Can't start homebrew channel through preloader anymore

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bwmat, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. bwmat
    OP

    Newcomer bwmat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    I use preloader .30 to be able to start gamecube games without using the wiimote/sensor bar (homebrew channel --> gc backup loader)

    I recently updated the homebrew channel, and this no longer works, preloader complains that the homebrew channel is not installed.

    My guess is that the HBC's title has been changed for whatever reason, and this is why it no longer works.

    Does anyone know of a workaround for this? Hopefully an updated preloader, but otherwise a link to a place to download an older version of the HBC that would work with preloader .30 would be helpful

    another option would be to "install" something to preloader, but starting "installed" files seems to be broken in this version...

    If anyone has a way of accomplishing the same thing using something other than preloader, that would be great as well
     
  2. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    ...
    you should have switched to priiloader at least in the last 6 months
     
  3. bwmat
    OP

    Newcomer bwmat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    I haven't really been using my wii as anything other than a gamecube for a while now.

    It's still on 3.2 lol

    thanks for the name, I look into it.
     
  4. fatherjack

    Member fatherjack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Still Here
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @lulwut

    He asked for a solution - he doesnt need telling what he 'should' have done [​IMG]

    @bwmat (+all)

    I have just updated to HBC 1.0.8 myself this morning - and Priiloader 0.4 v3 wont autoboot due to the title ID change.
    I would like to know also if theres a workaround at the moment - reluctant to use wads without it.

    I would even use two HBC's if there was a way to re-install 1.0.6 alongside the latest one#
    [​IMG]
     
  5. luminalace

    Member luminalace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Country:
    Australia
    You need to update to the latest version available of Priiloader so it can read the new title of HBC 1.07/ 1.08.

    Unforunately version 0.5 was available but was removed due to a bug.

    Make sure you enable beta updates in priiloader settings and try and download the latest version from Priiloader itself.
     
  6. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    and workarounds fail 99% of the time.
    what he needs is a fix, not a work around
     
  7. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He also asked if there was an update for preloader, which "lulwut" provided.
     
  8. fatherjack

    Member fatherjack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Still Here
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @luminalace (post #5)

    Thx for the helpful suggestion - I read about the installer bug in v0.5 just before I was gonna use it, sooo glad I didn't [​IMG]

    @bwmat

    I have used hackmii_installer 0.6 to re-install HBC 1.0.6 alongside the new version for 'interim' bannerbrick protection.
    Maybe you could use the original installer for yours to do the same?
     
  9. bwmat
    OP

    Newcomer bwmat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, I ended up installing priiloader .4 and using the "run title" feature to run the HBC.

    installing files still seems to be broken, but this way is good enough.

    thanks for all the suggestions, everyone
     
  10. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    I can upload latest priiloader installer version before removal.
    But You must promise me that installation will be made without ahbprot.
     
  11. bwmat
    OP

    Newcomer bwmat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    without what?
     
  12. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland

Share This Page