CFG loader hangs at exactly the same point installing games to HDD

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by p1bump, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. p1bump
    OP

    Newcomer p1bump Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Northern California
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys, I'm new to the wii. just bought it from a guy used last weekend. He had it hacked someway but said he reset it to stock. I took it home, updated to the new 4.3u and set about looking for ways to run games from an HDD. I only have two games right now, one is Zumba Fitness 2 for my wife and the other is Dora's Birthday Adventure for my son...

    I tried to install the CFG loader and all the d2x, ISO236 and all that stuff, and everything seemed to work when I installed Dora's B-day game.

    When going to install the 2nd game, the Zumba Fitness 2, it froze at 1.25% of 1.49GB of progress. I would power off and try it again, it would freeze at the same point. Trying to be a problem solver, I formatted the HDD and started over by installing Zumba first and Dora's Bday 2nd, it would freeze at about 36% when installing Dora's Bday, over and over.

    I searched and adjusted settings and ran the configurator and all, but no luck.

    Back to square one, I found the super cool Modmii instructions and followed them carefully. Once again, homebrew seems to work just fine, but i continue to have the same problem.

    I can install the 1st game, but he 2nd one freezes. It's as if the hard drive only will allow 4gb of space or something.. The order I install them makes no difference.

    Can you Help?

    p.s. My hard drive is an 80gb in a generic enclosure from an electronics retailer, it's formatted FAT32 and has nothing on it but what the instructions said to place there.
     
  2. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    bad idea to update your wii.
    for the games thing its probably a bad disc. tried cleaning them with a cloth then trying agagin?
     
  3. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    So, if I get you right, you are trying to rip the original gamedisc to the harddrive with CFG loader?

    You could perhaps try another program to rip your disc's and see if it makes a difference.
    It could be the dvd drive laser that is on it's way out. If the guy you bought it from used backup dvd's for his games, the laser ages faster.

    But indeed, cleaning the disc's won't hurt and might just make the difference.
     
  4. p1bump
    OP

    Newcomer p1bump Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Northern California
    Country:
    United States
    well, they were brand new games we bought just last weekend at a retailer, Target I think it was. We didn't get any burned games with the console and, from what he told me, he was running his games off his hdd from before.

    The SD card is a 4gb kingston, is that an issue?
     
  5. rip-it-up

    Member rip-it-up GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sound to me that the laser might be on its way out!
    If you plan on downloading games, you can just use wiibackup manager to transfer the games via pc.
    It might be worth trying a different loader to make sure.
    have you tried playing the disc via disc channel.??
     
  6. p1bump
    OP

    Newcomer p1bump Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Northern California
    Country:
    United States
    yes i have, the games run perfectly from the disc channel. what other loader is recommended, G2x?
     
  7. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    did I get that right:
    the total amount of space used when it aborts is the same no matter the order?

    if yes then its the hdd or its fs
    check the filesystem for errors (including surface scan / badblocks)
     
  8. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
  9. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,260
    Country:
    Chile
    Maybe his Wii doesn't like Dora =P
     
  10. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Sounds like some HDD problem for me, just check it with windows to see if it has errors. I don't think it's a loader problem.
    edit: BAM 3000 POST! :D
     
  11. p1bump
    OP

    Newcomer p1bump Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Northern California
    Country:
    United States
    so, I installed the USB Loader GX and guess what.... same exact problem...

    I'm going to check the driver for errors, then format the drive slowly (not the quick format) and try again.

    should I be formatting the drive any specific way other than Fat32? What should I be placing in there for allocation unit size when prompted?

    also, I may intend to try this with another drive I have that I have stuff on. I'll see if I can slap in a new partition and go about it that way... we'll see!!!
     
  12. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Doing a "slow format" will check your drive for errors, so there is no need to do it twice.

    As for the cluster size, choose 32.
     
  13. p1bump
    OP

    Newcomer p1bump Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Northern California
    Country:
    United States
    i haven't seen a "32". Usually it starts 512, and starts multiplying from there.


    options from the top down are

    512
    1024
    2048
    4096
    8192
    16384
    32768
    65536

    I'm using a super basic FAT32 Format utility I found on another gamer forum, in my best guess of your recommendation I decided to pick 32768, so we'll see if that makes any difference.... any other advice?
     
  14. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I meant 32k. Sorry about that.
     
  15. p1bump
    OP

    Newcomer p1bump Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Northern California
    Country:
    United States
    Copied everything off the drive to another folder on my computer, then went on to check the disk drive for errors. sure enough it did run into some error, can't remember the exact verbiage but it was corrupted sectors couldn't be corrected or overwritten, something like that. Tried it a few times with the same result. You guys are pretty sharp and thank you for your support.

    Tried to format it NTFS through windows to see if I could get anywhere, but would run into the error and hang.

    I made another few attempts at formatting it a in non "quick format" with the basic FAT32 utility once again, hoping to see if it could get straightened out this time. each attempt was going to take over an hour, so I'd set her up and let her run. got through a basic FAT32 format that way one time error free and then tried it hooked up to the wii and it seems to work. It was a drive I had in my laptop several years ago that was getting a random error in an important part of the os. I bought a generic external enclosure and use it for music/photo backup, for which is seems to work just fine.

    Now, after trying both CFG and GX, I gotta say the GX sure looks a ton more polished. the CFG looks like something from an early DVD player at best.... but I can't seem to get the cover art into the GX yet.... once the games are installed on the HDD, should I be able to play them with either usb loader at will?

    I'll try it with a few more of these games and we'll see how it goes!

    Thank you all for your help, this has been a super experience!

    rich
     
  16. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Try another theme from here:
    http://wii.spiffy360.com/themes.php?category=5
    http://wii.spiffy360.com/forum/forum-28.html

    Right now the first link isn't always showing up correctly for me, so if you have the same issue you can look through the forum (second link). Themes can also be downloaded/previewed from within Cfg by pressing 1 and going to the Updates category.
    I actually like Cfg's look (with the latest version) better than GX, and the options that go along with it are great. It's the most stable loader available.
     
  17. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    CFG has a lot of polish, you just need a decent theme and set it to a good layout. I personally always use the basic list(NON-GUI Mode) with the grey matter theme. Also I've run into problems before running hard drives from generic usb enclosures, so that may pose a problem to some users depending on the enclosure/hard drive. Also if others are having problems try another USB cable, I had a problem where the drive would not get recognized by CFG with a certain USB cable but worked fine with several others. I also hacked a Wii one time where the SD card kept getting corrupted no matter what I did and the SD card would report that it was about 80GB, I finally figured out it was a faulty SD card and chucked it.
     
  18. p1bump
    OP

    Newcomer p1bump Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Northern California
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I have a 120GB WD Passport hard drive. It's a few years old but seems to be working fine. I'm going to try to patition 70 or so his there and see if my results are any better.

    I tried to install another game but it choked even quicker. Wondering if it iras on fact the hard drive..
     

Share This Page