Castlevania r4ds patch to work on all SD cards ?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by BoneMonkey, Jan 17, 2007.

Jan 17, 2007
  1. BoneMonkey
    OP

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    i heard that there is a patch for the japanese version that makes the rom work on all Micro SD cards but removes sound

    anyone know if this is true ?
     
  2. decept

    Member decept GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States

    Doesn't matter if it works or not, giving up the audio sounds like a horibble tradeoff.
     
  3. iisdev

    Newcomer iisdev Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    post deleted by author.
    reason: CNET affiliation
     
  4. ydnar64

    Newcomer ydnar64 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Country:
    United States
    If you are that desperate to play the game without sound then just buy it or use that money for a better Mem stick... That's a worthless patch...
     
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,746
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The cause of the troubles does seem to be data not being read fast enough from the card.
    I dropped some of the audio from the Japanese rom in an attempt to fit it on my old EZ2 and found out that it did not crash on my EZ4. You can do the same by pulling apart the rom with NDSTool and deleting a portion of the end of the soundfile (called sound_data.sdat) and then rebuilding, I have a list of offsets for the files you can use on my site:
    http://www.4shared.com/file/7846194/59a6fbf/PORsound.html

    Later I repointed the soundfile to dodge the massive wave files at the end of the soundfile (most of the other sounds were smaller than my cards cluster size) which made it far more stable again but did not sacrifice too much sound.
     
  6. jtroye32

    Member jtroye32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    no thank you.
     
  7. xler8

    Newcomer xler8 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States

    Interesting stuff. I didn't know you could disassemble roms like that. BTW, if you want to look at the C:POR file list + offsets, open the XML he linked to in Excel. It'll give you a nice row/col format.


    Here's a sample:

    .........................offset...size.....size(dec)
    -------------------------------------------------
    SEQ_MUSIC_DUMMY..........00046600.000001D4.#NAME?
    SEQ_MUSIC_ST_CASTLE......000467E0.00002D30.#NAME?
    SEQ_MUSIC_ST_JAIL........00049520.0000A510.#NAME?
    SEQ_MUSIC_ST_TREASURE....00053A40.00004EF8.#NAME?
    SEQ_MUSIC_ST_CLOCK.......00058940.00003B44.#NAME?
    SEQ_MUSIC_ST_TOP.........0005C4A0.0000926C.#NAME?
    SEQ_MUSIC_ST_DESERT......00065720.000057C0.#NAME?
    SEQ_MUSIC_ST_MISTOWN.....0006AEE0.00003BBC.#NAME?
    SEQ_MUSIC_ST_CIRCUS......0006EAA0.00004D68.#NAME?
    SEQ_MUSIC_ST_FOREST......00073820.00003DBC.#NAME?
    SEQ_MUSIC_ST_DESERT_RE_A.000775E0.0000156C.#NAME?
    SEQ_MUSIC_ST_DESERT_RE_B.00078B60.00002304.#NAME?
     
  8. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The supercard has patching tools to either speed up access to the game or make it run faster. I wonder if they could do something like that to get castevania to work. Getting rid of some of the sound files is just too much sacrifice to play it on the R4.

    I can remember on the supercard you used to have to patch the rom to supercard instead of SD. You could only do this with 32MB roms, the roms that froze it managed to fix. Supercard seem to have sorted out the problem now, I just hope the R4 team do the same.
     
  9. xler8

    Newcomer xler8 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States

    I wonder if editing Tony Hawk DJ could speed up gameplay. It runs at 80% speed on all microsd carts. Perhaps remove music or rearrange files... More on the slowdown here.
     

Share This Page