Change of name

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by cpsc2005, Jan 16, 2003.

Jan 16, 2003

Change of name by cpsc2005 at 8:53 PM (1,243 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. cpsc2005
    OP

    cpsc2005 Newbie

    I don't know what I was thinking back in November when I registered here, but I am pretty sure I am dpm just about everywhere now. Mostly, I changed my major, so CPSC (Computer Science) has about nothing to do with me.

    I beleive with the IBF forum, it's easy to do the switch on the admin panel, at least I think so. Any admin willing to help me?

    Thanks.

    -dpm
     
  2. KiVan

    Former Staff KiVan Hooray! Member n# 1!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    2,256
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    so sorry but invision does not let you change users names... [​IMG]
     
  3. cpsc2005
    OP

    cpsc2005 Newbie

    Aww... I must have been wrong then. And I don't want to have to ask you to update the MySQL database by hand... oh well... I suppose I may just have to live with it somehow...
     
  4. neocat

    Member neocat The GbaTemp 1337 Cat of D00M!!

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,683
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    Since on the IRC coolcat was being used I started using Neocat and then in other places coolcat was taken too and now I'm neocat everywhere so it doesn't make sense being coolcat here.....

    AND NOW I JUST SEE I CAN'T CHANGE MY FRIKIN NICK!

    DAMNIT!!!!
     
  5. Dranzer

    Member Dranzer Rom-Source Admin/Rep

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    736
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    Accually you can but, the server admin. would have to edit code to allow nick changes. and thats more trouble than its worth, and if you mess up, than you risk losing the entire board unless you made a back up.
     
  6. neocat

    Member neocat The GbaTemp 1337 Cat of D00M!!

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,683
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    It's not that hard to make a backup
     
  7. coolplayer2k2
    OP

    coolplayer2k2 Newbie

    u could create another user
     
  8. dpm14

    Member dpm14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Country:
    United States
    And I did... And thus the new me was born. I know in the invision board that hobbes has, we can change user names, but we use 1.1 RC2... oh well. Now to update my profile...

    And Alt-s should send the post... not try to do SQL queries...
     
  9. dpm14

    Member dpm14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Country:
    United States
    And now for the double post so I can get my postcount back up to 21:

    Dear Lord! where did 8,000 members come from since the last time I registered...
     
  10. phuzzz

    Former Staff phuzzz Hooha!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Don't spam, man. You'll piss off people. Besides, you didn't have too many posts as it was, so it shouldn't take too long to get back up.
     
  11. dpm14

    Member dpm14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Country:
    United States
    The spamming was a joke.... I just didn't feel like editing my post.
     
  12. X-Gamer

    Former Staff X-Gamer GBATemp RPG Master

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,646
    Location:
    Prévost, Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    Now call me a retard if you want but didn't you just made a double-account? Isn't that against the rules?
     
  13. dpm14

    Member dpm14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Country:
    United States
    If it is, the admins can feel free to delete my old account. And I am sorry if I broke any rules... (I wish ignorance was an excuse, but in Texas it isn't valid defense...)
     
  14. phuzzz

    Former Staff phuzzz Hooha!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Nah, not that I know of. And at least you has told us that you made a different account.
     
  15. dpm14

    Member dpm14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, 4:16 AM... that seems a little late. I need me some GMT -6:00 going on here.

    If this isn't post whoring, I don't know what is. [​IMG]
     
  16. X-Gamer

    Former Staff X-Gamer GBATemp RPG Master

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,646
    Location:
    Prévost, Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm 6 hours too soon as well but I'm not complaining.
    Anyway, don't worry about your account. Many people tried double or even triple accounts just so they could get around their suspension or ban penalties. I'm sure that if you PM one of the admin. about this, they'll remove your old one.
     
  17. dpm14

    Member dpm14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I can understan that. Naturally, you can block IP addresses via the admin panel, but those can change as well... If we can get it implemented on Hobbes, that forum stands to have quite the devious method of blocking people.

    Also, did you guys leave on nested quotes, or is this a case that breaks them? (There is an error in the quote regex. Everytime someone presses enter in a post, it will be screwed up. Silly Invision...)
     

Share This Page