1. eXtremeDevil

    OP eXtremeDevil Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Hi, I got a ROM yesterday of save type SRAM_V111 (256Kbit). I can't patch it with GBATA, it doesn't give me the option, I guess because it is not neccesary. I load the ROMs through R4 menu (Wood R4 1.62 I guess, the only info I have about the firmware is "wood akmenu 1.62" in help options, and I don't remember now when I first installed it) and with the support of the EZ Flash V expansion pack in slot 2. I think I have never needed to patch anything, I can't remember. Other ROMs seems to save fine. But this game gives me "Invalid/corrupted save" on every start :(

    All GBA games generates .gba.sav files next to them. Can this be changed to .sav only?

    Also, if I run the ROM with GBAExploader, it loads fine, then on next boot, GBAExploader recognize the saved game in the SRAM, writes it to its sav file and the savegame loads fine.

    So it seems a problem with gba saves handling from R4, right?

    The game is Kuru Kuru Kururin, if anyone was wondering.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. eXtremeDevil

    OP eXtremeDevil Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
  3. eXtremeDevil

    OP eXtremeDevil Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Does this sound like a SD problem, or a software problem? The game seems lightweight enough for the DS/R4/EZ to handle a sav file.

    Also, same ROM saves with no issues on my SP.

    Thanks.
     
  4. eXtremeDevil

    OP eXtremeDevil Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Soooo I tested the issue with an old 512MB MicroSD and it worked! How is this possible? On the "bugged" card I can save all my other GBA games so far!

    Any kind of explanation, or just one of those WTF things in life?

    Thanks!
     
  5. eXtremeDevil

    OP eXtremeDevil Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    OK, so I FINALLY found out the issue. The save function for Kururin is working on Wood Menu 1.27 version, and NOT on 1.62, apparently. Going through my files, I don't see any R4 firmwares on my PC.

    Can anyone tell me if 1.62 is the latest? Or where I can found it?

    Thanks!
     
  6. eXtremeDevil

    OP eXtremeDevil Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Sorry for the post bumps, but it was a false alarm. The 1.27 version had turned off the save on restart option for GBA games. When that is on and the sav is written, the error appears.

    So I'm still like I was on the beginning ^_^
     
  7. exit_planet_dust

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    very interesting I have this exact same problem right now. the came loads up fine, but I'm trying to play any square enix game and the sav is corrupted. 1.64 is the latest for this card, url on the card itself. It's so frustrating as the games play great I just can't save!
     
  8. eXtremeDevil

    OP eXtremeDevil Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    I'm afraid I never found a solution... I just play on my SP or through GBAExploader...
     
    exit_planet_dust likes this.
  9. exit_planet_dust

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    how did you get it working through GBAExpLoader? My saves still aren't working through it either unfortunately.
     
  10. eXtremeDevil

    OP eXtremeDevil Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Sorry but I can't remember, I just ran it normally I guess. If I remember correctly, the save remains in the SRAM after a new boot of the game through GBAExpLoader, which takes the save and writes it.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Expansion, through, Flash