Homebrew CaVE Database Manager - A SNES, NES, N64, Genesis Switch Online modding App

chronoman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2015
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
701
Country
Mexico
Sorry if my question is stupid, im kinda noob abouth this setuff, is it possible to inject a save data for a specific game on n64? lets say f zero x fully unlocked?
 

nWo

The Game Master
Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2016
Messages
728
Trophies
0
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
1,939
Country
Mexico
Sorry if this has been answered before. How do you set the needed ram size to 16mb for the games that need that? I have been looking on the options of the app but I can´t see such command

Also, I am not ASKING but please, if there is ever any update to the DTZ files of CastleVania 64 and CastleVania Legacy of Darkness please let us know. Those two games are my favorites on the N64 alongside No Mercy, so please if there is any advance on them, I would be very grateful. (CV64 has missing textures and CVLOD has the items invisible)

Thank you DarkAkuma for this. Is just awesome and it will only get better with time.
 

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
288
Trophies
0
XP
1,716
Country
United States
Sorry if this has been answered before. How do you set the needed ram size to 16mb for the games that need that? I have been looking on the options of the app but I can´t see such command

Its not a simple answer, but...

You dont need to. The emu is designed in a way that, the Expansion Pak is detected as always being inserted. But separate from that the dtz creator specifys the RAM size. We do that for all the games that require it (all 2 of them), and all the games that can make use of it for higher res textures and whatnot. The user shouldnt need to mess with it. But... in the next version of CaVE, editing the settings in a dtz will be easy and more average user friendly, so you will be able to if you want...

Also, I am not ASKING but please, if there is ever any update to the DTZ files of CastleVania 64 and CastleVania Legacy of Darkness please let us know. Those two games are my favorites on the N64 alongside No Mercy, so please if there is any advance on them, I would be very grateful. (CV64 has missing textures and CVLOD has the items invisible)

Thank you DarkAkuma for this. Is just awesome and it will only get better with time.

Updates are posted to the compatibility list, alongside the date of the update. Specifically for the purpose of people checking that to see if anything has changed for a game.

As for those games. Me and at least one other have been messing with LoD lately, trying to sort some graphics issues out. I just rejected a No Mercy dtz today, but I would expect it to be resubmitted soon and posted to the list after.
 
  • Like
Reactions: nWo

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
288
Trophies
0
XP
1,716
Country
United States
CaVE has been updated to v1.3.3.0 now. Release notes are in the OP or available on my site.

This is mostly an update for those who are working on compatibility rather than average users. But there are a couple things of interest for others. Like SPT support for NSO (2 example SPTs can be found on the compatibility list), the ability to change the ROM for a game you have already added, and even some crude support for using CaVE to add a game to SM3DAS if you are bored and want to do that for some reason (it emulates a couple games slightly better, but lacks save states).
 

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
288
Trophies
0
XP
1,716
Country
United States
would removing the folder deleting and reinstalling the nsp's fix it?
I doubt its the installed game itself. But its always possible deleting the layeredfs folder and copying it over again would help. Perhaps something didnt get copied over successfully the first time.
 

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
288
Trophies
0
XP
1,716
Country
United States
I don't understand the directions on the site. Could someone make a set up video showing what to do?

The program is designed so that you dont need direction, yet I still went and provided some. Whats not to understand?

download cave
make a new database
add roms with metapacks from compatibility page and save it
transfer folder it made to your sd card
profit

You assume CaVE only deals with N64. NES, you may need to convert some fds files, SNES you need to use SFROM Tool to convert first and maybe some recommended GameCodes, Genesis ROMs need some conversion too.

But yea. The guide on the site is specifically tailored to each platform and CFW with step by step instructions. Outside of unexpected issues, its not too hard.

---

Anyway. Speaking of unexpected issues. v1.3.3.0 was bugged for Genesis. Redownload if you need to.
 

BestSiteEvar

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
12
Country
United States
The program is designed so that you dont need direction, yet I still went and provided some. Whats not to understand?



You assume CaVE only deals with N64. NES, you may need to convert some fds files, SNES you need to use SFROM Tool to convert first and maybe some recommended GameCodes, Genesis ROMs need some conversion too.

But yea. The guide on the site is specifically tailored to each platform and CFW with step by step instructions. Outside of unexpected issues, its not too hard.

---

Anyway. Speaking of unexpected issues. v1.3.3.0 was bugged for Genesis. Redownload if you need to.
Any way to replace original NSO N64 with modded ones? I saw a YT video of Mario Kart 64 Widescreen mod and wondered if it could be done easily?

Mario Kart 64 Widescreen
 

BestSiteEvar

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
12
Country
United States
Last edited by BestSiteEvar,

t1232088

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 29, 2020
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
151
Country
United States
I think that guide is not for Nintendo 64 only for nes/snes

Edit: my apologies I was wrong, after searching more in the thread I found the google link with n64 widescreen patches. how do I apply the patch to the official stock game though?
Read all the posts and you will have the answer. Mod is suitable for all games
 
  • Like
Reactions: BestSiteEvar

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
288
Trophies
0
XP
1,716
Country
United States
Any way to replace original NSO N64 with modded ones? I saw a YT video of Mario Kart 64 Widescreen mod and wondered if it could be done easily?

Mario Kart 64 Widescreen

Yes... But you need to redownload CaVE. This was an intended part of the Select New ROM option, but I forgot.

With the latest CaVE redownloaded, simply do just that for the stock game you want to replace. Right click on say, Mario Kart 64, and select "Select New ROM". Then select your widescreen hacked ROM or whatever. Upload as normal, and the stock game will be replaced.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BestSiteEvar

BestSiteEvar

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
12
Country
United States
Read all the posts and you will have the answer. Mod is suitable for all games
It did workout in the end after I replaced my files with the switch mods but I was hesitant to do so because I didn't want all my games to be stretched, I opted for it as a last resort. I only wanted one rom with widescreen patch and all others to be regular...I desperately tried to patch the stock N64 MK64 NSO rom but failed after many hours so I'll settle for this solution, thank you very much! Guess it all worked out in the end!
 

BestSiteEvar

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
12
Country
United States
Yes... But you need to redownload CaVE. This was an intended part of the Select New ROM option, but I forgot.

With the latest CaVE redownloaded, simply do just that for the stock game you want to replace. Right click on say, Mario Kart 64, and select "Select New ROM". Then select your widescreen hacked ROM or whatever. Upload as normal, and the stock game will be replaced.
I tried this option but the launcher crashed after switching to stock games and choosing new rom on Mario Kart 64, I also tried other methods but they didn't crash only that one did. I was still unsuccessful in my attempts but that's because I'm still learning and am noob but will continue to try. Thank you very much for the nudge!
 

ROGsamurai

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
189
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
541
Country
United States
Try and make new database
I tried this option but the launcher crashed after switching to stock games and choosing new rom on Mario Kart 64, I also tried other methods but they didn't crash only that one did. I was still unsuccessful in my attempts but that's because I'm still learning and am noob but will continue to try. Thank you very much for the nudge
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://youtube.com/shorts/mSSVwQ9i-UU?feature=share