Homebrew CaVE Database Manager - A SNES, NES, N64, Genesis Switch Online modding App

Kaein

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 15, 2020
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
654
Country
Colombia
Glad to see that you got it fixed! Did the games load fine?

By the way, have you given nxmtp a try? It lets you transfer files from the switch to a computer as if the switch was a phone. I'm not sure if it works on Mac but I don't see why it wouldn't. It's what I've been using for a long time and it's never given me an issue.

Yeah it's working pretty good, I'll give a try to nxmtp ;)
 

rafsilva1983

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 15, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
591
Country
Brazil
I updated CaVE, now none of my previous databases will open. I'm worried to create a new database now as I might lose the saves from my previous database if the codes don't match.

It´s the same for me. I tried several times, but my previous databases didn't work.
 

MManatane

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
441
Country
France
For importing database made with previous version, you need to edit the file lclassics.titlesdb and add the below Super Mario All Star record :
"S-2033_e":{
"code":"S-2033_e",
"rom":"/titles/S-2033_e/2033_e.sfrom",
"sort_title":"super mario all-stars",
"details_screen":"/titles/S-2033_e/S-2033_e-details.xtx.z",
"copyright":"©1993 Nintendo",
"title":"Super Mario All-Stars™",
"armet_threshold":0,
"lcla6_release_date":"2020-09-01",
"armet_version":"off",
"sort_publisher":"nintendo",
"title_zhHant":"ー",
"save_count":1,
"volume":100,
"title_zhHans":"ー",
"publisher":"Nintendo",
"title_ko":"슈퍼 마리오 컬렉션",
"rewind_interval":1.5,
"release_date":"1993-08-01",
"players_count":2,
"cover":"/titles/S-2033_e/S-2033_e.xtx.z",
"simultaneous":true,
"autoplay":[

]
},
 

Yiffna

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Location
UK
XP
1,183
Country
Hi Guys I hope you can help.
I’m having trouble with the game description. In CaVE I right click the game, write a description, save the database then export it.
Once I have it on my switch the games are showing up but the game description is not showing up. It’s giving a meta error.
What am I doing wrong?
 
Last edited by Yiffna,

RadMcFist

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2019
Messages
102
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
546
Country
United States
Hi Guys I hope you can help.
I’m having trouble with the game description. In CaVE I right click the game, write a description, save the database then export it.
Once I have it on my switch the games are showing up but the game description is not showing up. It’s giving a meta error.
What am I doing wrong?
You're either not copying all the files or have your Switch set to a different language than the one you set when you wrote the descriptions. If you have your Switch set to a different language then you should have set it in CaVE also (I think it's in Edit/Language). If you're sure you copied all the files then it's the language thing. You have two options: either copy the file you already have to the folder of your language or just create a new one after setting CaVE to the correct language. If you copy the file over, you'll end up with English descriptions for the official games (I assume English is not your language because if it is, then what are we doing here?). Honestly, I'd just copy the descriptions you already wrote, set your language in CaVE, and paste your descriptions again.

If you want to copy the file, then you probably have to create a folder inside romfs\bootapp\resources\strings named after your language. Accepted folder names are "de" for German, "en" for American English, "engb" for British English", "es" for Spanish, "esus" for Latin American Spanish, "fr" for French, "frca" for Canadian French, "it" for Italian, "ko" for Korean, "nl" for Dutch (or Netherlandic, I guess), "pt" for Portuguese, "ru" for Russian and I can't believe that I just wrote all of that down. So make a folder for your language and copy the strings.ln file you already have (likely inside a folder named "en" inside romfs\bootapp\resources\strings. Then copy everything over to the sd and try again.

Phew. That came out way more convoluted than it needed to be. Sorry.
 

Cortexfou

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2016
Messages
561
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,868
Country
Belgium
Is it possible to delete/hide stock games to not see them ON the Switch console app ? (I'm not talking about hiding in the manager)
(Sorry if it's already asked)
 
Last edited by Cortexfou,

cashboxz01

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
154
Trophies
0
XP
996
Country
United States
I installed the NSP for snes online and then it said I have to "sign in" to nintendo online. Are there any advantages to using SNES online in lieu of Retroarch?
 

18Phoenix

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
832
Trophies
0
XP
2,068
Country
Germany
Ok, these games still don't work for me. I've updated this with nice gifs now.
Someone any ideas or got them already running fine ?
Especially Sonic Blast Man I + II is sad, because they normally run fine with other emus like canoe.
  • American Tail - Fievel goes West (starts with canoe patch but crashes before gameplay starts)
  • Arcus Spirits (Beta) (crashing immediately even with canoe patch)
  • Blues Brothers (crashing immediately)
  • Clay Fighter - Tournament Edition (freezes during the first fight)
  • Clay Fighter 2 - Judgment Clay (freezes during the first fight)
  • The Legend of Zelda - Parallel Remodel (tried all different versions, all don't even start)
  • Goof Troop (transparency issue in dark cave rooms - fully playable)
    for testing use the password below and move up, left, up

    good: goof-good.png bad: goof-bad.jpg pw: Goof Troop - Password Level 3.png

  • Appleseed - Prometheus no Shintaku (J) (bad graphic errors, not playable)

    Appleseed - Prometheus no Shintaku (J)_edit.gif
  • Sonic Blast Man (bad graphic errors, but ingame looks ok, so playable)

    SonicBlastMan_edit.gif
  • Sonic Blast Man II (bad graphic errors everywhere, not playable)

    SonicBlastManII_edit.gif


  • StoneProtectors (fore- and background are flickering extremely in level 1, but playable)

    Stone Protectors (U)_edit.gif
  • Street Fighter Alpha 2 (some graphic errors, but playable)

    SFA2_all_edit.gif
 
Last edited by 18Phoenix,
  • Like
Reactions: rafsilva1983

MManatane

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
441
Country
France
Hello,

I don't have the same issues with:
- Clay fighter TE
- Goof Troop

But I have noticed the same behavior for the following games:
- Super off Road the baja
- Street fighter 2 alpha

And I can add the following games:
- Illusion of time/Gaia (can't go further than the menu)
- Smash tennis (menu is not readable, but the game playable)
- Krusty fun house (not able to launch it)
- The blues brother (not able to launch it)
 
Last edited by MManatane,

18Phoenix

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
832
Trophies
0
XP
2,068
Country
Germany
I don't have the same issue with Clay fighter TE.
  • Clay Fighter: Only the normal version works !
    But definitely not part 2 or the Tournament Edition, they both ALWAYS freeze during the fight, that's a known error !!!!
  • The Blues Brothers doesn't start, correct.
  • Krusty's Fun House (v1.1) [=rev1] works fine !!!
    Always use the US roms and avoid PAL. Also always use the awesome sfrom tool and the newest patches !!!
    Without canoe patch it has wrong colours.
  • Super off Road - The Baja finally works. Needs the SlowROM Check Fix (use sfrom tool) !
  • Illusion of Time/Gaia works fine, just needs a fix like all Quintet Games.
    Therefor look here: https://gbatemp.net/threads/cave-da...nline-game-catalog.551466/page-4#post-8877548
  • Smash Tennis is a base/stock game !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    But even the normal rom works fine, it just needs a highres fix.
 
Last edited by 18Phoenix,
  • Like
Reactions: rafsilva1983

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
289
Trophies
0
XP
1,723
Country
United States
Hello,

I don't have the same issues with:
- Clay fighter TE
- Goof Troop

But I have noticed the same behavior for the following games:
- Super off Road the baja
- Street fighter 2 alpha

And I can add the following games:
- Illusion of time/Gaia (can't go further than the menu)
- Smash tennis (menu is not readable, but the game playable)
- Krusty fun house (not able to launch it)
- The blues brother (not able to launch it)

SFA2 has known, graphical issues in a couple demo screens and between rounds. I'm not sure what changed with canoe from SNESClassic to Switch to cause the issue.

IOG issue sounds like a known issue. There should be a patch for it on the canoe compatibility lists.

Smash Tennis would need you to set a HiRes mode in SFROM Tool.

For the rest, consult either this list for Switch and general canoe compatibility or this one for SNESC.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rafsilva1983

18Phoenix

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
832
Trophies
0
XP
2,068
Country
Germany
Smash Tennis would need you to set a HiRes mode in SFROM Tool.
Which option changes the HighRes setting in the sfrom tool ?
I guess ResRatio or ResHeight, right ?

Ah, I've tested it, it's ResRatio, ok.
So f.e. Smash Tennis has to be set to 2:2 High.
1:2 & 2:1 work aswell but the result isn't so sharp.
Nice to know.
 
Last edited by 18Phoenix,

DarkAkuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
289
Trophies
0
XP
1,723
Country
United States

Wow... I have never even heard of "The Peace Keepers" before... They are REALLY reaching on some of these.

Anyway. I don't suspect there will be much new and interesting from this update as far as compatibility goes. Both Mario no Picross and DKC2 are known games, that probably work fine now.

At the most, Mario no Picross was a game they felt was worth giving high res mode to Preset ID 0x1016 on the SNESC, but not 0x1015. 0x1016 also causes some saturation change. So maybe that saturation stuff may end up as a new footer param?

The Peace Keepers will have a new ID, but its hard to get excited about the IDs in the 0x1246+ range... they follow no real pattern, and I even think NERD is spacing them out just to make predicting IDs reservations more difficult.

...

Well, that aside.I'll try to be ready for this update next week.... perhaps with a new version of CaVE that isn't just a database update too? =)
 

scroeffie1984

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2019
Messages
358
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
1,212
Country
Netherlands
any one has a video guide on how to install this

does this work on sx os offline ? i found this nsp file NES 500 ROMs v4.0.0c
Nintendo Entertainment System
Nintendo Switch Online
when i pres start it says you must have the software in order to play any one has a guide
 
Last edited by scroeffie1984,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese: Masturbation is like defecation. Disgusting, satisfying, necessary.