Castlevania Portrait of Ruins Freezing

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by squeaks, Mar 23, 2007.

Mar 23, 2007
  1. squeaks
    OP

    Member squeaks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Philippines
    Has anybody experienced this? I have the Castlevania Portrait of Ruins rom, I am using a R4 DS. The game freezes when I use (stand in front of and press up) certain teleportation tomes. The music continues playing, but everything else freezes. I'm left with no choice but to reset.
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, many many people have experienced this, and there are many many threads about it. I'll sum them up for you: you need a faster microSD card. There is no other fix.

    There are quite a few microSD cards that are fast enough, but the ones that are most often recommended have "SD-C01G JAPAN" on them. The Toshiba SD-C01G for example. If you want more info, look through the NDS - Flashing Hardware and Software forum. There are lots of threads in there (and the various subforums) about which SD card to get, and where to buy them.
     
  3. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    weird, first Ive heard of it
     
  4. squeaks
    OP

    Member squeaks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hey, thanks!

     
  5. NDSkid

    Newcomer NDSkid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Don't trust that compatibility list. Some of the cards listed as not freezing in PoR do freeze for many people.
     
  7. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    no fix yet currently, hopefully they come out with a patch.
     
  8. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    It's the memory speed issue, not a "bug". It doesn't freeze on my Japanese retail cart, I played the game around 30 hours, no probs.
     
  9. xbox2637

    Newcomer xbox2637 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Indonesia
  10. squeaks
    OP

    Member squeaks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Philippines
  11. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    Destructobot is correct. This is a long-known issue. The belief in some circles is that Konami placed code within the game to monitor the read/write speed in order to combat flash cards. If you have a lesser flash memory brand (Generic, Sandisk, Kingston (Taiwan), etc.), then you will experience freezing. Unfortunately, some retail owners have also seen errors as well. I myself owned the game, and I saw NPC conversations that had no text appear.

    As of right now, the only brands I know off-hand that will resist the freezing bug with the best odds are Kingmax (Japan), Kingston (Japan), PNY, Sandisk Ultra II and Toshiba. Of course, having an internal memory flash card, such as DS-Xtreme, G6 DS Real or N-Card (and its many clones) don't see freezing at all.
     
  12. Evilkoko

    Member Evilkoko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any online stores that sell Japan Kingston/Kingmax/Toshiba micro sd cards? I can't seem to find one that advertises it's the Japanese model. Also will a japanese 2gb Kingston/Kingmax/Toshiba be as glitch/bug free as their 1gb predessacor?
     
  13. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    I know that NewEgg carries PNY (what I own) which are only manufactured in one country, Japan. As for the 2GB, I am not sure. PNY has a 2GB as well (same place), but I have been told the Kingston 2GB models are made in Taiwan. Toshiba is a pain to find in the states and and not cheap as its competitors. I can assure you that Portrait of Ruin via PNY has played flawlessly even deep within the game, but you will see some lag in play with Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam.
     

Share This Page