Can't upgrade to 4.0 from 3.1.3 on iTouch

Discussion in 'iPhone, iPod & iPad' started by Kishu, Sep 9, 2010.

Sep 9, 2010
  1. Kishu
    OP

    Member Kishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever I try to shift-click on restore and try to update my iTouch, it gives me a 3194 error.
     
  2. ball2012003

    ball2012003 Newbie

    Do you mean your trying to downgrade from 4.0 to 3.1.3 or actually upgrade? If your trying to update don't restore to the new update just press update in iTunes to update it.
     
  3. Kishu
    OP

    Member Kishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I forgot to mention that I want to jailbreak my iTouch too.

    And I mean to upgrade from 3.1.3 to 4.0.
     
  4. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Is it a first gen?

    The first gen isn't compatible with 4.0 and above. [​IMG]
     
  5. Kishu
    OP

    Member Kishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    It's a 2G MC.
     
  6. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Oh...

    I actually had problems updating too, so I'd try downloading the (correct) firmware again and then try it with that.

    If that doesn't work, sorry. [​IMG]
     
  7. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    Since 4.0, Apple has added more security so that you can only update to the most recent update. However, since this is a software thing, and not a hardware thing, it is easily bypassable. Here's a bit more information on the subject: http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/833937433/blob-banter
     
  8. saxamo

    Member saxamo Spaaaaace!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    It is not easily bypassable. You might be shit out of luck. I'm in the same situation as you trying to update some iPods to 4.0 after I have backed up their SHSH blobs and no luck.
     
  9. Kishu
    OP

    Member Kishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anything special about 4.0? Like, does it run more apps than 3.1.3?

    Cause if there isn't any difference, than I won't even bother trying to update it anymore
     
  10. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    You're probably out of luck, as Apple just stopped signing 4.0 recently. [​IMG] If your SHSHs were backed up on Cydia/Umbrella (unlikely, but it wouldn't hurt to try it), you could restore to 4.0.

    Folders is probably the most significant iOS 4.x feature for iPod touch 2G; you can put multiple apps in a "folder" to save space on your SpringBoard.
     
  11. Kishu
    OP

    Member Kishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I see, then I won't bother.

    Thanks everyone who replied!
     
  12. Hypershad12

    Member Hypershad12 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    You have to change the hosts file for iTunes. Then download the 4.0 firmware, and update it holding the shift key and click restore button while your iPod is in DFU mode.(Does not require shsh blobs)
     
  13. Kishu
    OP

    Member Kishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, is there any way to jailbreak a 3.1.3 MC Model?
     
  14. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
  15. metamaster

    Member metamaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    Canada
    There is also an app that can get you folders in Cydia, but I think its payed (categories?). Also, star has been buggy lately, tried with a few itouches.. but I've never had problems with Spirit. Unfortunatly, if you have iTunes 10, you'll need to downgrade to 9.2.
     

Share This Page