Care to help a fellow nooblet? DD:

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Pillows, Apr 4, 2011.

Apr 4, 2011
  1. Pillows
    OP

    Newcomer Pillows Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    This fluffy pillow
    Country:
    Philippines
    So, I'm completely brand new to the PS3 scene, so I apologize if I don't follow.
    Honestly, I just need some confirmation in some things about softmodding my PS3.
    I was reading the PS3 Softmod thread thingy by Zorua I believe, and it shows like a requirement for a FAT32 USB Drive.
    It probably sounds ridiculous that I don't have one around, though I do have my External hard drive I prepared, and it's in FAT32 format.
    Just want to know if I can just use the hard drive instead of a USB drive.
    It probably sounds pointless, but just want some help. :3

    I'll refer back here if I need anymore help, only if there are people willing to help though. So thanks again.
     
  2. Hero-Link

    Member Hero-Link Hero of Derrr

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    I believe you can use a hard drive.

    An USB pen is the same thing, except the difference in size. As long as you put the update file/cfw file in the correct folder (Drive:\PS3/UPDATE) you will be fine.
     
  3. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Country:
    United States
    1st thing

    do you have 3.55 or under
    or
    are you using the PSN have have 3.60
     
  4. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Hello! Just follow the ENABLING NTFS ON MULTIMAN (OPTIONAL) section in my guide and you'll be good to go.
     
  5. Pillows
    OP

    Newcomer Pillows Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    This fluffy pillow
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yay~
    Fast replies!
    Well, thanks for the help.
    Yeah, I believe I still have my PS3 in 3.55.
    I used PSN long ago, but I never go on PSN anymore.
    Actually, I'll have to hook up my PS3 and check later.
    For now, thanks! [​IMG]
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1 internets for getting the point, and giving a mostly correct answer. This is about the update step. You will NOT be able to update using a NTFS formatted USB drive (flash drive or hard drive).

    The only difference between the two types of USB drives (flash and hard drive) is the power requirements. USB flash drives need very little power to run (~200mAh IIRC) whilst USB hard drives need ~400-800mAh (depending on the drive, or more if it's a 3.5" hard drive - but then it gets power from the wall anyway). As far as the PS3 is concerned, it's a USB drive either way, so you can use it to update.

    EDIT: Forgot another difference - USB hard drives also need to spin up, whilst flash drives are instantly accessible... sometimes that spinup causes problems in reading it, but I've never encountered that issue on PS3.
     
  7. Hero-Link

    Member Hero-Link Hero of Derrr

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal

    True, but in this aspect, it's the same thing using an USB pen or a hard disk [​IMG]
     
  8. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's what I said: "As far as the PS3 is concerned, it's a USB drive either way, so you can use it to update."
     
  9. Pillows
    OP

    Newcomer Pillows Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    This fluffy pillow
    Country:
    Philippines
    So, I just checked my PS3's firmware, and I'm saddened to say it's in 3.56. [​IMG]
    I just learned from a fellow Temper that they have a 3.60 CFW on the works, and it's coming soon.
    That's all fine and dandy, but a friend of mine came up to me and showed me all these videos of like people on Youtube hacking their 3.56.
    I don't know, all I see in these GBAtemp guides are 3.55 so I'm a little hesitant to think there are ones for 3.56
    What do you guys think?
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If the ones for 3.56 claim to give a download link that leads to a site that makes you do surveys and shit to get the download link, it's fake.

    One big sign is if they don't allow comments (because they don't want people commenting that it's fake).
     
  11. Pillows
    OP

    Newcomer Pillows Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    This fluffy pillow
    Country:
    Philippines
    I knew it!
    Thanks Rydy. [​IMG]
     
  12. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The advice for those on 3.56 is easy: update to 3.60, enjoy PSN for the time being, and when 3.60 CFW is released, decide if you'd rather PSN access or home brew capability.
     
  13. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    The current video of hacked 3.56 or 3.60 are in fact previous version firmware hacked to display the number they want.
    So it's for example a 3.55 "faking" a 3.56 version.

    Some people have nothing better to do than enjoying fooling other users [​IMG]
     
  14. Pillows
    OP

    Newcomer Pillows Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    This fluffy pillow
    Country:
    Philippines
    T'is a shame.
    Oh well, I'm well informed now thanks to you all. So thankies.
     

Share This Page