Homebrew CaVE Database Manager - A SNES, NES, N64, Genesis Switch Online modding App

VonVons

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 23, 2022
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
55
XP
5
Country
Chile
Hello, I've been trying to replace Banjo Kazooie with the modded version translated to spanish, and even adding it as a new ROM with the existing dtz for v1.1 in the compatibility list, but when I launch the game, the N64 App freezes.

Any help would be appreciated.
 

nWo

The Game Master
Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2016
Messages
729
Trophies
0
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
1,943
Country
Mexico
The earthworm Jim 3D DTZ works great with some overclock, no noticeable issue. It should be updated to green on the list.

A quick question, sometimes when arranging the N64 titles, the app freezes. It still can be closed via home menu but any other input in the controller goes unresponsive. Is there a way to fix this issue? Already overwrited the files from the CAVEdatabase list, but still it happens with about half of the titles.
 

poelmans

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 27, 2016
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
396
Country
Canada
Has anyone been able to get pokemon snap working properly using the cave database thats the game i really want to play on the switch n64 online but it wont allow me to select pictures etc when i play it
 

ango

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
47
Country
Germany
My switch language is german. The preinstalled game descriptions are shown in german.
So I changed the "CaVE Database Manager" language to german.

I´ve added over 70 games and copied the folder 01008D300C50C000 to my switch folder /atmosphere/contents/ .
After starting NSO the new games where found but there are no game descriptions only a "META_TITLE_COMMENT_xxxxxxx" message apears. Why isn't the game description showing?

In "CaVE Database Manager" all descriptions are ok and saved to: \01008D300C50C000\romfs\bootapp\resources\strings\de\strings.lng

I´m using "CaVE Database Manager" v1.35, atmosphere 13.2.0, region europe, language german, NSO 2.4.0
 

ango

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
47
Country
Germany
My switch language is german. The preinstalled game descriptions are shown in german.
So I changed the "CaVE Database Manager" language to german.

I´ve added over 70 games and copied the folder 01008D300C50C000 to my switch folder /atmosphere/contents/ .
After starting NSO the new games where found but there are no game descriptions only a "META_TITLE_COMMENT_xxxxxxx" message apears. Why isn't the game description showing?

In "CaVE Database Manager" all descriptions are ok and saved to: \01008D300C50C000\romfs\bootapp\resources\strings\de\strings.lng

I´m using "CaVE Database Manager" v1.35, atmosphere 13.2.0, region europe, language german, NSO 2.4.0
Now it gets weird:
If I only copy the \de\strings.lng folder, the pre-installed games are displayed with English descriptions. New games have the description: "META_TITLE_COMMENT_xxxxxxx"
If I only copy the \en\strings.lng folder, the pre-installed games are displayed with German description. New games have the description: "META_TITLE_COMMENT_xxxxxxx"

If I copy both folders \de\strings.lng and \en\strings.lng, the pre-installed games have no game descriptions, only a "META_TITLE_COMMENT_xxxxxxx" message. Also the game menu messed up:

___Switch.jpg
 

Attachments

  • ___Switch2.jpg
    ___Switch2.jpg
    93.3 KB · Views: 26

mjd85

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 21, 2022
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
43
Country
United States
I installed two updates since I added two roms with CaVE. New games from the update (paper mario for example) are not listed. any?
Assuming you're on the latest version of Cave...

After you opened the N64 database, did you go to File > Add Game > Add Stock Game ?
 

zerofalcon

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
764
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere close to my NES
XP
2,105
Country
Hi! Just added some n64 games and see that Goldeneye studders very badly and it's pretty much unplayable. Is there a way to make this play good?
overclock and nso 30fps cheat, but dont expect a stutter/lag free gameplay. Nintendo is using an nro builder (something like a shader cache) for its roms. If we manage to use a tool similar to it, maybe emulation performance could improve nicely.
 

helvetinperkeles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
122
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
243
Country
Finland
overclock and nso 30fps cheat, but dont expect a stutter/lag free gameplay. Nintendo is using an nro builder (something like a shader cache) for its roms. If we manage to use a tool similar to it, maybe emulation performance could improve nicely.
Thanks! How can i use the 30fps cheat? Thats new thing for me.
 

zerofalcon

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
764
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere close to my NES
XP
2,105
Country
Thanks! How can i use the 30fps cheat? Thats new thing for me.
You need to use Tesla overlay menu and Edizon overlay to enable cheats on the fly.
Make a "cheats" folder inside atmosphere/contents/0100C9A00ECE6000 and place the attached (30/60 fps cheat) txt file inside cheats folder.
Open NSO N64 app, launch Goldeneye 007 and turn on or off the cheat.
 

Attachments

  • 8F75C9F4201839A9.txt
    123 bytes · Views: 22

helvetinperkeles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
122
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
243
Country
Finland
You need to use Tesla overlay menu and Edizon overlay to enable cheats on the fly.
Make a "cheats" folder inside atmosphere/contents/0100C9A00ECE6000 and place the attached (30/60 fps cheat) txt file inside cheats folder.
Open NSO N64 app, launch Goldeneye 007 and turn on or off the cheat.
Thank you very much👍
 

helvetinperkeles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
122
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
243
Country
Finland
overclock and nso 30fps cheat, but dont expect a stutter/lag free gameplay. Nintendo is using an nro builder (something like a shader cache) for its roms. If we manage to use a tool similar to it, maybe emulation performance could improve nicely.
I overclocked and used 30fps cheat but still the game is unplayable. Well i will just use retroarch with this one. Hopefully the performance can be boosted someday 👍
 

Chuardo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2015
Messages
390
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
868
Country
Uruguay
Sorry if my question is stupid, im kinda noob abouth this setuff, is it possible to inject a save data for a specific game on n64? lets say f zero x fully unlocked?
I managed to do it, you need your save file as an EEP file, there are converters out there if it isn't an EEP already, I know Wii VC save files are EEP already, I extracted my Switch NSO N64 save file with JKSV, there is a folder for every single game with cartridge.sram on it, that's the save file, I deleted it, renamed my EEP save file and placed it on the same place. I inyected that on my Switch with JKSV and that's it, it worked just fine.
 

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
291
Trophies
0
XP
1,729
Country
United States
WTF? This forum isnt sending notices when people reply now... So I've missed responding to a lot...
Has anyone been able to get pokemon snap working properly using the cave database thats the game i really want to play on the switch n64 online but it wont allow me to select pictures etc when i play it

No. It took a bit of Lua hacking for me to even get it to work that much. I feel that the emulator code itself needs an update for it to work properly, or it needs some advanced... Nintendo only custom lua hacking to get work. Since its an announced game, its been low priority to get working properly. A LOT of effort for something thats going to work eventually, regardless.


I installed two updates since I added two roms with CaVE. New games from the update (paper mario for example) are not listed. any?

Please people, check the FAQ...

Why don't I see the new officially added games when I update the app?

My switch language is german. The preinstalled game descriptions are shown in german.
So I changed the "CaVE Database Manager" language to german.

I´ve added over 70 games and copied the folder 01008D300C50C000 to my switch folder /atmosphere/contents/ .
After starting NSO the new games where found but there are no game descriptions only a "META_TITLE_COMMENT_xxxxxxx" message apears. Why isn't the game description showing?

In "CaVE Database Manager" all descriptions are ok and saved to: \01008D300C50C000\romfs\bootapp\resources\strings\de\strings.lng

I´m using "CaVE Database Manager" v1.35, atmosphere 13.2.0, region europe, language german, NSO 2.4.0

Now it gets weird:
If I only copy the \de\strings.lng folder, the pre-installed games are displayed with English descriptions. New games have the description: "META_TITLE_COMMENT_xxxxxxx"
If I only copy the \en\strings.lng folder, the pre-installed games are displayed with German description. New games have the description: "META_TITLE_COMMENT_xxxxxxx"

If I copy both folders \de\strings.lng and \en\strings.lng, the pre-installed games have no game descriptions, only a "META_TITLE_COMMENT_xxxxxxx" message. Also the game menu messed up:

View attachment 295599

I... wish I had a better responce. But I dont know WTF is going on for you there. Something just got messed up and crossed. The multi-language support stuff has been a nightmare. Every time I fix some random issue, someone reports something else... Despite my doing extensive testing. IDK. You may just need to restart your database from scratch.

If i update the sega nso, the custom games i've added may dissapear?

No. But the new games that are officially added wont be listed until you update your database with CaVE. See my reply above.

Hi! Just added some n64 games and see that Goldeneye studders very badly and it's pretty much unplayable. Is there a way to make this play good?

Its actually quite playable. It's not great, but you should be happy to have it like that at all. lol. Comments like these make me wish I released the DTZ sooner. Before v1.2? Now THAT was unplayable!
 
  • Like
Reactions: skinnyBIGGS and nWo

RetroGamer360

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 9, 2017
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
136
Country
United States
WTF? This forum isnt sending notices when people reply now... So I've missed responding to a lot...


No. It took a bit of Lua hacking for me to even get it to work that much. I feel that the emulator code itself needs an update for it to work properly, or it needs some advanced... Nintendo only custom lua hacking to get work. Since its an announced game, its been low priority to get working properly. A LOT of effort for something thats going to work eventually, regardless.




Please people, check the FAQ...

Why don't I see the new officially added games when I update the app?





I... wish I had a better responce. But I dont know WTF is going on for you there. Something just got messed up and crossed. The multi-language support stuff has been a nightmare. Every time I fix some random issue, someone reports something else... Despite my doing extensive testing. IDK. You may just need to restart your database from scratch.



No. But the new games that are officially added wont be listed until you update your database with CaVE. See my reply above.



Its actually quite playable. It's not great, but you should be happy to have it like that at all. lol. Comments like these make me wish I released the DTZ sooner. Before v1.2? Now THAT was unplayable!
yeah I can't wait to see the day where all N64 games will be compatible.. Now that will be an epic release..
 
  • Like
Reactions: Metal_Killer

Rulesless

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
157
Trophies
0
Website
letraduzionidirulesless.wordpress.com
XP
985
Country
Italy
Hello, I've been trying to replace Banjo Kazooie with the modded version translated to spanish, and even adding it as a new ROM with the existing dtz for v1.1 in the compatibility list, but when I launch the game, the N64 App freezes.

Any help would be appreciated.
Italian version works fine (0:46)
Use original slot, without any .dtz in correct version (PAL or USA).
New NSO update extend compatibility.

-EDIT-
I was here looking for details on this news that I report
 
Last edited by Rulesless,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    AliceCE @ AliceCE: