Hacking Can't update HBC

Raylene2K7

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
979
Trophies
0
Location
parts unknown
XP
268
Country
Jamaica
I haven't done much with my Wii since spring so today I wanted to update my Wii's Homebrew Channel from 1.06 to 1.08 but I received this error:



"This installer can NOT continue!

There is no usable or vulnerable IOS installed on this Wii.
Please not that we will not use fakesigned IOSes due to
security reasons. Only UNPATCHED versions will be used!

Read the FAQ at: http://hbc.hackmii.com/faq/
Look for an updated version at: http://bootmii.org

If this is already the latest version... well, suck it.

Exit

>
"


hbcupdatedfailed.jpg




What IOS do I need to install to fix it?
Or do I need to update to Wii firmware 4.3?
(I'm still on v3.2e at the moment and every game works fine on my WiiKey chipped Wii)

Do I need to use NUSD, sciifii or something or can I fix it by installing the needed (unpatched) IOS?

Help, please
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Raylene2K7

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
979
Trophies
0
Location
parts unknown
XP
268
Country
Jamaica
I've got several IOS58 right here but I don't know if they are modified. I've also heard some people say Wad-Manager modifies the IOS-Wads when installing.

How/where can I get a 100% unmodified IOS58?
 

brausm08

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
721
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
USA - Midwest
XP
233
Country
United States
get it from Modmii....

wad manager doesn't modify anything while installing....

if that alone doesn't do the trick, do the same with IOS61....
 

Raylene2K7

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
979
Trophies
0
Location
parts unknown
XP
268
Country
Jamaica
Didn't work
frown.gif



I've installed it...

ios58success.jpg

(I've used IOS249 to run Wad-Manager, as always)


but I still get the message...

hbcupdatedfailed.jpg




Do I need to un-install my old IOS58 first or do I need to use an other IOS to run Wad-Manager?

help, please (I feel like an idiot after taking a break from the Wii for over half a year
biggrin.gif
...
frown.gif
)
 

brausm08

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
721
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
USA - Midwest
XP
233
Country
United States
did you try the same with IOS61 as well (i added that after you left to get 58 i imagine)?

did you at any point have cIOSCORP installed on the system?

never uninstall IOSes, just overwrite....
 

Raylene2K7

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
979
Trophies
0
Location
parts unknown
XP
268
Country
Jamaica
Ok, so

after installing IOS61...

ios61.jpg


there is still no luck
frown.gif




Here is my current HBC status, if you might need to know

currenthbc.jpg





and here is my sysCheck2.0.1 result:



sysCheck v2.0.1 by Double_A
...runs on IOS36 (rev 3351).

Region: PAL
System Menu 3.2E (v290)
Hollywood v0x11
Console ID: 67552162
Boot2 v2

Found 556 titles.
Found 34 IOS on this console. 0 of them are stub.

IOS4 (rev 3): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS9 (rev 516): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS11 (rev 10): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS12 (rev 6): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS13 (rev 10): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS14 (rev 257): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS15 (rev 260): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS17 (rev 512): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS20 (rev 12): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS21 (rev 517): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS22 (rev 772): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS28 (rev 1288): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS30 (rev 1040): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS31 (rev 1040): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS33 (rev 1040): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS34 (rev 3348): No Patches
IOS35 (rev 1040): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS36 (rev 3351): No Patches
IOS37 (rev 3869): No Patches
IOS38 (rev 3867): No Patches
IOS51 (rev 4633): Trucha Bug
IOS53 (rev 5149): Trucha Bug
IOS55 (rev 4633): No Patches
IOS56 (rev 5405): No Patches
IOS57 (rev 5661): No Patches
IOS58 (rev 6176): No Patches
IOS60 (rev 6174): No Patches
IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS202 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS222 (rev 4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS223 (rev 4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS249 (rev 19): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS250 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS254 (rev 3088): Trucha Bug
BC v2
MIOS v5

Report generated on 2010/11/06.
 

brausm08

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
721
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
USA - Midwest
XP
233
Country
United States
puzzling indeed...i'm at a loss....

just curious, are you using the auto-update feature when you go into the HBC? i ask because there was an issue with a HBC installer awhile back (i don't remember the details).... but if you are attempting to auto-update from within HBC, this cannot be the issue....

i see you have some outdated IOSes in there....this may take some time, but you could try updating your IOSes...to do so, get the update 4.2 pack from http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901 and install those IOS wads....yo umight want to use Multi Mod Manager from the pack so you can do a batch install.... i don't know if it would help you situation, but it might.....
 

Raylene2K7

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
979
Trophies
0
Location
parts unknown
XP
268
Country
Jamaica
Yes, I'm using the auto-update that pops up after 2 seconds after opening HBC but the error message is shown when trying to install not when downloading the data for HBC 1.08
 

brausm08

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
721
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
USA - Midwest
XP
233
Country
United States
...that short lived, buggy installer can't be the issue then....

you do have what appear to be CORPed IOSes (but don't think they are as the versions are not maxed), but it could also be that they're outdated....using the source to update your IOSes that i cited in my last post will not only get you updated, CIOSCORP-free IOSes, it will also put you on SM4.2 which is good....may fix the problem...may not....

hey Yuan, if you return, weigh in here; i'm curious to see what you think....
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,970
Trophies
3
Age
37
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
7,721
Country
Cyprus
Very weird indeed, I think/hope its the autoupdate, I've never had problems when installing it via the hackmii installer boot.elf from the sd card.

if u want u can use use modmii's hackmii solutions feature to just reinstall your HBC (or just download the latest hackmii installer from here and save it to your sd card, then launch it from your current HBC then use that to update).

or u can use the modmii wizard to rehack your wii entirely
 

Yuan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
1,291
Trophies
0
XP
371
Country
Brazil
brausm08 said:
...that short lived, buggy installer can't be the issue then....

you do have what appear to be CORPed IOSes, but it could also be that they're outdated....using the source to update your IOSes that i cited in my last post will not only get you updated, CIOSCORP-free IOSes, it will also put you on SM4.2 which is good....may fix the problem...may not....

hey Yuan, if you return, weigh in here; i'm curious to see what you think....

It is really odd. But as HBC FAQ says cioscorp can mess with HBC installer. Just update to 4.2 using the guide brausm08 suggested or if you don't want to update use Dop-Mii / NUS Download to update these IOS:

4,9,11,12,13,14,15,17,20,21,22,28,31,33 and 35 to unpatched versions. You may update all others below 200 too, just don't mess with IOS30 (your system menu IOS).
 

Raylene2K7

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
979
Trophies
0
Location
parts unknown
XP
268
Country
Jamaica
@XFlak & Yuan
Updating to v4.2 or 4.3 would be fine with me BUT what if something happens? If I do get a weird error and I'm stuck I might be screwed
(wasn't there an error earlier this year because you needed to update to 4.0 first and then continue with 4.1 / 4.2 when updating from 3.2 / 3.3 / 3.4 ?)
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,970
Trophies
3
Age
37
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
7,721
Country
Cyprus
There was never such an error with ModMii. There have been small bugs, but nothing major, and no one has EVER reporting bricking using ModMii.

U don't need to update to 4.2 or 4.3, u can update to 4.1 instead using ModMii. I used to support 3.2, but there's no point, it's very safe to update using ModMii, the only real risk is the risk of power failure, and even then, if u have bootmii @ boot2 installed, or a nand backup, u can easily recover, and modmii makes sure to tell u to do those steps before actually updating
 

Raylene2K7

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
979
Trophies
0
Location
parts unknown
XP
268
Country
Jamaica
I've never done anything with any bootmii / boot2 stuff.
Well, I'm gonna install all the ios'es Yuan said (4,9,11,12,13,14,15,17,20,21,22,28,31,33 and 35) and then I'll try again by using the HBC elf installer.


@XFLak
how do I get bootmii @ boot2 installed or do a nand backup?
(If intstalling the current IOSes won't help me I'm gonna do this just to make sure I don't brick my Wii, then I'll use your NUSD/ModMii to update my Wii)
 

Raylene2K7

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
979
Trophies
0
Location
parts unknown
XP
268
Country
Jamaica
Ok, I've put this on my sd-card..

sdcardfiles.jpg







but I get stuck on the very first step
frown.gif

"Run BannerBomb v1 by going to Settings, Data Management, Channels, SD Card and choosing yes to load boot.dol/elf"..leads to this

stuck1.jpg


.. and from now on I can't continue, pressing "A" or "B" doesn't work (I've tried the Wiimote and also my GC controller)







I've tried an other sd-card and now I get this again..
hbcupdatedfailed.jpg

..when starting "Run BannerBomb v1 by going to Settings, Data Management, Channels, SD Card and choosing yes to load boot.dol/elf"






So what should I do now? Updating by using sciifii or some other tool or updating by using a new game with update 4.x on it?
(All my games are brickblocked so I guess I need to find a game with 4.1 or 4.2 on it)
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Z-BOI @ Z-BOI: anyone wanna be friends on ancf also know as animal crossing city folk i've got wiimmfi and if...