol IPs where pain in the ass because you couldn't ban someone on aol without banning all of aol. I think all they had to do was unplug their modem and plug it back in to get a different address.
     
  10. slvrdrgn123

    Member slvrdrgn123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Hey samutz, how do u make an alias for ur ip instead of the normal address?
     
  11. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    You can use a service, such as no-ip.org, to get a domain pointed at your address. Or if you own your own domain, you can add a DNS record for that domain to point to your IP.

    But as I said, an alias will not hide your address. It's useful for having an easy-to-remember address pointed at your own address.

    For example, I own the domain samutz.com, and I have a webserver running at home that I give my friends access to using something.samutz.com (I won't say what that something is, as it's private).
     
  12. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, my PC and laptop share the same IP address but the name address (blah blah.ipt.aol.com) is different. What is it that causes this? Oh and I got banned from the site because I constantly kept disconnecting my modem and reconnecting to get a different IP address so I guess they banned the address for my laptop.
     
  13. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    Well, that just takes me back to "I've never heard of that, it's weird.".

    Their servers should be seeing the same hostname for both computers if both have the same public IP.

    For example, I pulled this AOL ip off some random guy on irc, 172.201.137.188. If you run nslookup 172.201.137.188 in the command line, it will always resolve to acc989bc.ipt.aol.com.

    The only thing I can think of that might cause it to resolve to anything else is if AOL has a 2nd DNS entry that it can resolve to and random times. It wouldn't be specific to either computer though.
     
  14. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    What were you doing? Spamming BioShock spoilers? Because if so, I will FIND you.
     
  15. ianz

    Member ianz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    so what is this AOL? is it cable internet or phone or adsl?

    as with cable you can change your mac address and reboot your modem... that way you'll get a new ip... or you lose your internet connection till you put your mac adress back...
     
  16. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Another bump
     
  17. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    I've given up on this. [​IMG]


    All I left to say is...

    AOL SUCKS!
    Nya ha! Nya ha! Nya ha!
     
  18. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I found out that my Wii can browse to the site that banned me as well. I don't know if the ban is targeted at my laptop and if so, I wonder what I could do to change it. Or maybe it's long overdue for an upgrade
     
  19. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    Cookie ban maybe?
    I've seen some modifications for forums and such that let admin use cookies to ban a computer. However, I'm sure deleting the cookie would undo the ban.
     

Share This Page