castlevania Portrait of Ruin

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by misery213, Jun 8, 2009.

Jun 8, 2009

castlevania Portrait of Ruin by misery213 at 9:37 PM (1,756 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. misery213
    OP

    Newcomer misery213 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Every time I play this on my Acekard it freezes at the same point. I tryed to DL anther , same thing, any hints or tips?
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    please use the search button.

    -another world
     
  3. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    This has been brought up time and time again. You would have gotten your answer by doing a simple search.

    Get a FASTER microSD card.
     
  4. Goshogun1

    Member Goshogun1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Country:
    United States
    This and The World Ends With You intro freeze are the two most talked about problems of all time. I bet a thread is started more than once a month asking just these questions alone.

    Personally, I would just buy Castlevania POR as its worth owning. Its probably no more than $10 if you shop around. Cheaper than finding that perfect SD card that works for it. Good luck.
     
  5. kai445

    Member kai445 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Country:
    United States
    - Try and get a microSD card with low random access times (1.2ms is your upper playable limit, with no lockups and minor slowdowns, under 1.0ms should eliminate any slowdown, lower is better) and at least 4MB/s read and write speeds.

    - Format your microSD card with the Panasonic SDformatter.

    - Use the latest version of the AKAIO firmware and loader. It has DMA mode (which the official firmware doesn't have). DMA speeds up the game enough for some cards that are borderline to make them virtually slowdown-free.
     
  6. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use a Class 6, 8GB Sandisk and Castlevania is freezing for me.
    And yes, it's Panasonic formatted with latest AKAIO software.

    I think maybe the AK2i is just not that capable of a flashcart. The same memory card in my old CycloDS wouldn't give me a problem like this.

    But then again, Portrait of Ruin was sloppily coded anyway, the freezes are related to loading music, and the game has numerous glitches both good and bad.
     
  7. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm using the same Micro SD, no freezing/lag. Infact, where everyone seems to have lag problems I don't. Then again, AKAIO crashes when I open a folder sometimes [​IMG]
     
  8. shattering

    Newcomer shattering Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I'm using the same Micro SD, no freezing/lag. Infact, where everyone seems to have lag problems I don't. Then again, AKAIO crashes when I open a folder sometimes [​IMG]
    [/quote]

    AKAIO crashes for me too when I open a folder. But after forcing it to load the root directory on every start up the problem seems to have gone.
     

Share This Page