Can't see Lameboy icon on main menu.

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by MST3KPIMP, Jul 30, 2011.

Jul 30, 2011
  1. MST3KPIMP
    OP

    Newcomer MST3KPIMP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Installed the 4 lameboy files into the dsplugin directory and I got it working but on the main menu there is no cute gameboy icon like there is when i navigate to the dsplugin folder. Instead I see a question mark icon. How can I make the GB icon appear in the main menu? thanks
     
  2. CrispyYoshi

    Member CrispyYoshi GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know, DSTWO plugins have to be made specifically for the DSTWO.

    If I were you, I'd just put those files somewhere else on your MicroSD, and run them like you would a normal DS game.
     
  3. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    no, they don't have to be specially made

    what do you mean by 4 lameboy files? you should have a *.nds, a *.ini, and a *.bmp all in the _dstwoplug folder and all with the exact same name

    and you have to make sure to open the .ini and make sure that it's linking to the correct .bmp as well

    example lameboy.ini:
    Code:
    [plug setting]
    icon=fat1:/_dstwoplug/lameboy.bmp
    name=Lameboy
     
  4. MST3KPIMP
    OP

    Newcomer MST3KPIMP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States

    yes this is my exact setup. the fourth file was a 'thumbs.db' prob a hidden file. i tried removing it but still no change
    i wonder why i get the question mark icon if others dont?
     
  5. MST3KPIMP
    OP

    Newcomer MST3KPIMP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    aha! i figured it out.. i renamed my lameboy0.1.2.nds to just lameboy.nds now the icon shows.. i wonder why the source i dled it from renamed it?
     
  6. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    just fyi the thumbs.db is completely unnecessary
     
  7. Closet Nerd

    Newcomer Closet Nerd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I recently downloaded this plugin from the gbawiki.

    I got 3 files, the lameboynds file, and a "changelog" and "readme" file. No bmp or ini files...?

    I post this because I'm not getting the gameboy icon either. Just the question mark icon.
     
  8. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    You only downloaded the program, the plugin files are in a separate download.
     
  9. Closet Nerd

    Newcomer Closet Nerd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    You are the man.

    I didn't see the plugin files where the lameboy links were in the wiki. Either that or I didn't look hard enough. thank you.
     
  10. JaceyFountain

    Newcomer JaceyFountain Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Hi, newbie here. I downloaded the lameboy program from http://filetrip.net/file.php?id=5597 and the "separate download" from http://www.mediafire.com/?vp7iimdjb5u1nyt (as referenced by Terminator02), but I still don't have a .ini file. From the first download (just the program), I have a Changelog, a ReadMe, and the lameboy.nds file, from the second download I got the bitmap and Configuration Settings. But still no .ini file

    Could I just create a file with a name identical to the .nds file, but with the .ini extension? That doesn't seem like it would work, since there would be no information on it....

    Please help! Trying to get a dstwo card set up for my bf for Christmas! He's never used any emulators, flash carts, etc. either, so he wouldn't be able to figure this stuff out either.


    Thanks!
     
  11. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    There should be an .ini file in the mediafire download.
     

Share This Page