1. DarkAkuma

    OP DarkAkuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
     
  2. Danttebayo

    Danttebayo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Apologies if this is already covered in this thread but how does one get the Switch to recognize a newer database? For example, I used CaVE to create a NES Online database and added one game to test it. I then copied it to the SD:\Atmosphere\Titles folder, rebooted, and magic. It worked perfectly.

    I followed by opening that same database in CaVE and adding all the other games I wanted, including box art, etc. but when I saved and added that folder to the SD:\Atmosphere\Titles folder and rebooted, nothing happens. The app still only recognizes the old version of the database with the one test game. What am I doing wrong?
     
  3. RadMcFist

    RadMcFist Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    The only possible explanation is that you're not copying over all the files or that you're copying them to the wrong place. Overwrite the old files, making sure you're copying all the games' folders and the new database (the lclassics.titlesdb file). Copying just the games isn't enough, the app doesn't even know to look for them unless there's a database file to tell it to look for them, hence why you need CaVE to create a database file.

    The Switch (or rather, the custom firmware you're running) is reading the SD card every time you boot a game, and it won't decide to keep an old file in memory against your will. You also don't need to reboot the Switch every time you copy the new files over, just reboot the app/game.

    So yeah, copy all the files. If I had to bet, you're not copying at least the lclassics.titlesdb file, which is the more important one!
     
  4. 18Phoenix

    18Phoenix GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Country:
    Germany
    I noticed that the speedfixed MegaMan X2 isn't working anymore with update 1.1.0, it crashes immediately.
    The only rom so far, all other patched or hacked roms are working. I tried to make a new working file but I missed.
    The normal rom works still fine (with slowdowns).
     
    Last edited by 18Phoenix, Dec 20, 2019
  5. Danttebayo

    Danttebayo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, RadMcFist. I definitely copied the whole folder. I figured out what the problem was. I'm not sure if this is normal behaviour but I found that Atmosphere actually moved the '0100D870045B6000' folder from SD:\Atmosphere\Titles to SD:\Atmosphere\Contents. So when I copied the new database into the Titles folder it didn't do anything because it was pointing to the Contents folder.

    I fixed this by keeping the new version in Titles and deleting the '0100D870045B6000' folder in Contents and it worked like a charm though in the future I imagine it will probably work just as well to copy the new version of the database to Contents.

    And thanks for the tip about not having to reboot the Switch each time. That one will definitely save me some time. :)
     
    marcioap1 likes this.
  6. RadMcFist

    RadMcFist Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Glad it worked out in the end! I should have thought about the "contents" folder before, it slipped my mind.

    By the way, that's normal behavior for the latest version of Atmosphere. You should read update notes when updating! XD The files you just copied now were probably moved by atmosphere to the contents folder as well, just so you know for the next time you want to add something. That's the new correct place to put these kinds of mods in, starting with this new atmosphere version.

    Jesus Christ, man, please don't tell me you're still not using correct Preset IDs with games? Mega Man X2 works great.
     
  7. 18Phoenix

    18Phoenix GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Country:
    Germany
    I always use the sfrom tool now. But the most roms working with base 1.0.0 ("old footer style") still work unchanged.
    Oh no, PresentID 1117 for MMX2, sorry, all fine again :shy:
     
    Last edited by 18Phoenix, Dec 20, 2019
  8. SMUS16475

    SMUS16475 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Probably one of the greatest tools I've used ever since I started hacking my Switch.
     
    DarkAkuma likes this.
  9. marcioap1

    marcioap1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yesterday I tested some games that don't work perfectly on SNES Classic to see how they would behave on the Nintendo Switch Online emulator. Here are the results:

    • Bust-A-Move: yellow (has minor issues). Same problem as SNES Classic (bubbles exhibit animation errors the more they are pushed down the screen). Does not affect gameplay.
    • Earthworm Jim 2: green (works great). This game works really well and does not have the problems that occur on SNES Classic. No sound issues. I completed Level 2 (Lorenzen's Soil) and no problem so far. On SNES Classic it should be marked as red.
    • Lamborghini American Challenge: green (works great). Menu music plays at the correct speed. On SNES Classic should be marked as yellow as there are music issues.
    • WeaponLord: red (has major issues). During the first fight the music and sound disappears. After the fight the game freezes but weirdly the timer count still going on. On SNES Classic should also be marked as red.

    Other games that I tried and all of them are working fine:

    • ActRaiser (using the parameters that are on the compatibility spreadsheet)
    • Aladdin
    • Chrono Trigger (has a minor graphical glitch before each battle as stated on the compatibility spreadsheet)
    • Donkey Kong Country
    • Donkey Kong Country 2
    • Donkey Kong Country 3
    • Hagane: The Final Conflict
    • Jurassic Park (patch applied using Sfrom Tool)
    • Kirby's Avalanche
    • Knights of the Round
    • Lion King, The
    • Legend of the Mystical Ninja, The
    • Peace Keepers, The
    • Rock n' Roll Racing (patch applied using Sfrom Tool)
    • Secret of Mana (using the parameters that are on the compatibility spreadsheet)
    • SimCity
    • Street Racer (patch applied using Sfrom Tool)
    • Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
    • Super Smash T.V.
    • Super Street Fighter II
    • TMNT IV: Turtles In Time
    • Top Gear (patch applied using Sfrom Tool)
    • Top Gear 2 (patch applied using Sfrom Tool)

    One game that I couldn't get to work was Soul Blazer. The game doesn't even start. Tried using the required patch and the parameters that are on the compatibility spreadsheet but no luck.
     
  10. RadMcFist

    RadMcFist Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    I'll probably reply again later with more because I'm in a hurry right now, but just wanted to say that SoulBlazer works great by using the parameters alone, no patch necessary. Use the same parameters as with all the other Quintet games (ActRaiser 1 and 2, Robotrek, Terranigma, Illusion of Gaia) and it will work perfectly. If it doesn't even boot like that then there's a mistake elsewhere (probably on the database, check filenames, paths, etc). It should boot even without the parameters, just with serious audio issues.

    A lot of the patches necessary for SNES Classic aren't needed here, even if a few still are. As a general rule, do not use them blindly just because they were needed before. Use them only after you see that they are in fact needed.

    Also, at last someone shows signs of knowing there's a compatibility list! Thank you! I was starting to think it was a mirage that only DarkAkuma and I could see XD
     
    Last edited by RadMcFist, Dec 23, 2019
    marcioap1 and DarkAkuma like this.
  11. DarkAkuma

    OP DarkAkuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    And as far as the list goes, its openly editable for a reason. Just add these compatibility findings yourself. =)

    Now that its brought up though, it would probably be best that when you or someone do make edits, post about them here. This is just as extra protection against someone not knowing what they are doing claiming something works/doesn't. For example, like someone saying Star Ocean does not work... but they never downloaded the patch packs.

    In general, if someone wants to change the status of something thats already set, or make big sweeping updates to the list, post about it here.
     
    marcioap1 likes this.
  12. Sachka

    Sachka GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    France
    Guys, I really need help with my snes online app, no matter what i do it hangs at loading screen, the one with the animated switch icon in the bottom right. Have any of you had this issue? the NES app works ok.
     
  13. Sachka

    Sachka GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    France
    Tried installing it on nand directly, nope... I finally fixed it by restoring my nand backup and starting all over again. I failed to detect what the issue was...
     
  14. Feffe

    Feffe GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Italy
  15. DarkAkuma

    OP DarkAkuma GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    I was about to say "what overscan thing?". Then I checked my last message exchanged with you.

    The Resolution Mode and Resolution Height options of the switch tab in SFROM Tool help address that. That was what I was referring to. With those you should be able to set the res for any valid SNES game.

    That was released in the last SFROM Tool update.
     
  16. Feffe

    Feffe GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Italy
    Right. Shame on me for not having fiddled with this yet.

    So, small recap for everyone else - SNES games were mostly made for a 256x224 resolution. Their natural aspect ratio is 8:7 - 4:3 strengths the image (e.g. the squares become rectangles, the circles become ovals and so on. Here some examples).

    The SNES Online has an 8:7 option, but I wondered if it were possible to display the game on "pixel perfect" (that is, 8:7) and having the CRT filter. The CRT option, unfortunately, forces 4:3.

    Knowing 4:3 is the default resolution of the emulator, I tried setting 192 as Res Height (since 256/192 = 4/3) and this worked... sorta... The game now runs with the correct aspect ratio, but Switch resolution isn't high enough to display the entire game :(

    For references, here some screens of Mario World. The first three are the game running with 4:3 ratio, 8:7 ratio and 4:3 ratio with CRT filter, the last one is the game running with the CRT filter with a 256x192 resolution.

    I'm afraid we would need either the option to modify the res length or hacking the CRT filter or the emulator to use a 8:7 aspect ratio by default.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. marcioap1

    marcioap1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks for the info. I will try these games and report back.

    Done!
     
  18. RadMcFist

    RadMcFist Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Added three games to the compatibility list: Vortex (green), Dirt Trax (red) and Makeruna! Makendou 2 (green). The first two I was curious about how they would work since the beginning since they are two of the few SFX games and I remember Dirt Trax being problematic, and Makeruna Makendo I didn't even know existed until yesterday. Vortex worked fine but Dirt Trax is unplayable (ground doesn't show on title screen and the game hangs on a black screen after pressing start). Both tested with SFX Limit set to 1340, like on the official releases of Star Fox and Stunt Race since these are also SFX 1 games, and changing this value is unlikely to fix Dirt Trax, I think. It's a terrible game, anyway. Makeruna Makendou 2 worked fine too.

    On top of that, Bishoujo Janshi Suchie-Pai was marked as yellow in the compatibility list but I just tried it and it works perfectly, hi-res images and everything. So I changed it to green. I know this game was problematic on the SNES Classic for a while, was it ever fixed there or is it yet another case of canoe compatibility improvements on Switch over SNESC?

    A couple of days ago I had also changed Super Robot Wars The Lord of Elemental and Macross Scrambled Valkyrie's status from yellow to green since the minor audio issues these games had have been fixed now.

    Without more details it's impossible to know what happened. Were you trying to open the app without any mods or did you try to add games? If you didn't add any games then I'm afraid the problem obviously lies elsewhere and I wouldn't know how to help besides the usual "uninstall/reinstall" advice. If you did add games to the app then hanging on the black or red screens is a common symptom of a poorly made database or of missing files, and in that case all you had to do was delete the mod files from the SD (uninstalling the app and restoring a nand for this is like throwing a missile at a cockroach o_o ).

    Anyway, is it fixed now?

    No problem! I actually recently played through ActRaiser and started playing SoulBlazer, so I can guarantee you that they run very well on the Switch.
     
    Last edited by RadMcFist, Dec 25, 2019
  19. DuveltjeDG

    DuveltjeDG GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I can't get descriptions to work. I get some META info but not my added description. Rest is working properly though so it's nog a big of deal but I like it to look as original as possible.

    Could someone explain what PresetID exactly means and what it does?
     
  20. 18Phoenix

    18Phoenix GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Country:
    Germany
    Ok, these games still don't work for me:
    • American Tail - Fievel goes West (hangs before gameplay starts)
    • Asterix (E) (M4) (sound is broken)
    • Clay Fighter - Tournament Edition (freezes during the first fight)
    • Clay Fighter 2 - Judgment Clay (freezes during the first fight)
    • Goof Troop (transparency issue in dark cave rooms - fully playable)

      good: goof-good.png bad: goof-bad.jpg
    • Sonic Blast Man (bad graphic errors)

      Sonic Blast Man_01.jpg Sonic Blast Man_02.jpg Sonic Blast Man_03.jpg
    • Sonic Blast Man II (bad graphic errors)

      Sonic Blast Man II_01.jpg Sonic Blast Man II_02.jpg Sonic Blast Man II_03.jpg
    • Street Fighter Alpha 2 (still some graphic errors)

      SFA2_intro1.jpg SFA2_intro2.jpg SFA2_roundend.jpg SFA2_roundstart.jpg
    • Super Off Road - The Baja (bad graphics - ground faulty)

      Super Off Road - The Baja_01.jpg Super Off Road - The Baja_02.jpg Super Off Road - The Baja_03.jpg
    • The Legend of Zelda - Parallel Remodel (tried all different versions, all don't even start)
    • Arcus Spirits (Beta) (not starting even with canoe patch)
    Someone any ideas or got them already running fine ?
    Especially Sonic Blast Man I + II is sad, because they normally run fine.
     
    Last edited by 18Phoenix, Mar 22, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Database, Manager, catalog