Homebrew CaVE Database Manager - A SNES, NES, N64, Genesis Switch Online modding App

Previous News (05-26-23) New

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
371
Trophies
1
XP
2,236
Country
United States
CaVE has been updated to v1.4.6.2.

There was a minor change needed to fully, properly support NSO GBA v1.2 (A param called "onecartridge_guides" added to the lclassics.titlesdb entries that are new to this update. So only noticeable if you try playing those games with Local Multiplayer). Beside the stock game database being updated for that as well, there are no other changes.

Just re-download the "CaVE Database Manager - v1.4.6.rar".

 
Last edited by DarkAkuma,

nWo

The Game Master
Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2016
Messages
884
Trophies
0
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
2,432
Country
Mexico
CaVE has been updated to v1.4.6.2.

There was a minor change needed to fully, properly support NSO GBA v1.2. Beside the stock game database being updated for that as well, there are no other changes.

Just re-download the "CaVE Database Manager - v1.4.6.rar".


Working smoothly, as always. Thank you, brother.
 

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
371
Trophies
1
XP
2,236
Country
United States
Working smoothly, as always. Thank you, brother.

Anyone that has downloaded it before now, may want to redownload and re-add the recent stock games.

Previously, I added the correct exe to the rar... but in the wrong folder (its in the database folder, if you would rather cut and paste it to the root folder than redownload). Either way, confirm your exe is v1.4.6.2 from the About menu popup.
 
Last edited by DarkAkuma,
  • Like
Reactions: nWo and hippy dave

fredward

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
41
Trophies
1
XP
906
Country
United States
I had a question. I have the latest version of cave and when i import my nes or snes database and select update database to latest version of the nso nothing happens. i created a new snes database later on and now when i launch the snes nso app the games wont load only the current games from the app load fine. Is there some kind of bug or anything like that? I had to make a new database for NES and Genesis and they are working fine but SNES wil not boot any game with the sfrom format where they worked on the earlier versions of CAVE and older version of snes nso app. I have installed the snes app and update with DBI and still same results. Anyone else come across this issue?
 

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
371
Trophies
1
XP
2,236
Country
United States
I had a question. I have the latest version of cave and when i import my nes or snes database and select update database to latest version of the nso nothing happens.

Did... you save? The Update Database option just updates your database to modern changes like spelling fixes, or new/removed UI element text strings. It does not have any visual change. You just update, then Save your database. Pay attention to the "UNSAVED" message that appears in the lower right corner of CaVE to know when you need to save.

i created a new snes database later on and now when i launch the snes nso app the games wont load only the current games from the app load fine. Is there some kind of bug or anything like that? I had to make a new database for NES and Genesis and they are working fine but SNES wil not boot any game with the sfrom format where they worked on the earlier versions of CAVE and older version of snes nso app. I have installed the snes app and update with DBI and still same results. Anyone else come across this issue?

Did you save them in the correct, Switch SFROM format inside SFROM Tool? The SNES Classic SFROM format is not supported after v1.0 of the app. This is the most common reason for this issue.
 

fredward

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
41
Trophies
1
XP
906
Country
United States
Did... you save? The Update Database option just updates your database to modern changes like spelling fixes, or new/removed UI element text strings. It does not have any visual change. You just update, then Save your database. Pay attention to the "UNSAVED" message that appears in the lower right corner of CaVE to know when you need to save.



Did you save them in the correct, Switch SFROM format inside SFROM Tool? The SNES Classic SFROM format is not supported after v1.0 of the app. This is the most common reason for this issue.
Yep i sure did. I exported the file to Switch sfrom file with multiple games and does the same thing in snes app. I got it working had to add the full unlock file in atmosphere folder. Thank you!
 
Last edited by fredward,

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
371
Trophies
1
XP
2,236
Country
United States
Yep i sure did. I exported the file to Switch sfrom file with multiple games and does the same thing in snes app. I got it working had to add the full unlock file in atmosphere folder. Thank you!

Ah. Damn. I assume to much that people do that, forgetting that from peoples perspective with the other apps, they are likely not used to thinking of the unlock patch.

Hopefully in the next major revision I can figure out a way to automatically install the unlock, so that issue can be avoided.

Not so much a request, just wondering if anyone has made a .dtz file for Harvest Moon 64 (U) version?

Some of us tried early on, but failed.

And at this point, its just best waiting for the Japanese version to get released. Then I or others can translate it to the US rom. The Japanese version has been officially announced for sometime this year, so no one is likely to waste the time working on a DTZ until then.
 

Quicksilver88

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Messages
618
Trophies
1
Age
53
XP
623
Country
United States
Ah. Damn. I assume to much that people do that, forgetting that from peoples perspective with the other apps, they are likely not used to thinking of the unlock patch.

Hopefully in the next major revision I can figure out a way to automatically install the unlock, so that issue can be avoided.



Some of us tried early on, but failed.

And at this point, its just best waiting for the Japanese version to get released. Then I or others can translate it to the US rom. The Japanese version has been officially announced for sometime this year, so no one is likely to waste the time working on a DTZ until then.
I heard the JAP version was being officially released but thought maybe it already had been. Makes sense to wait because as you say it shouldn't be too difficult to merge the JAP working release with the txt from the English release. I was asking for a friend....LoL...truly someone over in a Discord group was asking me to add some romz using the Cave tool. I had already found a nice prepack with most the good stuff in it and was wondering why some others weren't in the pack....that led me to the compatibility spreadsheet and the need for .dtz files for the N64 games and then this forum. Bummer that Conker is being such a pain to get working. Thank you for all your efforts Dark always appreciate those making the scene great for the rest of us.
 

navi_1er

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
206
Country
United States
Sorry if this has been asked before but do I need to add the stock games myself to the database? If I don't would that cause problems? Also noticed the add stock games is grey so I have to manually add them myself as well?
 

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
371
Trophies
1
XP
2,236
Country
United States
Sorry if this has been asked before but do I need to add the stock games myself to the database?

Only if you make a "Empty Database", or when you install a update to the NSO app and you want the newly added stock games in your custom database.

If I don't would that cause problems?

The only "problem" that would cause is those specific games not being available.

Also noticed the add stock games is grey so I have to manually add them myself as well?

That option is for selectively adding the new games available in updates. If it is grey, there are no games available that are not in your personal database.
 

navi_1er

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
206
Country
United States
Only if you make a "Empty Database", or when you install a update to the NSO app and you want the newly added stock games in your custom database.
So my first that I just made would be considered empty right since it is? I didn't want to download some pack and decided to make my own. Is there an easy way to add stock games to my database within cave manager or just add them like I did with the custom games?
 

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
371
Trophies
1
XP
2,236
Country
United States
So my first that I just made would be considered empty right since it is? I didn't want to download some pack and decided to make my own. Is there an easy way to add stock games to my database within cave manager or just add them like I did with the custom games?

It's empty if you selected that option when you made it.

I suspect you are confusing things with the Show Stock Games option being unchecked. Thats unchecked by default, and thus the Stock games are just hidden in caves UI. This is because, for most people, those never need to be messed with.

You only need to manually add stock games if you deleted them, specifically created a empty database, or they are new games from a new update. Then you use the Add Stock Games menu.
 
Latest News New

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
371
Trophies
1
XP
2,236
Country
United States
CaVE has received a minor update (just re-download v1.4.6) to be compatible with the latest NSO app updates.
  • NES v6.5
  • SNES v3.6 (Including the Full Unlock patch)
  • Gameboy v1.2
Remember to install the unlock patch before reporting any issues with the SNES app.

Also, ensure you have the latest mods before reporting any issues with any of them. (SNES Mods have been updated)
 
Last edited by DarkAkuma,

RetroGamer360

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2017
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
286
Country
United States
CaVE has received a minor update (just re-download v1.4.6) to be compatible with the latest NSO app updates.
  • NES v6.5
  • SNES v3.6 (Including the Full Unlock patch)
  • Gameboy v1.2
Remember to install the unlock patch before reporting any issues with the SNES app.

Also, ensure you have no mods, or that you have the latest mods before reporting any issues with any of them. As normal, I don't test if mods need to be updated since most of the time they do not. SNES might however, so if so let me know and I'll update it as soon as I can.
yeah SNES NSO is not working for me I'm not getting past the first boot up screen but I think it's because of my full screen mod files.. then again they were working before the Harvest Moon update and yes I do have the Full Unlock IPS patch file installed.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: And it dropped in price I think nice! Lol